Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: AE lock in EOS 500D

  1. #1

    Default AE lock in EOS 500D

    how to use AE lock in Manual Mode?? As I have read the manual book...once i press the * button it will appear a * in the viewfinder...but this seem not working for manual mode..and the manual book never state too..
    500D/50mm f1.4/90mm macro/17-55mm/EX580 II
    My flickr

  2. #2
    Senior Member NovJoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    ~Sunny Little Island~
    Posts
    5,651

    Default Re: AE lock in EOS 500D

    Did you switch on auto focus on your lens? Have you enable AF assist beam in your custom settings?

  3. #3
    Senior Member Kit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Upper Bukit Timah
    Posts
    11,650

    Default Re: AE lock in EOS 500D

    Quote Originally Posted by rysouke View Post
    how to use AE lock in Manual Mode?? As I have read the manual book...once i press the * button it will appear a * in the viewfinder...but this seem not working for manual mode..and the manual book never state too..
    Erm.... you are essentially lockiing your exposure once you are in manual mode. The camera will not change whatever setting you have dialed in. Its will only tell you if you are under or over exposing. AE lock is irrelevant.

  4. #4

    Default Re: AE lock in EOS 500D

    Quote Originally Posted by NovJoe View Post
    Did you switch on auto focus on your lens? Have you enable AF assist beam in your custom settings?
    yes auto focus on my lens and AF assist beam is also enable it..
    500D/50mm f1.4/90mm macro/17-55mm/EX580 II
    My flickr

  5. #5
    Senior Member Kit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Upper Bukit Timah
    Posts
    11,650

    Default Re: AE lock in EOS 500D

    Just point your camera around. The settings does not change in manual mode like they do in other modes. Its already locked.

  6. #6

    Default Re: AE lock in EOS 500D

    Quote Originally Posted by Kit View Post
    Just point your camera around. The settings does not change in manual mode like they do in other modes. Its already locked.
    Ah .. so AE lock is not applicable for manual mode since it already locked..
    Last edited by rysouke; 30th December 2009 at 10:58 PM.
    500D/50mm f1.4/90mm macro/17-55mm/EX580 II
    My flickr

  7. #7
    Senior Member Kit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Upper Bukit Timah
    Posts
    11,650

    Default Re: AE lock in EOS 500D

    Quote Originally Posted by rysouke View Post
    Ah .. so AE lock is not applicable for manual mode since it already locked..
    Yes. the camera will use whatever setting you dialed in to take the photo.

  8. #8

    Default Re: AE lock in EOS 500D

    so when i do AE lock ... do i need to press the shutter button halfway then press * button or just press * button??

    As the manual said focus the subject and press the shutter button halfway then press the * button...abit confusing here...
    500D/50mm f1.4/90mm macro/17-55mm/EX580 II
    My flickr

  9. #9
    Senior Member Kit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Upper Bukit Timah
    Posts
    11,650

    Default Re: AE lock in EOS 500D

    You press the shutter release button so that the camera is called to take a reading. You then press the AE lock button to freeze that reading.

  10. #10

    Default Re: AE lock in EOS 500D

    Quote Originally Posted by Kit View Post
    You press the shutter release button so that the camera is called to take a reading. You then press the AE lock button to freeze that reading.

    Oh..thank kit for your explaination...i keep confuse myself between AE lock and Focus lock

    but the funny thing is when i use focus lock..recompose and take the shot...then i use DDP to see the focus pt see if it is has been recomposed..and it seem not the way...

    i use the center AF pt to focus on the subject's eyes first then recompose it and appear that the AF pt is not in center when i use DDP to check..why is that so?
    500D/50mm f1.4/90mm macro/17-55mm/EX580 II
    My flickr

  11. #11
    Member Burnings's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    152

    Default Re: AE lock in EOS 500D

    I just did a test. It seems that pressing the AE lock without half pressing the shutter button can also lock the reading.

  12. #12
    Member Burnings's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    152

    Default Re: AE lock in EOS 500D

    Quote Originally Posted by rysouke View Post
    Oh..thank kit for your explaination...i keep confuse myself between AE lock and Focus lock

    but the funny thing is when i use focus lock..recompose and take the shot...then i use DDP to see the focus pt see if it is has been recomposed..and it seem not the way...

    i use the center AF pt to focus on the subject's eyes first then recompose it and appear that the AF pt is not in center when i use DDP to check..why is that so?
    The AF pt will not be in the center anymore because you moved the focused subject out of it...

  13. #13

    Default Re: AE lock in EOS 500D

    Quote Originally Posted by Burnings View Post
    The AF pt will not be in the center anymore because you moved the focused subject out of it...
    but does the focus is been locked??
    500D/50mm f1.4/90mm macro/17-55mm/EX580 II
    My flickr

  14. #14

    Default Re: AE lock in EOS 500D

    Quote Originally Posted by rysouke View Post
    but does the focus is been locked??
    Yes it's locked. That is why it is not in the centre anymore since you have recomposed the frame.

  15. #15

    Default Re: AE lock in EOS 500D

    Quote Originally Posted by rysouke View Post
    Oh..thank kit for your explaination...i keep confuse myself between AE lock and Focus lock

    but the funny thing is when i use focus lock..recompose and take the shot...then i use DDP to see the focus pt see if it is has been recomposed..and it seem not the way...

    i use the center AF pt to focus on the subject's eyes first then recompose it and appear that the AF pt is not in center when i use DDP to check..why is that so?

    is that important to you?

    from my experience last time when i first started out, when you focused the eye and recompose, the shot you taking might not be "sharp or look focus" example focused on the eye and move away the af point downwards to the chin or lower. the camera already registered that you focus that particular area using centre af point and you shifted it away which may causes that area to looks soft unless you using small aperture which might prevent this.
    Last edited by KelvinDestiny; 31st December 2009 at 04:10 PM.

  16. #16

    Default Re: AE lock in EOS 500D

    Quote Originally Posted by KelvinDestiny View Post
    is that important to you?

    from my experience last time when i first started out, when you focused the eye and recompose, the shot you taking might not be "sharp or look focus" example focused on the eye and move away the af point downwards to the chin or lower. the camera already registered that you focus that particular area using centre af point and you shifted it away which may causes that area to looks soft unless you using small aperture which might prevent this.
    just wanted to test it..as i know that the center AF pt is more sensitive...compare to others point..so trying to use the center pt to focus
    500D/50mm f1.4/90mm macro/17-55mm/EX580 II
    My flickr

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •