Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Macro Extension Tube question

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    East Side
    Posts
    65

    Default Macro Extension Tube question

    I just got a macro extension tube from tago tech. use it with 50mm 1.8 on canon 400d. from the the tips it said :

    Tips for Canon
    As EF lens doesn't have a manual aperture ring, you can only shoot with aperture wide open. There's workaround thou:
    1) Mount the EF Lens to the camera
    2) Set the required aperture
    3) Press and hold DOF preview button, at the same time remove the lens. Now the lens has close down its aperture.
    4) Mount the lens to the extension tube, and to the camera.
    5) Start shooting with the "closed" aperture.


    i can't seem to close down the aperture still. anybody got experiance using this tube before? i can only shoot with aperture wide open. i would love if i can control the f stop using this tube. cheap way getting cheap macro shot.

  2. #2

    Default Re: Macro Extension Tube question

    are u holding down the dof button while taking the lens out? i suggest stopping down to f/11 or more before doing so.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    East Side
    Posts
    65

    Default Re: Macro Extension Tube question

    Yup i did hold down d button but i go for f8 and when i remove the lense while camera still on and button still press down the f stop still change back to wide open f00. I just tried f 11 hold down on the dof button and remove the lense and still i goes back to f00.

  4. #4

    Default Re: Macro Extension Tube question

    Quote Originally Posted by moski77 View Post
    Yup i did hold down d button but i go for f8 and when i remove the lense while camera still on and button still press down the f stop still change back to wide open f00. I just tried f 11 hold down on the dof button and remove the lense and still i goes back to f00.
    haha. trial and error then. by the way, it will say f00 on your camera. but the lens will be f8. u have to look inside the lens. u will see the aperture closing up. then u succeeded already. the camera will not say f8 when u take it out. it will read f00.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    East Side
    Posts
    65

    Default Re: Macro Extension Tube question

    Thanks ... ur right i saw d dof view never change ... just that mayb doin this macro thing d dof really very narrow ... very critical ... Thanks again hope i get the hang of this cheap macro tube hehehe

  6. #6

    Default Re: Macro Extension Tube question

    Quote Originally Posted by moski77 View Post
    Thanks ... ur right i saw d dof view never change ... just that mayb doin this macro thing d dof really very narrow ... very critical ... Thanks again hope i get the hang of this cheap macro tube hehehe
    no problem. hope u have fun with your macro tube.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    East Side
    Posts
    65

    Default Re: Macro Extension Tube question

    having super fun time at work shooting everybody miniature toy hahaha ... thanks

  8. #8

    Default Re: Macro Extension Tube question

    hmm just asking.. sorry if im trolling this thread..

    does it need to have lots of light to capture pics?

    cos at night... everything is pitch black and have to play with long shutter..

  9. #9
    Senior Member giantcanopy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    SG
    Posts
    6,232

    Default Re: Macro Extension Tube question

    Quote Originally Posted by azmorello View Post
    hmm just asking.. sorry if im trolling this thread..

    does it need to have lots of light to capture pics?

    cos at night... everything is pitch black and have to play with long shutter..
    if u can afford to have ur subject stay so stationary for the duration of the long exposure, else yes light would be lovely

    ryan

  10. #10
    Senior Member Elite77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Sembawang
    Posts
    3,211

    Default Re: Macro Extension Tube question

    Quote Originally Posted by azmorello View Post
    hmm just asking.. sorry if im trolling this thread..

    does it need to have lots of light to capture pics?

    cos at night... everything is pitch black and have to play with long shutter..
    U need to have a flash at night to assist u. Even in the day ,macro guys shoot with flash. Cos ur DOF is very thin. Slightest movement will affect ur picture

  11. #11
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,388

    Default Re: Macro Extension Tube question

    Quote Originally Posted by azmorello View Post
    does it need to have lots of light to capture pics?
    cos at night... everything is pitch black and have to play with long shutter..
    Not 'lots of light' but just the right amount - which depends on ambient light, shutter speed, aperture and ISO. Your meter will tell you whether all settings are sufficient for a correct exposure under the given conditions. Read-up about exposure. There are guides in the newbies section, sticky threads on top.
    Last edited by Octarine; 6th February 2010 at 12:00 PM.
    EOS

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •