Thread: helping tips for wedding photography

Default helping tips for wedding photography

hi, im new to wedding photography and want to learn more on getting great pictures. previously my shoot was being criticized by the couple and that affected my confidence. (my field is in wildlife and travel, wedding is a totally new level for me). I had a number of questions which i hope those who are in experience enough could actually share with me, as i had another wedding coming up and im not intending to screw this one up..

1) white balnce - as the enivronment is always changing, would it be better to shoot at kelvin or auto white balance?

2) what should i shoot? - My style is to get artistic shots and moments and i find it hard when i am busy shooting the general stuff on documenting every single thing that is happening (tea ceremony, group photos etc).

for example - tea ceremony: should i be shooting every single person being served for tea (to ensure everyone is in the shot), or just get a few and proceed on to getting artistic pictures and moments.

3) Indoor - this is the part im most worried, i know using bounce flash is the way to light up the indoors, but i still feel its unimpressive. i've noticed experts manage to get brilliant indoor shots with very natural lighting and i know that flash was actually used, its feels like there isn't any, was wondering how can i achieve this

i hope you guys are willing to share your tips thx

dennis
    Last edited by dennisthetiger; 8th December 2009 at 06:24 PM.
    Award winner of Singapore Young Photographer Award 2012
    dennisongphotography.com

Default Re: helping tips for wedding photography

1) white balnce - as the enivronment is always changing, would it be better to shoot at kelvin or auto white balance?
    Shoot using to RAW (with AWB) and edit later in your RAW app.