Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 37

Thread: Question on AF-S

  1. #1

    Default Question on AF-S

    Hi, I'm using Nikon D90.

    I think most of you guys here used Aperture mode for Single Focus (etc, the focus thing very clear and with a blurry background)

    I wanted to ask if, when you are on Manual mode, can i still Single Focus?

    I tried on my D90, i change the auto focus to Single Focus in the menu, and i switched AF-A to AF-S in the control panel.
    But when i shoot on the focus subject, some images turn out successful and some images turn out un-successful.

    Example when i change back to my focus to dynamic area in the menu, and i switched AF-S to AF-A in the control panel,
    some images turn out to be single focus.

    May i know what is my problem?

  2. #2

    Default Re: Question on AF-S

    ur problem is that u got everything wrg.

    bokeh (the blurry backgrd) has nothing to do with AF-A or AF-S. pls go read up 1st abt all this, spend some time researching like all the lao jiaos here do
    Last edited by redname; 22nd December 2009 at 09:47 PM.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Thomas More's Vision
    Posts
    627

    Default Re: Question on AF-S

    Read the manual too.

  4. #4
    Senior Member madmartian's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Outer Space
    Posts
    20,227

    Default Re: Question on AF-S

    Quote Originally Posted by mem0riess View Post
    Hi, I'm using Nikon D90.

    I think most of you guys here used Aperture mode for Single Focus (etc, the focus thing very clear and with a blurry background)

    I wanted to ask if, when you are on Manual mode, can i still Single Focus?

    I tried on my D90, i change the auto focus to Single Focus in the menu, and i switched AF-A to AF-S in the control panel.
    But when i shoot on the focus subject, some images turn out successful and some images turn out un-successful.

    Example when i change back to my focus to dynamic area in the menu, and i switched AF-S to AF-A in the control panel,
    some images turn out to be single focus.

    May i know what is my problem?
    Pls go read your D90 manual
    Take the shot!

  5. #5

    Default Re: Question on AF-S

    The lowest F-stop my lens can go is F/3.5 .
    How do i really solve this? Can someone help me please..

  6. #6

    Default Re: Question on AF-S

    Erm get a lens with a wider aperature? haha

    Lemme attempt to assist you...

    I think most of you guys here used Aperture mode for Single Focus (etc, the focus thing very clear and with a blurry background)
    It's the wide aperture at work here.

    I wanted to ask if, when you are on Manual mode, can i still Single Focus?
    Yes, you can certainly do so.

    I tried on my D90, i change the auto focus to Single Focus in the menu, and i switched AF-A to AF-S in the control panel.
    But when i shoot on the focus subject, some images turn out successful and some images turn out un-successful.

    I think it has to do with your AF-area mode.

    Example when i change back to my focus to dynamic area in the menu, and i switched AF-S to AF-A in the control panel,
    some images turn out to be single focus.

    Maybe you're moving back and forth too much? Even if you point at the subject dead-on, then recompose the image in AF-Single mode, it still wouldn't be blur.

    But, seriously, don't get ANY lens till you've mastered your existing combination. Be it flash compensation, ADR, AF-area or AF mode, just go tinker around or read the manual. Don't dabble into lenses yet, lest you buy the wrong ones

    Happy Practicing!
    gibss
    Last edited by gibss; 22nd December 2009 at 11:52 PM.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Question on AF-S

    Quote Originally Posted by gibss View Post
    Erm get a lens with a wider aperature? haha

    But, seriously, don't get ANY lens till you've mastered your existing combination. Be it flash compensation, ADR, AF-area or AF mode, just go tinker around or read the manual. Don't dabble into lenses yet, lest you buy the wrong ones.

    Happy Practicing!
    gibss
    I mean, can my kit len get the bokeh effect? If can, how do i get it?

  8. #8

    Default Re: Question on AF-S

    Quote Originally Posted by mem0riess View Post
    I mean, can my kit len get the bokeh effect? If can, how do i get it?
    Keyword: Distance

    Clue: distance between your camera and your subject vs your subject's distance to its background
    Last edited by torak; 22nd December 2009 at 11:58 PM.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Thomas More's Vision
    Posts
    627

    Default Re: Question on AF-S

    Quote Originally Posted by mem0riess View Post
    I mean, can my kit len get the bokeh effect? If can, how do i get it?
    can.... yeah, like what torak said.. distance. and I would prefer to use manual focus when i want to have that bokeh kinda effect.

  10. #10

    Default Re: Question on AF-S

    Ok, i say setting here, I place an object on my computer table, the background is at least 30m away from the object, and my camera is 2m away frm the object.
    A-Mode, F/4.2

    Is it something wrong with my settings?

  11. #11
    Senior Member ZerocoolAstra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    rainy Singapore
    Posts
    9,523

    Default Re: Question on AF-S

    Quote Originally Posted by mem0riess View Post
    Ok, i say setting here, I place an object on my computer table, the background is at least 30m away from the object, and my camera is 2m away frm the object.
    A-Mode, F/4.2

    Is it something wrong with my settings?
    No... nothing wrong.
    What is your focal length used?
    Ideally, with the kit lens, to get the minimum depth of field, you should be in the longer focal lengths (>70mm or even up to 105mm) and the largest possible aperture at that focal length (ie. f/5.6).

    If you can get f/4.2, I think your focal length should only be around 35mm
    Exploring! :)

  12. #12
    Senior Member ZerocoolAstra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    rainy Singapore
    Posts
    9,523

    Default Re: Question on AF-S

    btw, you're starting too many threads, asking this and asking that.
    I think you gotta focus on 1 thing at a time and learn it until it becomes second nature.

    If you have a couple of hours, you should go somewhere nearby with your camera and manual, and read + experiment.
    Not sure what AF-A is? Read the manual, then use it in the situation where you think it is necessary/beneficial.
    Exploring! :)

  13. #13

    Default Re: Question on AF-S

    Alright, i think i get what you mean there.

    I need to be close or very close to the object. but does the f/stop really affect the bokeh? like f/stop between 4-5?

  14. #14

    Default Re: Question on AF-S

    I think u should read the sticky by sulhan. There can give u some idea.

  15. #15
    Senior Member ZerocoolAstra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    rainy Singapore
    Posts
    9,523

    Default Re: Question on AF-S

    Quote Originally Posted by mem0riess View Post
    Alright, i think i get what you mean there.

    I need to be close or very close to the object. but does the f/stop really affect the bokeh? like f/stop between 4-5?
    Why not you try it out for yourself to prove to yourself if it is correct or not?

    Not that difficult to take 2 or 3 shots at 105mm, f/5.6, f/11 and f/16 to see the difference, right?
    Exploring! :)

  16. #16

    Default Re: Question on AF-S

    you have a DOF button try that to see the effect.

  17. #17

    Default Re: Question on AF-S

    go google on the net to see pictures taken at 85mm F1.4 and 85mm F16 then you can see the difference.

  18. #18
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,388

    Default Re: Question on AF-S

    Quote Originally Posted by mem0riess View Post
    Alright, i think i get what you mean there.

    I need to be close or very close to the object. but does the f/stop really affect the bokeh? like f/stop between 4-5?
    No, because bokeh is a quality factor determined by more than just the aperture. With aperture you only control the Depth of Field - and therefore the area which is in focus. Focus on the basics first, bokeh is an endless discussion with lots of personal taste and with lots of money to spend on certain lenses.
    EOS

  19. #19

    Default Re: Question on AF-S

    I got the result, but when my camera is near or zoom is near the object.
    Once my zoom or camera is not near the object, the bokeh effect will not come out. (A-Mode)

  20. #20

    Default Re: Question on AF-S

    Quote Originally Posted by mem0riess View Post
    I got the result, but when my camera is near or zoom is near the object.
    Once my zoom or camera is not near the object, the bokeh effect will not come out. (A-Mode)
    aft all the posting by the lao jiaos here and u still dnt get it

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •