Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Foreign Electricity Converter - which switch?

  1. #1
    ClubSNAP Idol Adam Goi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    5,682

    Default Foreign Electricity Converter - which switch?

    Hi people, need your help again.

    I just bought electricity converter so that I can use an appliance which requires power supply of AC 100-120V.

    At the back of the converter, there is this switch with toggles between "IN: AC 110V" and "IN: AC 220V"

    Which one?

    Thanks for helping a poor soul who knows nuts about this ...

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Land of the Teddy Bear
    Posts
    2,324

    Default Re: Foreign Electricity Converter - which switch?

    You should switch to "IN: AC 220V" for singapore.... "IN: AC 110V" is for US or Europe.

  3. #3
    ClubSNAP Idol Adam Goi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    5,682

    Default Re: Foreign Electricity Converter - which switch?

    Thank Reno!

  4. #4
    Senior Member +evenstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Singapore / United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,655

    Default Re: Foreign Electricity Converter - which switch?

    UK uses 230V (220V)
    eat. drink. shoot

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    3,688

    Default Re: Foreign Electricity Converter - which switch?

    Quote Originally Posted by Reno View Post
    You should switch to "IN: AC 220V" for singapore.... "IN: AC 110V" is for US or Europe.
    Most countries in Europe are using 220V!!!!
    Not 110V, don't know where you got this?????

    You can blow up the whole thing! Don't tell wrong things if you are not sure regarding electricity

    HS

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    3,688

    Default Re: Foreign Electricity Converter - which switch?

    Here is a list, you should have used Google to do a search, I got it in a second:

    http://www.kropla.com/electric2.htm

    Many countries in the Southern Americas use 110-120V, and in Central America......

    HS

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    1,799

    Default Re: Foreign Electricity Converter - which switch?

    LOL adam now get google treatment.
    I got shocked reading "Foreign Electricity Converter" like er... is the cable run from johor or bintan to singapore? LOL
    By the way that is called transformer, or more accurately AC transformer.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    In The Shadows
    Posts
    1,230

    Default Re: Foreign Electricity Converter - which switch?

    Quote Originally Posted by hongsien View Post
    Most countries in Europe are using 220V!!!!
    Not 110V, don't know where you got this?????

    You can blow up the whole thing! Don't tell wrong things if you are not sure regarding electricity

    HS
    LOL, you won't blow up the whole thing, if you accidentally use 220V on a 110V appliance. Your circuit protection will trip first due to over load.

    And even if there's no protection, your appliance will still work fine. This is voltage. Not current. Only when you use the wrong current rating you will damage your appliance.

    Reno mentioned US OR Europe. He didn't say Europe alone. Some places still use 110V
    Last edited by Ninja23XX; 29th December 2009 at 11:49 AM.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    In The Shadows
    Posts
    1,230

    Default Re: Foreign Electricity Converter - which switch?

    Quote Originally Posted by aryanto View Post
    LOL adam now get google treatment.
    I got shocked reading "Foreign Electricity Converter" like er... is the cable run from johor or bintan to singapore? LOL
    By the way that is called transformer, or more accurately AC transformer.
    That is right, transformer is used to step up or step down voltage.

  10. #10
    Moderator diver-hloc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Somewhere North
    Posts
    5,201

    Default Re: Foreign Electricity Converter - which switch?

    Quote Originally Posted by aryanto View Post
    LOL adam now get google treatment.
    I got shocked reading "Foreign Electricity Converter" like er... is the cable run from johor or bintan to singapore? LOL
    By the way that is called transformer, or more accurately AC transformer.

    Heeheehee..... kind of funny that the usual "Go Google this Google that" or "Go Search this Search that'' ClubSNAP-er didn't said anything.....

    Only Newbies kena from them.....

    Btw TS...... alot of modern chargers and/or electric devices are now use mutil type of voltage.....
    Last edited by diver-hloc; 29th December 2009 at 12:00 PM.

    Scuba & Father... For Life

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    3,688

    Default Re: Foreign Electricity Converter - which switch?

    Quote Originally Posted by diver-hloc View Post
    Heeheehee..... kind of funny that the usual "Go Google this Google that" or "Go Search this Search that'' ClubSNAP-er didn't said anything.....

    Only Newbies kena from them.....
    Not true, I did that with Adam on purpose cause he is not a newbie and it's not excusable

    But it was to the wrong person, Adam wasn't asking for which countries use what voltage, my fault.

    Anyway, true that voltage won't blow up the thing, it will just work faster (or slower), just wanted send warning, cause I am always worried about electricity, been putting my fingers into a 110V socket in Indo before when I was 4-5 years or so.........

  12. #12

    Default Using the wrong voltage

    Friends,
    Please note if the wrong voltage is used, you can blow up the gear. There can be irrepairable damage to the equipment.
    So it is best to get it right.
    Cheers
    Nikon D750; FM2; FG; 55mm Micro Nikkor; 28-300 VR; 70-200 VR; Nikon V1 + 10-30mm

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    1,799

    Default Re: Foreign Electricity Converter - which switch?

    Quote Originally Posted by hongsien View Post
    Anyway, true that voltage won't blow up the thing, it will just work faster (or slower), just wanted send warning, cause I am always worried about electricity, been putting my fingers into a 110V socket in Indo before when I was 4-5 years or so.........
    Indonesia is a bit weird, depending where you are.
    But mostly now if not wrong are 220V already.

  14. #14

    Default Re: Foreign Electricity Converter - which switch?

    TS, if you are not sure, why don't you get those 110V~240V converters?

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    3,688

    Default Re: Foreign Electricity Converter - which switch?

    Quote Originally Posted by aryanto View Post
    Indonesia is a bit weird, depending where you are.
    But mostly now if not wrong are 220V already.
    Look at my age in my Clubsnap profile........it was a loooong way back in time

    I think putting a 220V item into a 110V socket is ok, it will only work slower

    I was still young and didn't understand how dangerous electricity can be then, I remember my finger got stucked inside the wall socket for a few seconds till I managed to pull it out.......I can still remember it now (current was low I guess), 110V is safe!!!! 220 NOT!


    HS
    Last edited by hongsien; 29th December 2009 at 04:13 PM.

  16. #16

    Default Re: Foreign Electricity Converter - which switch?

    Quote Originally Posted by hongsien View Post
    Look at my age in my Clubsnap profile........it was a loooong way back in time

    I think putting a 220V item into a 110V socket is ok, it will only work slower

    I was still young and didn't understand how dangerous electricity can be then, I remember my finger got stucked inside the wall socket for a few seconds till I managed to pull it out.......I can still remember it now (current was low I guess), 110V is safe!!!! 220 NOT!


    HS
    OT: Sorry, are you really 97 years old this year?
    I am stuck in an expensive hobby, but yet not willing to save myself

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •