Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: open picture in the computer...

  1. #1

    Default open picture in the computer...

    i transfer my photo from memory card to computer...(canon 450D)
    however,only those default mode picture such as portrait, landscape, auto etc can be opened from cs3...however, those Tv,Av etc mode picture can not be opened,,
    may i know why?
    the cs3 come out with a dialog "could not complete your request because it's not a right kind of document."...

  2. #2
    Senior Member NovJoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    ~Sunny Little Island~
    Posts
    5,651

    Default Re: open picture in the computer...

    Are you shooting in RAW or JPEG?

  3. #3

    Default Re: open picture in the computer...

    Chances are, you are shooting in RAW when you're not in Auto.

    Your camera came with a CD. Install it.
    Alpha

  4. #4
    Senior Member limwhow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Life revolves arOnd East Coast
    Posts
    7,049

    Default Re: open picture in the computer...

    I agree with NovJoe and Rashkae bros... most likely your shots were in CR2, Canon's RAW format.
    However, I find it strange that CS3 couldn't recognise CR2. By right it should. Maybe you need to go to Adobe's website to download the latest RAW plugin that allows CS3 to recognise Canon's latest CR2.

  5. #5
    Deregistered shaoken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Clementi/West Coast
    Posts
    2,115

    Default Re: open picture in the computer...

    Quote Originally Posted by limwhow View Post
    I agree with NovJoe and Rashkae bros... most likely your shots were in CR2, Canon's RAW format.
    However, I find it strange that CS3 couldn't recognise CR2. By right it should. Maybe you need to go to Adobe's website to download the latest RAW plugin that allows CS3 to recognise Canon's latest CR2.
    From what I understand, those newer camera manufactured after mid-2008, the RAW formats can't be open via CS3 and can only be opened via CS4.

    My 2 friends have a Canon 450D and D5000, all these models cannot be opened in CS3 but can be opened in CS4.

    Hope this helps.

  6. #6

    Default Re: open picture in the computer...

    thanks for the help...
    only can open in the canon cd software...
    CS3 can not open those RAW files which is CR2...=.=

  7. #7

    Default Re: open picture in the computer...

    Quote Originally Posted by xdw3irdxd View Post
    thanks for the help...
    only can open in the canon cd software...
    CS3 can not open those RAW files which is CR2...=.=
    u need cs4. cs3 does not support the newer cameras.

    alternatively, u can convert them to dng then open them.

    list of camera supported here.

    http://www.adobe.com/products/photoshop/cameraraw.html
    Last edited by flipfreak; 14th December 2009 at 09:54 AM.

  8. #8
    Deregistered shaoken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Clementi/West Coast
    Posts
    2,115

    Default Re: open picture in the computer...

    Quote Originally Posted by xdw3irdxd View Post
    thanks for the help...
    only can open in the canon cd software...
    CS3 can not open those RAW files which is CR2...=.=
    Maybe it's because 450D is a new camera and can only be opened using CS4..

  9. #9
    Senior Member NovJoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    ~Sunny Little Island~
    Posts
    5,651

    Default Re: open picture in the computer...

    Quote Originally Posted by shaoken View Post
    From what I understand, those newer camera manufactured after mid-2008, the RAW formats can't be open via CS3 and can only be opened via CS4.

    My 2 friends have a Canon 450D and D5000, all these models cannot be opened in CS3 but can be opened in CS4.

    Hope this helps.


    Quote Originally Posted by shaoken View Post
    Maybe it's because 450D is a new camera and can only be opened using CS4..
    Not true, wrong info. I'm shooting with my 450D in RAW and I can open all my files in my CS3. All you need is to install the plugin for your Camera's model and format.

  10. #10

    Default Re: open picture in the computer...

    Quote Originally Posted by NovJoe View Post
    Not true, wrong info. I'm shooting with my 450D in RAW and I can open all my files in my CS3. All you need is to install the plugin for your Camera's model and format.
    but is it still possible to download the plugin for 450D anywhere? i realise its a big problem for ppl still using cs3 without the plugin support.

  11. #11
    Deregistered shaoken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Clementi/West Coast
    Posts
    2,115

    Default Re: open picture in the computer...

    Quote Originally Posted by NovJoe View Post
    Not true, wrong info. I'm shooting with my 450D in RAW and I can open all my files in my CS3. All you need is to install the plugin for your Camera's model and format.
    Oh.. Then sorry for the wrong info..
    Not very sure as I'm not a Canon user.. I'll let my friends know about it.

  12. #12
    Senior Member NovJoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    ~Sunny Little Island~
    Posts
    5,651

    Default Re: open picture in the computer...

    Quote Originally Posted by flipfreak View Post
    but is it still possible to download the plugin for 450D anywhere? i realise its a big problem for ppl still using cs3 without the plugin support.
    You need to google for it. Yes, it is a big problem for me initially as I do not have the plugin. Luckily, my frd helped me to google and lead me to the plugin installer for 450D. Let me go back tonight and ask him again to see if he can remember how to do it. Once I got the steps, I'll share with everyone here. Working on RAW in CS3 without the plugin is a pain in the neck.

  13. #13
    Senior Member NovJoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    ~Sunny Little Island~
    Posts
    5,651

    Default Re: open picture in the computer...

    Quote Originally Posted by shaoken View Post
    Oh.. Then sorry for the wrong info..
    Not very sure as I'm not a Canon user.. I'll let my friends know about it.
    No worries, sorry if I sound rude in anyway on my earlier post . I'll see if I can get the steps from my friend tonight for the plugin page of 450D for CS3.

  14. #14
    Senior Member limwhow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Life revolves arOnd East Coast
    Posts
    7,049

    Default Re: open picture in the computer...

    Quote Originally Posted by shaoken View Post
    From what I understand, those newer camera manufactured after mid-2008, the RAW formats can't be open via CS3 and can only be opened via CS4.

    My 2 friends have a Canon 450D and D5000, all these models cannot be opened in CS3 but can be opened in CS4.

    Hope this helps.
    I see, shaoken. Good that you tell me this. I've always thought CS3 can open (new) Canon RAW. But still, it is only a matter of a plugin only. Why did Adobe make it so difficult for CS3 users to simply use an upgrade plugin for newer cameras?

    Quote Originally Posted by flipfreak View Post
    u need cs4. cs3 does not support the newer cameras.

    alternatively, u can convert them to dng then open them....
    This is a piece of good advice. Yes, convert to DNG. But still, before we do that, we still need to be able to open the CR2 up in Photoshop first. Canon's DPP program can convert to DNG meh?

  15. #15

    Default Re: open picture in the computer...

    Quote Originally Posted by limwhow View Post
    This is a piece of good advice. Yes, convert to DNG. But still, before we do that, we still need to be able to open the CR2 up in Photoshop first. Canon's DPP program can convert to DNG meh?
    u can download the adobe dng converter foc from their website to convert raw files to dng. then at least u have a universal format to work on, regardless of the software.

  16. #16
    Senior Member limwhow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Life revolves arOnd East Coast
    Posts
    7,049

    Default Re: open picture in the computer...

    Quote Originally Posted by flipfreak View Post
    u can download the adobe dng converter foc from their website to convert raw files to dng. then at least u have a universal format to work on, regardless of the software.
    Yes, I see, flipfreak.
    I have stopped downloading my RAW in CR2 format and have been doing so instead in DNG right from Adobe Bridge. As a Universal RAW format, I can understand its advantage in the future, whatever version of PS I will be using, In fact, many image viewers can read and view DNG, but CR2, especially the newer version, not too many.
    Also DNG is definitely 20% smaller in terms of file size as compared to CR2.
    Only thing is, all my older CR2 files, I had to use batch conversion in Adobe Bridge to convert into DNG, a process that is slow. At least hopefully this Adobe DNG converter is faster.
    Thank you.
    Last edited by limwhow; 14th December 2009 at 02:21 PM.

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    1.45N 103.83E
    Posts
    3,202

    Default Re: open picture in the computer...

    Normally I would open my CR2 files in Canon DPP. You get more control of Canon Raw files using DPP over CS3/4.

    However I can still open my 1Dmk3 CR2 files in CS3.

  18. #18

    Default Re: open picture in the computer...

    Quote Originally Posted by limwhow View Post
    Yes, I see, flipfreak.
    I have stopped downloading my RAW in CR2 format and have been doing so instead in DNG right from Adobe Bridge. As a Universal RAW format, I can understand its advantage in the future, whatever version of PS I will be using, In fact, many image viewers can read and view DNG, but CR2, especially the newer version, not too many.
    Also DNG is definitely 20% smaller in terms of file size as compared to CR2.
    Only thing is, all my older CR2 files, I had to use batch conversion in Adobe Bridge to convert into DNG, a process that is slow. At least hopefully this Adobe DNG converter is faster.
    Thank you.
    i am not too sure of the speed because it is not part of my workflow to convert my shots to dng. i hope for a day when digital cameras shoot in dng instead of raw.

  19. #19
    Senior Member NovJoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    ~Sunny Little Island~
    Posts
    5,651

    Default Re: open picture in the computer...

    I found the link for the adobe Raw plugin for 450D. The link below consist of both the plugin download and the steps to install. Once you've done the installation, you can even drag and drop the photo from DPP to CS3, which is what I'm currently doing as it saves time and loads very fast.

    http://www.adobe.com/support/downloa...jsp?ftpID=3896

    Hope this info helps anyone who wish to open their CR2 RAW format in CS3.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •