Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Thread: Sony 707 diff btw FINE and STANDARD?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    somewhere near...
    Posts
    2,114

    Default Sony 707 diff btw FINE and STANDARD?

    What is the real diff btw FINE and STANDARD beside the file size?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default

    amount of jpeg compression used. the higher the compression, the more artefacts it introduce.
    Check out my wildlife pics at www.instagram.com/conrad_nature

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    somewhere near...
    Posts
    2,114

    Default

    [QUOTE]Originally posted by mpenza
    amount of jpeg compression used. the higher the compression, the more artefacts it introduce.

    What do you guys use .....??
    or recommand?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    [QUOTE]Originally posted by siron
    Originally posted by mpenza
    amount of jpeg compression used. the higher the compression, the more artefacts it introduce.

    What do you guys use .....??
    or recommand?
    u have 128MB MS??

    if u have then use fine lor..

    if memory not enough...then lower the resolution....
    We are HDD of PC & FT are MB add to storage;
    so PC never hangs with enormous storage capacity - LKY

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    somewhere near...
    Posts
    2,114

    Default

    Originally posted by kamwai


    u have 128MB MS??

    if u have then use fine lor..

    if memory not enough...then lower the resolution....
    Yah I using 128...but fine can only take 200++ standard up to 375 or so... can you actually see the diff btw them?

  6. #6

    Default

    i tink when blown up big enough can see the diff..
    anyway 200 shots is enough liao rite

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    somewhere near...
    Posts
    2,114

    Default

    Originally posted by MaGixShOe
    i tink when blown up big enough can see the diff..
    anyway 200 shots is enough liao rite

    200 not enuff lah...if enough no need to worry liao

  8. #8

    Default

    Originally posted by siron



    200 not enuff lah...if enough no need to worry liao
    wah
    i now 20 only leh
    hee
    super not enough ah

    still no money to get my SM

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    somewhere near...
    Posts
    2,114

    Default

    Originally posted by MaGixShOe
    wah
    i now 20 only leh
    hee
    super not enough ah

    still no money to get my SM

    U using a 16MS or??

  10. #10

    Default

    Originally posted by siron



    U using a 16MS or??
    yah lor

  11. #11

    Default

    Originally posted by MaGixShOe
    yah lor
    oh my god...get a 128mb one lor..i bought a IO Data one at $130

  12. #12

    Default

    Originally posted by AMDer


    oh my god...get a 128mb one lor..i bought a IO Data one at $130
    ???
    i though its $90 only?
    and i seen someone posted he got it for $80......

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    Originally posted by siron

    Yah I using 128...but fine can only take 200++ standard up to 375 or so... can you actually see the diff btw them?
    I have a 128MB MS last time and
    i usually use 2560 x 1920 at fine, only can store <60 shots
    if u use lower resolution, such as 2048 x 1536 at fine, then it will be abt 100 shots

    if u want to store 200+ pic, u will need to use 1280 x 960@fine, but then u will be only using 1.5 out of 5 megapixel that the CCD capable of!!!

    it will be a waste of the 5MP in F707 if u didn't make use of it.......like that as well get F505V which is 2.6MP rite?

    for more detail, take a look at http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/sonydscf707/page11.asp

    and scroll down to File Flush / Display Timing
    Last edited by Wai; 30th April 2002 at 12:33 AM.

  14. #14

    Default

    Originally posted by MaGixShOe
    ???
    i though its $90 only?
    and i seen someone posted he got it for $80......
    oh no...i kena 'tok' liao...****...

  15. #15

    Default

    Originally posted by AMDer


    oh no...i kena 'tok' liao...****...
    actually oso depend on wat brand lah
    but i dun care the brand lah
    as long can use can liao

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    Originally posted by MaGixShOe
    ???
    i though its $90 only?
    and i seen someone posted he got it for $80......
    for 64MB may be...but for 128MB...impossible...

    the cheapest u can find in SimLim should be $140-$130
    We are HDD of PC & FT are MB add to storage;
    so PC never hangs with enormous storage capacity - LKY

  17. #17

    Default

    Originally posted by kamwai


    for 64MB may be...but for 128MB...impossible...

    the cheapest u can find in SimLim should be $140-$130
    comfirm its 128 mb SM
    i just went down AP yesterday
    $90 for 128mb'

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    somewhere near...
    Posts
    2,114

    Default

    Originally posted by MaGixShOe
    comfirm its 128 mb SM
    i just went down AP yesterday
    $90 for 128mb'
    U mean what brand one??

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    Originally posted by MaGixShOe
    comfirm its 128 mb SM
    i just went down AP yesterday
    $90 for 128mb'
    SM = Smart Media..not memory stick...no wonder so cheap...
    We are HDD of PC & FT are MB add to storage;
    so PC never hangs with enormous storage capacity - LKY

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    somewhere near...
    Posts
    2,114

    Default

    Originally posted by kamwai


    SM = Smart Media..not memory stick...no wonder so cheap...
    aiyah!! hahah

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •