Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Hdd : Nas?

  1. #1
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    www.fuzzyeyeballs.com
    Posts
    8,242

    Default Hdd : Nas?

    I've a few (not too) old HDD and instead of having several HDD casings, I thought maybe I can find some gadget like those NAS that I can shove all of them in one bigger 'casing'. Is there such a thing? I asked around shops and all they have are SATA ones. Any recommendations? My several casings are all different and I got really fed up of having to swap the power adapters everytime I need to access different HDD. Hehe.

  2. #2
    Senior Member phoakm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    7,385

    Default Re: Hdd : Nas?

    Quote Originally Posted by ndroo View Post
    I've a few (not too) old HDD and instead of having several HDD casings, I thought maybe I can find some gadget like those NAS that I can shove all of them in one bigger 'casing'. Is there such a thing? I asked around shops and all they have are SATA ones. Any recommendations? My several casings are all different and I got really fed up of having to swap the power adapters everytime I need to access different HDD. Hehe.
    DROBO!
    I AM BORNFIRE!
    My Flickr/TFCD Service

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    www.fuzzyeyeballs.com
    Posts
    8,242

    Default Re: Hdd : Nas?

    Quote Originally Posted by phoakm View Post
    DROBO!
    Those I saw are all SATA le.

  4. #4
    Senior Member phoakm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    7,385

    Default Re: Hdd : Nas?

    Quote Originally Posted by ndroo View Post
    Those I saw are all SATA le.
    Yours still IDE????
    I AM BORNFIRE!
    My Flickr/TFCD Service

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    www.fuzzyeyeballs.com
    Posts
    8,242

    Default Re: Hdd : Nas?

    Quote Originally Posted by phoakm View Post
    Yours still IDE????
    Ya la. I bought a couple of them years ago and still can't fill them up with photos. What to do?

  6. #6
    Senior Member phoakm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    7,385

    Default Re: Hdd : Nas?

    Quote Originally Posted by ndroo View Post
    Ya la. I bought a couple of them years ago and still can't fill them up with photos. What to do?
    Nowadays all the HDDs are satas. Setup and installation are easy. For IDE you may need an long IDE cable to master and slaves. That is a lot of work.
    I AM BORNFIRE!
    My Flickr/TFCD Service

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    www.fuzzyeyeballs.com
    Posts
    8,242

    Default Re: Hdd : Nas?

    Quote Originally Posted by phoakm View Post
    Nowadays all the HDDs are satas. Setup and installation are easy. For IDE you may need an long IDE cable to master and slaves. That is a lot of work.
    Ya lor

    Just bought a 2TB to backup all my DVDs and music. Not sure if I should get another to replace all my old IDE ones. Bo lui liao

  8. #8
    Senior Member phoakm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    7,385

    Default Re: Hdd : Nas?

    Quote Originally Posted by ndroo View Post
    Ya lor

    Just bought a 2TB to backup all my DVDs and music. Not sure if I should get another to replace all my old IDE ones. Bo lui liao
    Same here. My Drobo is running 2 TB currently (4 X 500gig) . Will be replacing them with 1TB once it hit the max. I was considering getting the Drobo S once it lauched. It have 5 HDD bays.
    I AM BORNFIRE!
    My Flickr/TFCD Service

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •