Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Please guide me, I'm a newbie

Default Please guide me, I'm a newbie

Over the weekends, I've encountered the following while I'm out

1) At the merlion park at about 10pm, saw this guy holding this really cool DSLR. He turn left, shoot the esplanade with build-in flash light hand-held; turn right, shoot the flyer with flash hand held; turn around, shoot buildings with the same technique too. I wonder why, but he looks reallly pro with his equipment so I think he must be right.

2) At a dim restaurant for dinner, this guy beside my table was asking his group of friends (4 ladies) to pose for a group photo. Then I overheard him saying (quite audibly) "Please dont move for 1 second okie?" And he proceed to shoot, hand held without flash. After that he proclaims "Swee, very nice". I'm impressed. He is using the same camera as me. How does he hand hold for 1 sec? Is there something wrong with my technique?

Someone please enlighten me, I'm a newbie

Default Re: Please guide me, I'm a newbie

Quote Originally Posted by yc2005 View Post

1) At the merlion park at about 10pm, saw this guy holding this really cool DSLR. He turn left, shoot the esplanade with build-in flash light hand-held; turn right, shoot the flyer with flash hand held; turn around, shoot buildings with the same technique too. I wonder why, but he looks reallly pro with his equipment so I think he must be right.

2) At a dim restaurant for dinner, this guy beside my table was asking his group of friends (4 ladies) to pose for a group photo. Then I overheard him saying (quite audibly) "Please dont move for 1 second okie?" And he proceed to shoot, hand held without flash. After that he proclaims "Swee, very nice". I'm impressed. He is using the same camera as me. How does he hand hold for 1 sec? Is there something wrong with my technique?

Err, you cannot hand hold the camera for 1 sec? You say you're a newbie, but you have so many good items in your signature. Weird...