View Poll Results: Do you shoot macros with or without a tripod setup?

Voters
155. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, I used tripod

    74 47.74%
  • No, I shoot handheld

    81 52.26%
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 55

Thread: Shoot with tripod or without tripod when doing macros?

  1. #21
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    611

    Default Re: Shoot with tripod or without tripod when doing macros?

    Quote Originally Posted by B-setting View Post
    but if u use a tripod, that means you would use AF for the lens? bcos, for MF, we need to move physically forward and backward to achieve focus...
    got something called macro rail... depends on lenses... some lenses got focus ring ranged so long that you could achieve accurate MF using the focus ring...

  2. #22
    Senior Member Numnumball's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Central
    Posts
    13,914

    Default Re: Shoot with tripod or without tripod when doing macros?

    You have nv been to AP on Sat/Suns?
    if you seen the gear those guys have, you wont even have to start this thread liao, because the answer is obvious..

    To me my glizo explorer is indispensable in getting that "perfect" shot..
    Last edited by Numnumball; 13th January 2010 at 02:45 PM.
    I turned PRO in diaper chg!
    My Flickr|My Son

  3. #23
    Senior Member Numnumball's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Central
    Posts
    13,914

    Default Re: Shoot with tripod or without tripod when doing macros?

    Tat said, i still believe in some who truly excel in shooting handheld. i.e. Kurt and Roy (esp with the likes of MPE-65/MT-24E in their arsenal)
    I turned PRO in diaper chg!
    My Flickr|My Son

  4. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Jurong West St65
    Posts
    2,578

    Default Re: Shoot with tripod or without tripod when doing macros?

    I know the setup of those guys with their dual flashes and robotic arms as I shoot together with them in AP a couple of times.

    The reason I started this poll is there are many members postings in the macro sub forum. I would like to get an idea in general setup how people shoot their macro photos.

    As of my writing now, there are 47 votes. 34% voted yes with Tripod. the remaining 66% are handheld.

    Thanks to all who voted.

  5. #25

    Default Re: Shoot with tripod or without tripod when doing macros?

    depends. if you need a tripod then use a tripod. if you don't, then don't. i think the right question is: when to use a tripod when shooting macro?

    cheers!

  6. #26

    Default Re: Shoot with tripod or without tripod when doing macros?

    Quote Originally Posted by lyanlex View Post
    i think the right question is: when to use a tripod when shooting macro?
    answer: when the bug won't stay still then you need to flash out your tripod and give it a whack!

    I don't usually use tripod when I am doing macro... never have the patience to setup my tripod.

  7. #27
    Member sprewell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Serangoon Central
    Posts
    1,723

    Default Re: Shoot with tripod or without tripod when doing macros?

    Hate it everytime i try to focus on a flower, the wind blows and moves it around.

    In the end i use tripod to lock position and manually adjust the flower in the frame :P
    Hasselblad 503CW | 100mm f/3.5 CF | Contax 645 | Zeiss 80mm f/2 | Website

  8. #28
    Senior Member Diavonex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Admiralty
    Posts
    3,641

    Default Re: Shoot with tripod or without tripod when doing macros?

    Very offen circumstances do not allow you to use tripod e.g. space restriction, subject keeps moving, minimum focusing distance of lenses, subject too high or too low.

  9. #29

    Default Re: Shoot with tripod or without tripod when doing macros?

    Same here I find it very restricting to use a tripod. But I do believe it will give a better result than handheld. Maybe some day I should go watch how the expert use the tripod. But in general I prefer handheld. That is also the reason I stick to 100mm rather than upgrading to 180mm. Handheld for 180mm will be kind of tough I reckon.

  10. #30
    Senior Member Diavonex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Admiralty
    Posts
    3,641

    Default Re: Shoot with tripod or without tripod when doing macros?

    Quote Originally Posted by sprewell View Post
    Hate it everytime i try to focus on a flower, the wind blows and moves it around.

    In the end i use tripod to lock position and manually adjust the flower in the frame :P
    Your camera is steady but your flower will still move.

  11. #31
    Senior Member Numnumball's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Central
    Posts
    13,914

    Default Re: Shoot with tripod or without tripod when doing macros?

    Quote Originally Posted by titleist View Post
    Same here I find it very restricting to use a tripod. But I do believe it will give a better result than handheld. Maybe some day I should go watch how the expert use the tripod. But in general I prefer handheld. That is also the reason I stick to 100mm rather than upgrading to 180mm. Handheld for 180mm will be kind of tough I reckon.
    For most of us macro shooters (esp the ones in AP), u will be surprised with the setup we have hard not to use tripod arh
    I turned PRO in diaper chg!
    My Flickr|My Son

  12. #32
    Senior Member egnaro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Boon Lay, Singapore
    Posts
    2,989

    Default Re: Shoot with tripod or without tripod when doing macros?

    Tripod for me... I hate to stay in 1 position try focusing the subject for 5 mins end up get nothing or 20 shots to get 1 in focus.

    well that me, maybe my technique or i am just too lousy!

    I like to shoot then preview to see if i got the perfect shot for myself.

    some macro shooter shoot with 2 flash...

    using Wimberly F2 + 180 Lens is no joke for handheld.
    Life is like Photography, to improve, you have to keep shooting!

  13. #33
    Moderator ed9119's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    10,940
    Blog Entries
    26

    Default Re: Shoot with tripod or without tripod when doing macros?

    ok.... I'll stir this up a little.....

    To do macro proficiently , a tripod is essential at 1:1 or even 1:2 magnification.... the tiniest of hand shake is going to affect the output ..... if you are hoping to print 8R or larger.....



    Uploaded images at 800 pixels or lower on the long side..... the smaller image size is going to mask imperfections

    discuss..........

    p/s my opinion..... you got to be pretty fit and strong to hand hold a macro set up with lights, arms, camera, lens and all ....... for any period of time....If you're a weightlifter turned Qi Gong Master..... sure maybe
    Last edited by ed9119; 17th February 2010 at 08:54 AM.
    shaddap and just shoot .... up close
    Walkeast

  14. #34
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    TPY
    Posts
    2,458

    Default Re: Shoot with tripod or without tripod when doing macros?

    Quote Originally Posted by Numnumball View Post
    You have nv been to AP on Sat/Suns?
    if you seen the gear those guys have, you wont even have to start this thread liao, because the answer is obvious..

    To me my glizo explorer is indispensable in getting that "perfect" shot..
    IF I seen the gear those guys have, would have packed up, return to the mountain, practise somemore, save somemore, get a load of gears, than join them again.... .... that's what happen when I went to Sungei Buloh many many many years back with a 70-200mm... thought hor say liao can take anything.... end up the Pro there with their gears..... wah..... me got the shortest range there and take nothing.... the darn bird just too far away.... .... except for 1 bird.... and that oen cannot be taken and shown....

  15. #35
    Senior Member Numnumball's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Central
    Posts
    13,914

    Default Re: Shoot with tripod or without tripod when doing macros?

    Quote Originally Posted by ed9119 View Post
    ok.... I'll stir this up a little.....

    To do macro , a tripod is essential at 1:1 or even 1:2 magnification.... the tiniest of hand shake is going to affect the outcome ..... if you are hoping to print 8R or larger.....



    Uploaded images at 800 pixels or lower on the long side..... the smaller image size is going to mask imperfections

    discuss..........

    p/s my opinion..... you got to be pretty fit and strong to hand hold a macro set up with lights, arms, camera, lens and all ....... for any period of time....If you're a Qi Gong Master..... sure maybe
    Agreed.. Thats why for me i wil skip gym on the day i do macro
    I turned PRO in diaper chg!
    My Flickr|My Son

  16. #36
    Senior Member Numnumball's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Central
    Posts
    13,914

    Default Re: Shoot with tripod or without tripod when doing macros?

    Quote Originally Posted by N-user View Post
    IF I seen the gear those guys have, would have packed up, return to the mountain, practise somemore, save somemore, get a load of gears, than join them again.... .... that's what happen when I went to Sungei Buloh many many many years back with a 70-200mm... thought hor say liao can take anything.... end up the Pro there with their gears..... wah..... me got the shortest range there and take nothing.... the darn bird just too far away.... .... except for 1 bird.... and that oen cannot be taken and shown....


    those are the hardcorers, if u can't beat them, join them~
    I turned PRO in diaper chg!
    My Flickr|My Son

  17. #37
    Senior Member egnaro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Boon Lay, Singapore
    Posts
    2,989

    Default Re: Shoot with tripod or without tripod when doing macros?

    Quote Originally Posted by Numnumball View Post


    those are the hardcorers, if u can't beat them, join them~
    what happen if cant join them????
    Life is like Photography, to improve, you have to keep shooting!

  18. #38
    Senior Member Numnumball's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Central
    Posts
    13,914

    Default Re: Shoot with tripod or without tripod when doing macros?

    Quote Originally Posted by egnaro View Post
    what happen if cant join them????
    Wah phiang brudder, u ard one of them liao, is this a trick question?

    If can't then bohpian, 自立門戶
    I turned PRO in diaper chg!
    My Flickr|My Son

  19. #39
    Senior Member peterpan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Singapore, West
    Posts
    5,072

    Default Re: Shoot with tripod or without tripod when doing macros?

    i have Shakey hand, no choice i have to use a tripod or monopod
    Love insects Macro Photography本杰明 More Pctures at my Blog at bennieHsu

  20. #40
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Jurong West St65
    Posts
    2,578

    Default Re: Shoot with tripod or without tripod when doing macros?

    Good discussion.

    So it seems some of you need the tripod as the camera gears weight (dual flash, 180 or 200mm lens) is difficult to handle for steady shot.

    On the other hand, if you have a light camera gears (e.g. 50mm + Raynox) and uses pop up flash, then handheld seem more appropiate.
    D810-Tamron 90mm f2.8 Macro |Raynox DCR-250
    David

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •