Thread: sunset shot

Default sunset shot

newbie here... anyone care to share the settings ur use to capture sunset shots?

Default Re: sunset shot

Quote Originally Posted by christoptoh View Post
    newbie here... anyone care to share the settings ur use to capture sunset shots?
    haven't tried sunset shots yet but if i do i'll just spot meter my cam to the sun, this way, the sun will be properly exposed while the rest would be silhouettes

You may also want to tweak your WB to achieve that orange glow

Quote Originally Posted by gimumancer View Post
    haven't tried sunset shots yet but if i do i'll just spot meter my cam to the sun, this way, the sun will be properly exposed while the rest would be silhouettes
    Then if 1000D got no spot metering, is there any techniques to create near that effect?

Quote Originally Posted by hoho85 View Post
    Then if 1000D got no spot metering, is there any techniques to create near that effect?
    Just use the regular zone metering, and adjust EV manually if needed. Most cameras are smart enough to understand the "everyday tourist consumer requirement" sunset shot. This is a basic shot that almost all cameras should have no issues with.
    Alpha

Quote Originally Posted by Rashkae View Post
    Just use the regular zone metering, and adjust EV manually if needed. Most cameras are smart enough to understand the "everyday tourist consumer requirement" sunset shot. This is a basic shot that almost all cameras should have no issues with.
    Oh yay

Normally I will underexpose, to get richer colours and not clip highlights.

sometimes i change WB to cloudy to get the nice warm colours.

I will also shoot in Manual mode to get the exposure i want.
    Photography is about seeing without a camera.
    60D | LX3 | Flickr