Thread: About ballheads

Default About ballheads

I just got myself a Silk Sprint Pro for my A1. Just wondering (I'm new to this), if I wanna use it without getting a new ballhead, will there b any problem? Stated on the box 0.89KG, so it means it can hold up to that weight only? My cam + grip probably around 1.2kg. Will there be any problem? This may sound stupid but I do need advise.

Hi, I don't quite understand your question.

But then to my understanding I will try to help

First, the weight on the box ought to be the tripod weight. If I'm not wrong, the silk sprint pro's max weight should be 2kg. So anything withing 2kg would be fine. Of course you can always load 3kg, it'll just not be stable

Urm, if you are not going to use a ball head or any head, how are you going to tilt or move your camera? This part I don't quite understand. Does the tripod already come with a head?

If you're considering a head, do put into consideration the weight of the head too.

try this mini ballhead called Giottos MH 1002 310 with the Slik Sprint Pro tripod. It is light and I believe it can support your A1.
    See my Photo Gallery at the Clubsnap

Thanks guys. Gotcha.

I think the 2kg max load refering to the camera mounting on the ballhead.

Is there any difference if you use a tripod colar on the lens, that means mounting the lens on tripod.
    Since it will balance the weight at each side of the tripod mount. So, less likely that the ballhead will creep.

If you mount the camera on the tripod when using heavy lens, then more likely the ballhead will creep towards the front.

Any expert kindly enlighten.

Best calculate the weight as the camera + whatever accessories + ballhead. Safer that way.

Default Slik sprint pro

IMO, that is a really very light tripod that is good for some snap shots to include yourself into the pic, for travel or some very light duty work.