Thread: Lens recommendation for trip to North India.

Default Lens recommendation for trip to North India.

heyyyy!

i'm going on a trip to Sikkim in North India soon. Planning to take landscape (mountains!), portrait and macro photos. was thinking of getting a wide angle lens. any other lens recommendations?

canon 400D user here!

thanks in advance! (:

Default Re: Lens recommendation for trip to North India.

hmm.. im a newbie myself but as far as i know, i think u'll need more than one lens? a wide angle wont be suitable for portraits and macro, i believe..

i'll be following this thread, coz i see myself doing a similar kind of trip some time soon
    Check out my blog: pixelogist.me

yesyes, i need to have a few lens recommendations. i have a 50mm f1.8 II for portraits so i need a macro and a wide angle. i heard 10-22 is a good wide angle lens though, but i'm keeping my options open. (:

not thinking about getting a all in one like 18-200mm? might be a bit heavy/impractical to bring three lenses.

i just came back from bangladesh, i only dared to bring one lens :S i'm not that sure if the crime rate is that bad, but i very kiasu. heh.

Shouldn't it be the same kind of lens that also works in South India, Bali or Australia?
    What is your current lens and why do you think you need a special lens for a certain country or this trip? In which way do you feel limited with your current lens?
    EOS

ur kit len will do the job fine if u dun wan to spend extra
    Stirring up emotions with pics - cyliew

Maybe you don't need 10mm at all. Consider the 17-55 f2.8 IS or tamron 17-50 f2.8 VC

Bring all the lenses you have (and like to have).

hi guys! thanks for the quick replies!

my friend and I are gonna take photos of the landscape there as well as the people. we're hoping to turn it into a mini-exhibition-in-school kinda thing so we need better lenses than a kit lens. i'll read up on the lenses you've suggested and will decide later on.

thanks once again! (: