Thread: Capturing rain drops

Default Capturing rain drops

Newbie here

Anyone can advise on how to do the above? I am using a G5 with no other other accessories except a tripod. When i tried incresing shutterspeed, it will be too dark but with flash the rain drops will ave a reflection ,
    anyone?

Quote Originally Posted by Mercury
    Newbie here

Anyone can advise on how to do the above? I am using a G5 with no other other accessories except a tripod. When i tried incresing shutterspeed, it will be too dark but with flash the rain drops will ave a reflection ,
    anyone?
    i've never shot any rain drop myself but i found this ...
    http://www.photo.net/bboard/q-and-a-...?msg_id=006Tlv

Quote Originally Posted by renegade
    i've never shot any rain drop myself but i found this ...
    http://www.photo.net/bboard/q-and-a-...?msg_id=006Tlv
    thanks

but i was refering to rain drops as they are falling from the sky. something like a motion capture with all the drops frozen in time

thanks

but i was refering to rain drops as they are falling from the sky. something like a motion capture with all the drops frozen in time

Put the cam on the tripod. Set the cam to bracketing mode. Bracket using shutter speed. Set the range of shutter speeds. Use maximum aperture size (must be on full manual mode). Then fire away and find the best shutter speed where u get the rain drop and a sufficiently bright background. An already bright background helps also.

Then set that shutter speed and aperture and using continuous drive mode, fire away until u get the perfect pic.....

Anyway u are on digital... so no problem..... reshoot until satisfied....

hmmmm ok i give it a shot but rain stop liao so next time ba haha.

actually the problem is that during the rain, it is usually dark and to capture the drops at as it is falling requires a high shutter speed. ( ithink 1/1000) but with that shutter speed even at f2.0 the picture is too dark.