Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How to turn the background into BW while the subject is in color?

Default How to turn the background into BW while the subject is in color?

I would like to try that too, using photoshop 7.0. Do i have to create layers or is there any other way?

start with a colour image, then convert it to black and white in whatever way you want... there are many ways...

then paint back the colour portions with the history brush tool.

Quote Originally Posted by showtime
    start with a colour image, then convert it to black and white in whatever way you want... there are many ways...

then paint back the colour portions with the history brush tool.

Hm...tell me step by step, if you don't mind as i am a noob in photoshop...

1. open the picture. it should be in color
    2. press shift-crl-U. this is to desaturate the picture. makeing it b&w
    3. select the history brush tool. you gotta find it on the tool palatte.
    4. on the history palatte, check (select) the history step which says "open". this will enable you to paint this history onto the current black and white picture

5. paint on the subjects you want to be color. you will be painting the selected history (which is a color picture) on the the current.... of course if you paint the whole picture, the whole picture will be color just like the original.

there are better ways to make a picture b and w but its too long to describe there...just stick with this for now... the concept is the same with wat ever method you do the bw conversion...

4. on the history palatte, check (select) the history step which says "open". this will enable you to paint this history onto the current black and white picture

5. paint on the subjects you want to be color. you will be painting the selected history (which is a color picture) on the the current.... of course if you paint the whole picture, the whole picture will be color just like the original.