Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: firework..P mode enough?

  1. #1

    Default firework..P mode enough?

    Hi,

    I would like to ask that the P mode is enough to catch the firework?...I afraid during the time i playing around those Av and Tv mode, the firework is gone...

  2. #2
    Deregistered shaoken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Clementi/West Coast
    Posts
    2,115

    Default Re: firework..P mode enough?

    It's better to use the fully manual mode.
    Use a small aperture and slow shutter speed.

  3. #3

    Default Re: firework..P mode enough?

    Commonly use is Bulb mode

    Google and read up Fireworks photography. There are many and available from the net

  4. #4

    Default Re: firework..P mode enough?

    i will go marina or vivo this coming Thursday for the countdown. Due to the crowds, is that possible to take the firework shoot with hand held or tripod is a must?!

  5. #5
    Moderator ortega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    23,686
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Re: firework..P mode enough?

    actually if shooting for myself, i'd rather take video

    and no P mode not enough
    and tripod is necessary

  6. #6

    Default Re: firework..P mode enough?

    Quote Originally Posted by phoebuz View Post
    i will go marina or vivo this coming Thursday for the countdown. Due to the crowds, is that possible to take the firework shoot with hand held or tripod is a must?!
    I think the easiest for u will to be set your camera to shutter priority mode, set the time to between 3-10 seconds depending on how you want the picture to turn out

    You may google for the techniques for taking fireworks. Like some mentioned, bulb mode is the way to go. You may also look up for the black card technique.

    And yes, you need to use a tripod

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Pasir Ris, Singapore
    Posts
    14,002

    Default Re: firework..P mode enough?

    Quote Originally Posted by chalib View Post
    Commonly use is Bulb mode

    Google and read up Fireworks photography. There are many and available from the net
    Manual mode is gd enough. I always use in manual.
    Canon EOS 5D, 24-70 f/4 L IS, 50 f/1.2 L, 70-300 f/4-5.6 L IS, 600EX-RT. Sigma 12-24 f/4.5-5.6 EX.

  8. #8

    Default Re: firework..P mode enough?

    manual mode + tripod + a good location....just hope it doesn't rain.....
    Nikon D700, N24-70 f2.8, N70-200 f2.8, Sigma 50mm f1.4.

  9. #9
    Member mabmy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Simei
    Posts
    720

    Default Re: firework..P mode enough?

    Quote Originally Posted by RezzShaz View Post
    manual mode + tripod + a good location....just hope it doesn't rain.....
    So where is a good location?
    Your pictures speaks for you, not your camera.

  10. #10
    Member dingaroo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Singapore | East
    Posts
    1,950
    A picture a day keeps the blues away!

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Thomas More's Vision
    Posts
    627

    Default Re: firework..P mode enough?

    and use a remote to open or close the shutter, when using BULB.

  12. #12

    Default Re: firework..P mode enough?

    wat is bulb mode?! sorry to ask this noobie question...
    my camera only got auto, P, tV, Av, M etc..no bulb mode...

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Thomas More's Vision
    Posts
    627

    Default Re: firework..P mode enough?

    you go to manual mode and adjust the shutter speed to bulb, which is after 30 seconds. (I hope I am correct cause I am a Sony user.. not a canon..)

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Jurong West St65
    Posts
    2,578

    Default Re: firework..P mode enough?

    I am also a newbie. While browsing the CS forum, I collected some notes on taking frieworks. Sharing it below.

    I go into manual (M) mode and use bulb shutter setting for the fireworks. Use ISO 100 and F/8-F/16 (do some test shots of the first few bursts and adjust the aperture accordingly

    Fireworks--
    Use a tripod. You can't handhold the camera for a time exposure, even if you're using an IS lens.
    Use ISO 100 or lower. Fireworks are bright and the lower the ISO setting, the lower the image noise.
    Stop down to around f8, maybe f11. This will give you the sharpest images and allow a long exposure.
    Prefocus the lens and switch to manual focus.
    Try shutter speeds from 2s to 8s. The longer the exposure, the longer the trails will be.
    Open the shutter while the firework is on it's way up, not when the shell explodes.
    A remote release will be useful. Use one if you have one.

    In bulb shutter mode, you press the remote button to open the shutter, the seconds starts counting.

    Yes, Bulb shutter is right after the 30 seconds setting for shutter speed.
    Last edited by dykat2009; 30th December 2009 at 12:55 PM.

  15. #15
    Deregistered shaoken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Clementi/West Coast
    Posts
    2,115

    Default Re: firework..P mode enough?

    Quote Originally Posted by phoebuz View Post
    i will go marina or vivo this coming Thursday for the countdown. Due to the crowds, is that possible to take the firework shoot with hand held or tripod is a must?!
    Haha.. I've not heard of anyone who take photos of fireworks (long exposure shots of more than 10secs), handheld..
    You need a sturdy tripod. There will be many people and it will be extremely packed there.

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Jurong West St65
    Posts
    2,578

    Default Re: firework..P mode enough?

    Quote Originally Posted by mabmy View Post
    So where is a good location?
    The best location would be the top of the former Westin hotel. or in a high rise storey inside one fo those bank building (HSBC, etc.)

    I prefer to shoot firework from a further location coz I do not have a UWA lens.

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Jurong West St65
    Posts
    2,578

    Default Re: firework..P mode enough?

    Quote Originally Posted by ortega View Post
    actually if shooting for myself, i'd rather take video
    Hmm video. This is a good idea.
    I may try it on my Canon 500D on thursday night.

  18. #18

    Default Re: firework..P mode enough?

    Quote Originally Posted by Snoweagle View Post
    Manual mode is gd enough. I always use in manual.
    Bulb mode with black card method is the best

    You should try that

  19. #19
    Senior Member engrmariano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Rivervale
    Posts
    3,532

    Default Re: firework..P mode enough?

    Quote Originally Posted by ortega View Post
    actually if shooting for myself, i'd rather take video

    and no P mode not enough
    and tripod is necessary
    good idea. specially new dslr are HD video capable.
    then just screen capture some scenes & convert it as image.

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Seletar, Singapore
    Posts
    337

    Default Re: firework..P mode enough?

    if you can get your hands on a shutter release cable, that's the best. then use bulb mode.
    Photography is about seeing without a camera.
    60D | LX3 | Flickr

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •