Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Dynamic Range of a camera

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Seletar Estate, Singapore
    Posts
    478

    Default Dynamic Range of a camera

    Can I improve the dynamic range of a camera by using different lenses?

    I find not many people talk about dynamic range when they are comparing camera specifications.

  2. #2
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Dynamic Range of a camera

    lenses will not help in dynamic range,
    and large dynamic range is not everything.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  3. #3

    Default Re: Dynamic Range of a camera

    Quote Originally Posted by LBL2009 View Post
    Can I improve the dynamic range of a camera by using different lenses?

    I find not many people talk about dynamic range when they are comparing camera specifications.
    No you can't

    For many, dynamic range is not important thing to consider for selecting cam

  4. #4

    Default Re: Dynamic Range of a camera

    Quote Originally Posted by LBL2009 View Post
    Can I improve the dynamic range of a camera by using different lenses?

    I find not many people talk about dynamic range when they are comparing camera specifications.
    No. It falls onto the body (sensor/filter array).
    Alpha

  5. #5
    Deregistered shaoken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Clementi/West Coast
    Posts
    2,115

    Default Re: Dynamic Range of a camera

    I don't think that lenses can increase the dynamic range.
    It depends on the body itself.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Dynamic Range of a camera

    Quote Originally Posted by chalib View Post
    No you can't

    For many, dynamic range is not important thing to consider for selecting cam
    not sure on this but S5Pro users might say differently.
    You wont see me much less remember me but i am the guy who makes you look good.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    big tree town
    Posts
    2,389

    Default Re: Dynamic Range of a camera

    Quote Originally Posted by LBL2009 View Post
    Can I improve the dynamic range of a camera by using different lenses?

    I find not many people talk about dynamic range when they are comparing camera specifications.
    i don't think it can. if u happen to find such a lens let us know too.

    if u are talking about dSLRs, most of these cameras out there has enough DR for most applications. most people do not need the DR from S5 Pro, unless you have consistent problems with highlights; or u just simply enjoy blasting the highlights and recovering them later, convincing urself you got a damn powerful sensor. I was a S5 and S3 user myself.

    if they do not talk about it, most likely it is not important to them.
    cameras are not made of tofu

  8. #8

    Default Re: Dynamic Range of a camera

    Lense will not improve DR but retains clarify with good optics.

    Photographers will avoid scene with extreme dynamic range bec it is hard to balance the bright and dark end. Thus DR is often a user's selection. Early versions of Bayer sensor did not have the ability to handle extreme DR until Foveon comes along (still requires post processing too close up the gap)

    S5Pro and Sigma SD dSLR are those early versions with DR mgmt. But current technology is catching up.

    Quote Originally Posted by LBL2009 View Post
    Can I improve the dynamic range of a camera by using different lenses?

    I find not many people talk about dynamic range when they are comparing camera specifications.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •