Thread: Picking a digital camera?

Question Picking a digital camera?

Hi,

I'm pretty new to the whole digital camera technology. Right now I'm doing some research on a new digital camera in the near future.

Basically I'm looking something no less than 3MP. Probably end up viewing most pics on computers but I may print out the nice pics. My impression is that more MP the sharper the image? A friend of mine has a 2MP camera and you can see the lack of quality in his pics esp with scenery shots.

I'm a bit interested in photography, so's my bro, so looking for a digital camera that can do a little bit of advanced stuff.

ie
    low light environment
    long/double exposure

Here are three that look alright from Futureshop.... any thoughts on them?

Olympus D-565 4.0MP Digital Zoom Camera

Olympus Stylus 400 4MP Digital Camera

Sony DSC-P92 5MP Digital Camera

Any idea why the S400 is more expensive than D565? I looked at the specs and I don't see much difference between the two.

Deregistered

More MP doesn't equalise to sharper image.

Construction of the lens and the sensor plays a part as well.

Quote Originally Posted by Tawcan
    Hi,

I'm pretty new to the whole digital camera technology. Right now I'm doing some research on a new digital camera in the near future.

Basically I'm looking something no less than 3MP. Probably end up viewing most pics on computers but I may print out the nice pics. My impression is that more MP the sharper the image? A friend of mine has a 2MP camera and you can see the lack of quality in his pics esp with scenery shots.

I'm a bit interested in photography, so's my bro, so looking for a digital camera that can do a little bit of advanced stuff.

ie
    low light environment
    long/double exposure

Here are three that look alright from Futureshop.... any thoughts on them?

Olympus D-565 4.0MP Digital Zoom Camera

Olympus Stylus 400 4MP Digital Camera

Sony DSC-P92 5MP Digital Camera