Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: My flash compensation not working?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Seletar Estate, Singapore
    Posts
    478

    Default My flash compensation not working?

    I tried some test shots with TTL build-in flash and find the flash compensation not showing any effect on the pics.

    The settings -

    Subject - A chair, a table and some posters on the wall in a room.
    Camera - Nikon D40
    In A mode, with aperture set to F8, shutter speed is 1/4 sec under ambient light.

    When the built-in flash is activated, camera set the shutter speed to 1/60 sec. This is the default setting by the camera when TTL built-in flash is used.

    I took 3 pics, at 0, -1 and -3 flash compensation at 1/60 sec and F8.

    The 3 pics are similar in brightness. The histograms are also not showing much difference. I expected darker pic at -1 and darkest at -3.

    I tried M mode. With similiar settings, I shot another 3 pics. Same results.

    The flash compensation didn't seem to show any effect whether at 0, -1 or -3 in both A and M modes.

    Next, I tried manual flash instead of TTL and repeated the test.

    Same results.

    I am at a loss. What is the problem? Is my camera flash compensation not working or I have a wrong understanding of flash compensation application?

  2. #2
    Senior Member madmartian's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Outer Space
    Posts
    20,227

    Default Re: My flash compensation not working?

    I'll try to help you.

    I assume you are using the onboard flash. It should work because I just tried it. I follow your setting and I got 3 different exposures.

    Go to the flash compensation part and select -1, then press ok. I think you did not press ok that's why it did not work.

    On your camera lcd, the -1 will be displayed at the flash compensation window.

    Hope this helps.

  3. #3
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: My flash compensation not working?

    you try to open your lens aperture to f4
    or cut the distance from camera to subject in half,
    or set your ISO to 800 or higher

    do the same test and let us know the results.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Seletar Estate, Singapore
    Posts
    478

    Default Re: My flash compensation not working?

    Quote Originally Posted by catchlights View Post
    you try to open your lens aperture to f4
    or cut the distance from camera to subject in half,
    or set your ISO to 800 or higher

    do the same test and let us know the results.
    OK it works. Either at f4 keeping the same distance or at f8 at closer distance, the results were obvious. haha. Happy. No problem with my camera.

    Thanks a lot.

    So I am the problem.

    Previous pics were shot at f8 at 20 fts from subject. So this is the problem.

    Can you explain why at far distance or smaller f number, the flash compensation fails to make a difference?
    Last edited by LBL2009; 27th October 2009 at 04:40 PM.

  5. #5

    Default Re: My flash compensation not working?

    your pop up flash doesnt have that much juice to go that kind of fstop and distance.

  6. #6
    Senior Member madmartian's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Outer Space
    Posts
    20,227

    Default Re: My flash compensation not working?

    Makes no difference. I tried again at your original settings and stand 20ft and 30ft away shooting the same subject, I still get 3 different exposures.

    So it got nothing to do with the distance or aperture.

    It's the flash compensating factor that's doing the job, it did not fail.

  7. #7
    Senior Member madmartian's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Outer Space
    Posts
    20,227

    Default Re: My flash compensation not working?

    That's right also. It does not have enough juice to hit that distance.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Seletar Estate, Singapore
    Posts
    478

    Default Re: My flash compensation not working?

    Quote Originally Posted by madmartian View Post
    Makes no difference. I tried again at your original settings and stand 20ft and 30ft away shooting the same subject, I still get 3 different exposures.

    So it got nothing to do with the distance or aperture.

    It's the flash compensating factor that's doing the job, it did not fail.
    To put things in perspective, it is working but the results were not noticeable at my original settings and I was looking at the camera LCD. At f4 or closer distance, the results are obvious. Good learning for me.

    Wonder whether ambient light plays a part too.

    By the way, what camera are you using?
    Last edited by LBL2009; 27th October 2009 at 04:43 PM.

  9. #9
    Senior Member madmartian's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Outer Space
    Posts
    20,227

    Default Re: My flash compensation not working?

    I'm using D60. Lets say at your given settings and your subject is 10ft away, with the different flash compensation settings, you should get 3 different exposure.

    Of course if you move away like 20 or 30 ft away, the onboard flash will not hit your subject, unless you use a much higher iso without adjusting the aperture, and still, you'll get 3 diff exposures.

    At 1/60s and f8, ambient light is not significant at long distance. You'll still get real under exposed shot.

    I'm basing the situation at 10ft. Any further, you got to do adjustments on your camera settings but the flash compensation part still stays.

  10. #10
    Deregistered shaoken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Clementi/West Coast
    Posts
    2,115

    Default Re: My flash compensation not working?

    From what I know, fill-in flash works for short distance and not so much for long distance of your camera and the subject..

  11. #11
    Senior Member madmartian's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Outer Space
    Posts
    20,227

    Default Re: My flash compensation not working?

    Yup, thats right, guide no is like 12 or 15. But not if you up the ISO and shoot wide open. (I mean the aperture, not your legs, haha )

    Its good to own a strobe
    Take the shot!

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    the blue planet
    Posts
    610

    Default Re: My flash compensation not working?

    Quote Originally Posted by madmartian View Post
    ...

    So it got nothing to do with the distance or aperture.

    It's the flash compensating factor that's doing the job...
    really?
    if the subject gets twice the distance from light source (flash in this case), you'll need 4 times more flash power..or you increase (widen) the aperture by 2 stops..
    TS' original exposure setting might have exceeded the cam's flash power so the results of + or - flash compensations were not obvious..
    that's why catchlights let the TS to cut the distance, as well as increase the aperture (& ISO)..

  13. #13
    Senior Member madmartian's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Outer Space
    Posts
    20,227

    Default Re: My flash compensation not working?

    what catchlight is saying is correct. When shooting at a given distance, say 10 ft, you'll get the normal 3 exposures that TS wanted. When i said it has got nothing to do with the distance and aperture, i meant if you move back 20ft, you'll still get 3 different exposure but real bad ones. But if you move back, then you have to change the ISO or aperture accordingly, and change the flash compensation, you'll still get 3 different exposures.
    Take the shot!

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    the blue planet
    Posts
    610

    Default Re: My flash compensation not working?

    Quote Originally Posted by madmartian View Post
    what catchlight is saying is correct. When shooting at a given distance, say 10 ft, you'll get the normal 3 exposures that TS wanted. When i said it has got nothing to do with the distance and aperture, i meant if you move back 20ft, you'll still get 3 different exposure but real bad ones. But if you move back, then you have to change the ISO or aperture accordingly, and change the flash compensation, you'll still get 3 different exposures.
    oh..sorry for my confusion of your previous statement..
    i thought you were saying different to what i understood..
    my bad..

  15. #15
    Senior Member madmartian's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Outer Space
    Posts
    20,227

    Default Re: My flash compensation not working?

    Its ok, its only tues.........................................
    Take the shot!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •