Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: Digicabi DB-036 Users Help Needed.

  1. #1

    Default Digicabi DB-036 Users Help Needed.

    Hi..i know this might have surfaced many times..i actually did a search on the forums and realised that there is no concrete answer.

    I just got my cabinet just now and when i turned it on..its by default set at 70 RH and 30 degrees. However no matter how i turned the knob, at 9, 11 and 1 o'clock as suggested by the searched forums, it's still hovering at 70-72 RH after 30 mins..is there something wrong? Or i must wait longer? If have to wait..how to know where to turn the knob to?

    I researched n saw a cser saying that her digicabi always stays at 70 Rh and got it replaced. The manual also didnt say must set to what o'clock and wait for how long. But i understand from the forum that it doesnt matter which position the knob is, just get the RH between 45-55. But my RH doesnt change. Can anyone help?

    Thanks.
    5DMk2

  2. #2

    Default Re: Digicabi DB-036 Users Help Needed.

    Hi Gerald,
    I just got the Digicabi DB-036 yesterday. I had the knob turned clockwise, till almost to the end.
    Now the reading is 45%RH 29 Degrees and has been constant for 1 day. It only took 1hour from 55% to 45%RH.
    I suggest you have it replaced.
    Panasonic Lumix FZ-8 | 一言を持って、その賢愚を知る............

  3. #3

    Default Re: Digicabi DB-036 Users Help Needed.

    just turn to around 8 oclock and dump everything inside
    and go to sleep

    the knob is very sensitive, adjust bit by bit in mm
    when u turn clockwise - higher power , lower RH
    and vice versa

  4. #4

    Default Re: Digicabi DB-036 Users Help Needed.

    Quote Originally Posted by andante View Post
    Hi Gerald,
    I just got the Digicabi DB-036 yesterday. I had the knob turned clockwise, till almost to the end.
    Now the reading is 45%RH 29 Degrees and has been constant for 1 day. It only took 1hour from 55% to 45%RH.
    I suggest you have it replaced.
    Wtf..really har? u mean when you got it and turned it on, the reading is already 45 RH?
    5DMk2

  5. #5

    Default Re: Digicabi DB-036 Users Help Needed.

    Quote Originally Posted by soeypixels View Post
    just turn to around 8 oclock and dump everything inside
    and go to sleep

    the knob is very sensitive, adjust bit by bit in mm
    when u turn clockwise - higher power , lower RH
    and vice versa
    ok..i will turn it to 8oclock and see if by tmr morning it will change..if not then i will get it changed.
    5DMk2

  6. #6

    Default Re: Digicabi DB-036 Users Help Needed.

    the experience with mine is ..
    new: 8oclock, 45RH

    when it reach 4yrs .. i realised i kept turning the knob closewise
    and then it reached 12oclock and it *kaput* spoilt

    so i got mine unit replace and i suppose it can last for another 4yrs

  7. #7

    Default Re: Digicabi DB-036 Users Help Needed.

    i turned it to 8 oclock 15mins ago and now RH is 75!!
    5DMk2

  8. #8

    Default Re: Digicabi DB-036 Users Help Needed.

    Hi Gerald ,

    I got mine about 2 weeks ago. When turned on, there is no red or green light. Thus thought it's warming up. However, found out the next day that the RH still stayed at 72% !! .

    Called up the local distributor and got it changed one for one. According to the distributor, the fuse inside the dehumifier is spolit! and there is nothing much they can do except to change for a new one.

    Going back to your question, is there any red (power indicator) or green (humidity level) lights after you plugged in? If there is none, then probably the dehumifier fuse is spolit/malfunctioned.

    Hope that helps.

  9. #9

    Default Re: Digicabi DB-036 Users Help Needed.

    Quote Originally Posted by Cerinium1974 View Post
    Hi Gerald ,

    I got mine about 2 weeks ago. When turned on, there is no red or green light. Thus thought it's warming up. However, found out the next day that the RH still stayed at 72% !! .

    Called up the local distributor and got it changed one for one. According to the distributor, the fuse inside the dehumifier is spolit! and there is nothing much they can do except to change for a new one.

    Going back to your question, is there any red (power indicator) or green (humidity level) lights after you plugged in? If there is none, then probably the dehumifier fuse is spolit/malfunctioned.

    Hope that helps.
    yes both lights were lit when i plug in. I turned it to extreme clockwise abt 10 mins ago and it dropped from 75 to 71 now..hopefully it drops further. But normally after you open the door, do you need to re-adjust the knob? Or just let it run slowly back to 45-55 Rh on itself?
    5DMk2

  10. #10

    Default Re: Digicabi DB-036 Users Help Needed.

    It's now 66%RH now..its taking abt 5mins to drop 2%...haiz not sure if its normal....?
    5DMk2

  11. #11
    Senior Member CS TAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    3,663

    Default Re: Digicabi DB-036 Users Help Needed.

    This is no air conditioner. You can't expect it to drop immediately.

    If you put your hand to the back and can feel the unit is warm/hot, then it is working. Depending on your room RH, it might take 1-2 days to stabilize. Have you put anything inside already? If so, the moisture from the items will also delay the RH from moving lower.

    My 300L one took a week for it to stabilize and it was empty. So as long the RH is dropping and the light is still on. Give it some time...
    Canon 5D Mark II | 24-105L | 35L | 85L II | 135L | Samyang 14mm 2.8

  12. #12
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,393

    Default Re: Digicabi DB-036 Users Help Needed.

    Please spend some time reading this thread about dry cabinets. Hope that makes it clearer. Also, the dry cabinet is for long term storage; which means there is no need for quick drying a camera within 10 minutes or so. Opening the door will bring in humid air, so be it. Usually within 1..2h the RH is back to target rate. Perfectly fine and sufficient.
    Took me 2..3 days to fine tune my 80l cabinet. Be patient and stop being worried about 70% for a night or so.
    EOS

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    103

    Default Re: Digicabi DB-036 Users Help Needed.

    Hi,

    I got a digicabi only for 2week. The first day they deliver a spoilt one I call them and they get it change the next day.The inital RH should be around 70.The digicabi should be in the blue zone around 1oclock for RH 45. it take about 3hour to drop to 50. I suggest u call them to send someone to check. I think it usually the Digitalmeter need to change.

  14. #14

    Default Re: Digicabi DB-036 Users Help Needed.

    Just give it a couple of days yeah. If it still doesn't work out, then maybe it's a good idea to have it replaced. Else, I won't be worried if I were you.

  15. #15

    Default Re: Digicabi DB-036 Users Help Needed.

    Thx for all yr replies...i turned it to 5 oclock until 11pm last night and it dropped to 53%RH. Then i tuned it to 1 oclock overnight to stabilise the reading. This morning i checked and it's in the 45-46 range. Guess it ok liao...will only put my stuff in tonight if the reading stabilises. Hope this "finding" will help those who are using the digicabi for the first time.

    By the way may i check did the store that you purchased the digicabi from chopped on your warranty card that needs to be sent out? I bought from paris silk and they didnt chop leh. Shd i get them to chop before sending out the warranty card?
    5DMk2

  16. #16

    Default Re: Digicabi DB-036 Users Help Needed.

    Quote Originally Posted by Gerald Lam CK View Post
    Thx for all yr replies...i turned it to 5 oclock until 11pm last night and it dropped to 53%RH. Then i tuned it to 1 oclock overnight to stabilise the reading. This morning i checked and it's in the 45-46 range. Guess it ok liao...will only put my stuff in tonight if the reading stabilises. Hope this "finding" will help those who are using the digicabi for the first time.

    By the way may i check did the store that you purchased the digicabi from chopped on your warranty card that needs to be sent out? I bought from paris silk and they didnt chop leh. Shd i get them to chop before sending out the warranty card?
    what's the reason for waiting for the RH to stabilise b4 putting in ur equipment? what u should be doing is put in ur equipment n let the cabinet stabalise to the desired RH with the equipment inside...

  17. #17

    Default Re: Digicabi DB-036 Users Help Needed.

    Gerald, glad your cabi is working fine I will also wait for it to stablise before putting my gears in (don't want it to 'stablise' at a non desired RH don't we?). But after opening and placing your gears , do note your RH will fluctuate a bit before it drops back to your desired level again.
    Last edited by xhui; 27th October 2009 at 12:02 PM.
    Licence to shoot.

  18. #18

    Default Re: Digicabi DB-036 Users Help Needed.

    Quote Originally Posted by tunge View Post
    what's the reason for waiting for the RH to stabilise b4 putting in ur equipment? what u should be doing is put in ur equipment n let the cabinet stabalise to the desired RH with the equipment inside...
    Well coz im not ard at home to monitor the fluctuations..i dont want to take the risk and bring them in and later go back home to find that the RH is again at 70. I will put them in tonight when i get home.

    Quote Originally Posted by xhui View Post
    Gerald, glad your cabi is working fine I will also wait for it to stablise before putting my gears in (don't want it to 'stablise' at a non desired RH don't we?). But after opening and placing your gears , do note your RH will fluctuate a bit before it drops back to your desired level again.
    Hey xhui..thx for yr smses and noted the fluctuations. THX.
    5DMk2

  19. #19

    Default Re: Digicabi DB-036 Users Help Needed.

    Quote Originally Posted by Gerald Lam CK View Post
    Well coz im not ard at home to monitor the fluctuations..i dont want to take the risk and bring them in and later go back home to find that the RH is again at 70. I will put them in tonight when i get home.



    Hey xhui..thx for yr smses and noted the fluctuations. THX.
    no problem!
    Licence to shoot.

  20. #20
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,393

    Default Re: Digicabi DB-036 Users Help Needed.

    Quote Originally Posted by Gerald Lam CK View Post
    Well coz im not ard at home to monitor the fluctuations..i dont want to take the risk and bring them in and later go back home to find that the RH is again at 70. I will put them in tonight when i get home.
    There's no harm if you leave your cam one day at 70% (worst case if cabinet doesn't work) or at 30% (working well but wrong adjustments). Your camera is not made of sugar cotton and can stand a lot more than one day in high humidity (which is pretty much the same as using outside, isn't it?).
    EOS

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •