Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Shutter Count

  1. #1

    Question Shutter Count

    Hi seniors. Can i just enquire. How do i check the shutter count of a camera? some say count from the picture numbers. Some say has got software or can check by the camera. Haiz.
    Which is true?

  2. #2

    Default Re: Shutter Count

    Opanda IExif works for my Nikon camera.

  3. #3
    Deregistered rgy1993's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    994

    Default Re: Shutter Count

    for canon the most reliable way is go to csc and have them check it for you, costs like 20 bucks though...

  4. #4
    Senior Member limwhow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Life revolves arOnd East Coast
    Posts
    7,049

    Default Re: Shutter Count

    Hello, Shigemichi Take.
    If you are a Canon EOS dslr user, allow me to help you save some money.
    Go to this website. There is a software that you can download for free to check your Shutter count.

    Here it is.

  5. #5
    Deregistered rgy1993's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    994

    Default Re: Shutter Count

    Quote Originally Posted by limwhow View Post
    Hello, Shigemichi Take.
    If you are a Canon EOS dslr user, allow me to help you save some money.
    Go to this website. There is a software that you can download for free to check your Shutter count.

    Here it is.
    there is that too,

    but i've heard its sometimes innaccurate and doesnt work with all camera models...

  6. #6

    Default Re: Shutter Count

    Thank You sooo much. I will certainly check it out later.


    Quote Originally Posted by limwhow View Post
    Hello, Shigemichi Take.
    If you are a Canon EOS dslr user, allow me to help you save some money.
    Go to this website. There is a software that you can download for free to check your Shutter count.

    Here it is.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Shutter Count

    Ohaiyo Everyone.
    I thank the seniors thta have replied and somehow enlightened me.
    Have a great weekend.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Shutter Count

    unfortunately, the EOS info tool doesnt work for canon 500D
    Check out my blog: pixelogist.me

  9. #9

    Default Re: Shutter Count

    actually why do people care so much about shutter counts?

    A camera can typically last 100000-200000 shots or even more.

    Assuming u take 10000-20000 shots a year (which is actually more than what a normal person will take) it will also take 10-20 years to reach the limit. By then the advancement of the DSLR will be so far ahead, u wont even think twice about changing for a new one.

  10. #10

    Default Re: Shutter Count

    yeah - i wouldnt be so interested in checking shutter count either.. but i bought mine on CS from a guy, and the camera was supposed to be brand new.. at the beginning i really wanted to verify it.. but i dont really care now
    Check out my blog: pixelogist.me

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    http://360.itcow.com
    Posts
    2,363

    Default Re: Shutter Count

    Quote Originally Posted by torak View Post
    actually why do people care so much about shutter counts?

    A camera can typically last 100000-200000 shots or even more.

    Assuming u take 10000-20000 shots a year (which is actually more than what a normal person will take) it will also take 10-20 years to reach the limit. By then the advancement of the DSLR will be so far ahead, u wont even think twice about changing for a new one.
    they want to know especially when you are getting a 2nd hand body.

  12. #12

    Default Re: Shutter Count

    Quote Originally Posted by Timolol View Post
    Opanda IExif works for my Nikon camera.
    yah i use this too.. download the program, open program on PC n use it to open the last picture u took w ur camera. the info will indicate "number times shutter released"

  13. #13
    Senior Member limwhow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Life revolves arOnd East Coast
    Posts
    7,049

    Default Re: Shutter Count

    Quote Originally Posted by heshanj View Post
    unfortunately, the EOS info tool doesnt work for canon 500D
    Hey sorry, heshan.
    Yes, it doesn't work for every camera.
    I can't tell for sure for TS cos when he put up this thread, there was no equipment list on his signature yet.

  14. #14

    Default Re: Shutter Count

    Quote Originally Posted by etegration View Post
    they want to know especially when you are getting a 2nd hand body.
    this is the laughable part. Shutter count is the least important factor when buying 2nd hand cameras.

    Say for example u wannna buy a DSLR. One seller has a new set which is only 3 month old, but has a shutter count of 30000. Another guy has is selling the same camera and clocked only 10000 shutter count but his camera has been used for 3 years already.

    I would choose the 3 month one even if the shutter count is 3 times the 2nd guy's.

    the only time i think i will check shutter count is like heshanj mentioned, when buying a camera from someone and he claims its brand new and unused. Since its supposed to be unused before, i would appreciate it as really unused since im paying more for a brand new set instead of a 2nd hand set.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •