Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: How if 'soft feel' created in PS?

  1. #1

    Default How if 'soft feel' created in PS?

    Hi everyone,

    I'm not sure of the correct term to use but i guess it's called soft focus. U know the kindof result where the picture looks soft and 'dreamy'? Can that be achieved in PS and how? Anyone please enlighten me?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    97

    Default

    add a new layer of the same photo on top of the original, then gaussian blur it abt 10 px for a 2048 by 1536 foto (or wateva u wish it wuld be), then change the opacity to about 25-75 percent.

    for me, i normally blur 10 px then opacity abt 45%

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kirayamato
    add a new layer of the same photo on top of the original, then gaussian blur it abt 10 px for a 2048 by 1536 foto (or wateva u wish it wuld be), then change the opacity to about 25-75 percent.

    for me, i normally blur 10 px then opacity abt 45%
    Hi Kira,

    Thanks a lot for ya response.

    I encountered a few problems when i did as you instructed.

    I created a new layer by pressing Shift+Ctrl+N.
    I choose Filter >> Blur >> Gaussian Blur

    A error message stating "Could not complete Gaussian Blur command because selected area is empty. What have i not done?


    By the way, when i set the opacity, is it necessary to be done the moment i created the layer? Can i alter the opacity after the layer is created?


    Regards,
    Ordinaryless
    Last edited by ordinaryless; 8th February 2004 at 03:58 AM.

  4. #4
    Senior Member jOhO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,485

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ordinaryless
    Hi Kira,

    Thanks a lot for ya response.

    I encountered a few problems when i did as you instructed.

    I created a new layer by pressing Shift+Ctrl+N.
    I choose Filter >> Blur >> Gaussian Blur

    A error message stating "Could not complete Gaussian Blur command because selected area is empty. What have i not done?


    Regards,
    Ordinaryless
    that's becos u made a new layer..

    make a duplicate layer of the original instead, by dragging that layer (usually it's called background) to the "new layer" icon at the bottom of the layers palatte. the icon is like a sheet of paper with it's bottom left corner folded up.

    u will now have two layers with the same thing, one called background and the other likely to be "background copy".

    do ur blurring on the background copy. then u can "blend" it with the original layer by changing the opacity, or the blanding mode, try multiply or overlay.

    also u can change the brightness of the new layer using levels (i would use a new adjustment layer, but then this is getting a bit cheem....)

  5. #5

    Default

    Joho: Thanks alot for ya correction! OH man, i should have alter the original backgrd opacity instead of the new layer. Haha, no wonder i cant see the effect initially.

    Here's a link to tutorial on soft focus in clubsnap..
    http://www.clubsnap.org/display.php?.../softfocus.htm

    The link is sent to me by Snipe!
    Thanks Snipe for sharing with us!

  6. #6
    Senior Member jOhO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,485

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ordinaryless
    Joho: Thanks alot for ya correction! OH man, i should have alter the original backgrd opacity instead of the new layer. Haha, no wonder i cant see the effect initially.

    Here's a link to tutorial on soft focus in clubsnap..
    http://www.clubsnap.org/display.php?.../softfocus.htm

    The link is sent to me by Snipe!
    Thanks Snipe for sharing with us!
    yeah there's that tutorial, shoulda pointed u there also eheh..

    there's always more than one way to skin a cat, use whichever workflow u're comfortable with.

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ordinaryless
    The link is sent to me by Snipe!
    Thanks Snipe for sharing with us!

    thank tommy gui... i know nuts abt PS. just happen to read the article before.



    ok zzz......

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    97

    Default

    alamak so paiseh, din make myself clear....
    anyways good luck

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kirayamato
    alamak so paiseh, din make myself clear....
    anyways good luck

    Its ok Kira..im glad u replied and the others who discussed with me =)

    enjoy ya sunday man!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •