Thread: SD card - rated class and actual speed?

Default SD card - rated class and actual speed?

Having picked up a 450D after my beloved 5D was stolen, I am kinda new to SD cards.

Apparently, a card's minimum speed is indicated by its "class" - Class 4 means 4MB/s and such. However, the two pieces of Class 4 SD cards I have, one Toshiba, the other Sandisk Ultra, have much higher reading and writing speed than 4MB/s, much like 15-20MB/s. Now I wonder, under what circumstances are the minimum speeds derived, and how does one know a card's speed when used normally with cameras/card-readers?

Default Re: SD card - rated class and actual speed?

Marketing will promote the peak speed (15MB/s, 30MB/s, etc). Guaranteed minimum speed is the critical part. Real world performance will exist somewhere in between. Depending on the state of fragmentation, I don't think it's meaningful to derive any "average speeds".

Maybe digging through the official site might yield more results:
    http://www.sdcard.org/developers/tech/speed_class/

The SD Association has specified operating conditions for SDHC memory cards to guarantee the minimum speed according to the card's speed class. Class logos are provided to help identify cards that comply with these specifications.
    Apparently Class10 do not exist as an official standard yet.

Quote Originally Posted by CamInit View Post
    Marketing will promote the peak speed (15MB/s, 30MB/s, etc). Guaranteed minimum speed is the critical part. Real world performance will exist somewhere in between. Depending on the state of fragmentation, I don't think it's meaningful to derive any "average speeds".

Thanks for the reply and especially the link.
    Will fragmentation have any effect at all if the use pattern is: shoot - download - format - shoot again?
    Last edited by grantyale; 21st December 2009 at 09:17 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by grantyale View Post
    Thanks for the reply and especially the link.