Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Run Windows programs on Mac?

Default Run Windows programs on Mac?

I'm a Mac newbie so need some help here on Win-Mac issue...

I have bought several softwares, eg video, photo slideshows, etc in the past that can run only on Windows. If I switch to an iMac, is it still possible for me to run them if I boot iMac up using say Win XP? If so, are there any disadvantages such as slowing down of comp?

I don't use the programs too often but yet need them. It doesn't make sense financially for me to re-purchase all the software in the Mac version.

Thanks for any advice.

Default Re: Run Windows programs on Mac?

You can run Windows XP/Vista via BootCamp. They will run at native speed and you won't experience any performance issue. Alternatively you can run Windows in a virtual machine using virtualisation software like Parallels, VMWare Fusion or VirtualBox. They will definitely be some performance hit but is pretty usable.

If you are using Mac OS 10.5 and above, Bootcamp is already in the system, all you need is to install Windows on your iMac.

Pros to using Bootcamp is that it's free. However, you need to select at boot up whether you want it in Mac OS or Windows. If you don't need to switch from Mac to Windows frequently, this option is fine.

You can also use the other softwares like Parallels or VMWare Fusion to enable you to switch between the OS relatively quickly, however the downside is that these softwares come at a cost.

thanks....

but I'm curious. If it can be done that way, why would some people pay a few hundred $ more and get Win Office for Mac? Is it bcos they find it inconvenient to boot back and forth between Win and Mac OS?

And if I boot from Win OS, does it mean I have to install some form of anti-virus as Windows is more susceptible to virus?