Thread: What is a suitable beginner telephoto lens for sports photography?

Default What is a suitable beginner telephoto lens for sports photography?

What would be a good beginner telephoto lens that is suitable for taking pictures of sporting action?

I will be spending a few months in Europe on an exchange program and I hope to attend some of their sporting events. However I am only likely to be able to afford the cheaper tickets (i.e. high up in the stands and far from the action) hence I would like to seek some advice on what would be a suitable lens.

I am only a beginner, using a Canon 1000D.

Thank you very much in advance.

Default Re: What is a suitable beginner telephoto lens for sports photography?

400mm f/5.6, 70-200mm f/4 or f/2.8 IS
    I refuse to List my camer@ equipment here.

Depending on ur budget. Usually u won't get pretty good shots so high up in the stands unless u can afford the big guns like 400-500 mm. Also depending on lighting. If broad daylight light u still can get decent shots with zoom coupled with teleconverters. If it's night with stadium lights then u need at least a f2.8- 4 lens cos 1000D prob can give u decent pics only prob up to ISO 800. You may consider a Tamron 18-270mm cos it gives pretty decent pic quality and will give you F4 up to 200mm. Another one to consider is the new Sigma 70-300mm OS but i dunno if it will give you F4 at 200mm. If your budget is lower...you may consider canon's 55-250 IS or Sigma's 70-300mm (non OS).

The main concern really is the distance and lighting conditions cos if you are up in the stands i dun think you can get a good enough shot. Those pics you see in newspapers are mostly taken along the sidelines...
    Last edited by dev2k8; 22nd November 2009 at 08:07 PM.

I would say a 55-250 should be good since you are travelling and won't really want to lug a 70-200 around since you're mainly there for exchange. 70-300 would of course be a much better option. =D