Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Photo Galleries > Reportage and Sports

Reportage and Sports Photojournalistic, Reportage, Events Coverage, Sports Illustrated.

Old 24th February 2004   #1
oeyvind

Default Asian Aerospace 2004 - preview 2/23

Today is the media preview day of the biannual Asian Aerospace in Singapore (24-29 FEB 2004)

The aerial shots...

USAF F-16C Fighting Falcon

Armée de l'Air Française Mirage 2000 C

Embraer 170

USAF F-15E Strike Eagle

USAF B-1B Lancer

RAAF's F-111C

Apache AH-64D Longbow

Dassault Aviation's Rafale B.301

Surya Kirans of the Indian Air Force Aerobatic Team

continues...

Last edited by oeyvind; 24th February 2004 at 01:03 AM.
Old 24th February 2004   #2
oeyvind

French Air Force's Technicians on their Mirage 2000 C

A Singapore Airlines jet flies above the Mirage 2000 C at Asian Aerospace 2004

A group of Balinese dancers pose for camera in front of a Bombardier Global Express

IAI-MALAT/EADS crews explaining the Eagle UAV to members of the press

IAI-MALAT/EADS Eagle UAV Control room

Last edited by oeyvind; 24th February 2004 at 01:46 AM.
Old 24th February 2004   #3
Wai

I like the first two

too bad RAAF's F-111C bottom too dark

i know someone going to ask this question soon
"What lens did you use?"
Sponsored Link
Old 24th February 2004   #4
oeyvind

The F-111 was shot that way to enhance the flame (if the under carriage was properly exposed... think abt the flame), anyway, that one is a wire pix...

Lenses used: EF 300mm f/4 IS (alone and also with 1.4x), EF 300mm f/2.8 (alone and also with 1.4x), EF 70-200mm IS (alone and also with 1.4x), and EF 16-35mm... yes I do crop... ^^

And on my faithful EOS D60... ^^

Last edited by oeyvind; 24th February 2004 at 01:52 AM.
Old 24th February 2004   #5
Ah Pao

looks like even with the lenses used you needed to do quite a bit of cropping?
I like the Lancer...clean and nice lines...
Old 24th February 2004   #6
oeyvind

Originally Posted by Ah Pao
looks like even with the lenses used you needed to do quite a bit of cropping?
I like the Lancer...clean and nice lines...
if you don't wanna crop, bring along a 600mm f/4 + 1.4x (then might be a bit slow)... think even that you need to crop.

P.S. Not recommending using 2x as it will be too soft and too little light.

Last edited by oeyvind; 24th February 2004 at 12:31 AM.
Old 24th February 2004   #7
Wai

Originally Posted by oeyvind
if you don't wanna crop, bring along a 600mm f/4 + 1.4x (then might be a bit slow)... think even that you need to crop.
dun think they will let me bring in a telescope.....

2000mm f10, can reduce to 1000mm f5

or i can use the smaller 480mm f4

Last edited by Wai; 24th February 2004 at 12:33 AM.
Old 24th February 2004   #8
oeyvind

Security is tight: X-Ray machine, etc. (just like before you board an airplane in Changi)

Here's the times of the flights:

FEB 24: 1230-1410hrs
FEB 25-28: 1130-1300hrs
FEB 29: 1130-1310hrs

Do apply a LOT of suntan lotion (wear a hat, etc.)... not funny.
Old 24th February 2004   #9
Spectrum

The one I like best from the rest is....Dassault Aviation's Rafale B.301. Although, under-exposed, it's still the best! Great work, Tim Chong!

Last edited by Spectrum; 24th February 2004 at 12:52 AM.
Old 24th February 2004   #10
Jer76

How did you get those blue skies? usually if shoot planes the sky will be washed out
Old 24th February 2004   #11
siriuslim

Nice... U must have sweat like hell to have taken these shots...
Old 24th February 2004   #12
oeyvind

Redid the Rafale... dodged the top half :

Exposure wise: try take a few shots (use the commercial airliners as target), to get your readings... and shot those readings in Manual exposure mode.

Like this Garuda B737 (earlier on when the light was GREAT!)

Last edited by oeyvind; 24th February 2004 at 01:21 AM.
Old 24th February 2004   #13
Jer76

Originally Posted by oeyvind
Exposure wise: try take a few shots (use the commercial airliners as target), to get your readings... and shot those readings in Manual exposure mode.
Ok thanks bro tomolo i go try liao
Old 24th February 2004   #14
dkw

Oeyvind,
nice shots indeed. The Mirage and F-16 are very nicely illuminated, where were you standing when you took these pics?

Old 24th February 2004   #15
tomshen

Beautiful action shots! How come a few pix got noise, like #1&2.

btw, Tim: is it allowed to use long lens inside?
Old 24th February 2004   #16
Agila

nice catch sir.. i wonder what my 70-200 will catch? i hope those Fighter plane doesnt look like a dragon fly...
Old 24th February 2004   #17
lauLEE

Talking

Originally Posted by tomshen
btw, Tim: is it allowed to use long lens inside?
Juz came back from the show.
1. It took more than an hour to get through the registration procedure. This is very unacceptable as this is not the first show. Hopefully the organiser will iron out this bottleneck!

2. The security is fantastic ... no questions at all. Everything will be through.... black mama, white superlong, superbig L lens all oso can go through. So brudders, bring all you can.

3. Foods and drink easily available ... quite reasonable. Coke: $2, sandwich $3, etc.

4. Weather si beh hot.... the best is to bring umbrella or wear hat (a must).

5. Today no crowd at all. Quite easy going.

So enjoy yourself!
Old 24th February 2004   #18
tomshen

Originally Posted by lauLEE
Juz came back from the show.
1. It took more than an hour to get through the registration procedure. This is very unacceptable as this is not the first show. Hopefully the organiser will iron out this bottleneck!

2. The security is fantastic ... no questions at all. Everything will be through.... black mama, white superlong, superbig L lens all oso can go through. So brudders, bring all you can.

3. Foods and drink easily available ... quite reasonable. Coke: $2, sandwich $3, etc.

4. Weather si beh hot.... the best is to bring umbrella or wear hat (a must).

5. Today no crowd at all. Quite easy going.

So enjoy yourself!
thx mate for your info.
Old 24th February 2004   #19
lauLEE

as for the best lens, i think if you can reach effectively (extender, 1.6 multiplication, etc) 400mm to 600mm, that should be ok. anything less than 200mm, dont waste your time!
Old 24th February 2004   #20
Spectrum

I think Terence have a few good pics too? Correct me if I am wrong. Thanks.
Closed Thread