Page 14 of 16 FirstFirst ... 491213141516 LastLast
Results 261 to 280 of 313

Thread: Windows 7

  1. #261
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,166

    Default Re: Windows 7

    Quote Originally Posted by nightwolf75 View Post
    can i check with the early adopters? anyone using OEM versions? i was told at cybermind today that OEM versions only allow me to use it on 1 PC. if next time i sell the old PC, i cannot install the OEM version on the new PC.

    izit true? i thot dats not how OEM works, rite?
    My Vista was OEM and I have changed motherboard 2x. The first time I cannot activate my windows because it cannot recognize the hardware and I called MS office in SG. The helpful guy took about 2 minutes to deactivate my old settings in their record and asked me to activate my vista again. Done. And since it was after midnight, I was quite impressed.

    Second time I changed motherboard, somehow I just activate as is with no hassle.


    About 2 weeks ago I upgraded to W7 (funan $77), I decided to change my boot harddisk to something bigger so I re-installed vista first. Activate was also a snap. After that, I realize I have to install all the patches before I can install W7.. but that aside, it was smooth.


    One thing I love about W7 is that SAFELY REMOVE HARDWARE now has volume name (instead of just drive letters in vista and xp). It is very useful for me since I have about 5 external harddisk, card reader and thumbdrive. Finally someone thought about that after 2 version upgrades.

  2. #262
    Senior Member phoakm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    7,387

    Default Re: Windows 7

    Guys, need to check if you have encounter this senerio. When you plug in a new device, like portable DVD burner. Win 7 is able to find and install the drivers by itself to make the device work, without the installation disk?
    I AM BORNFIRE!
    My Flickr/TFCD Service

  3. #263

    Default Re: Windows 7

    yes it does. W7 was able to get all the drivers without any intervention from the start.

  4. #264

    Default Re: Windows 7

    Quote Originally Posted by weekh View Post
    My Windows 7 comes with 2 discs, 1 for 32 bit and the other 64 bit.
    My previous Vista is 32 bit so the instruction recommends installing using the 32 bit disc.
    So now, do I insert the 64 bit to install all over again, but from the 32 bit Windows 7?
    32bit OS will not be able to load 64bit software natively.

    Hence you'll have to perform a clean install, select boot up from disc at system startup.
    P e r s p e c t i v e

  5. #265

    Default Re: Windows 7

    Quote Originally Posted by phoakm View Post
    Guys, need to check if you have encounter this senerio. When you plug in a new device, like portable DVD burner. Win 7 is able to find and install the drivers by itself to make the device work, without the installation disk?
    Quote Originally Posted by m1330 View Post
    yes it does. W7 was able to get all the drivers without any intervention from the start.
    Subjected to the availability of the driver for the particular device in Windows 7. Windows 7 supports the feature of loading driver from Windows Update though.

    Alternatively, one can always try to use Vista driver with Windows 7.
    P e r s p e c t i v e

  6. #266
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,624

    Default Re: Windows 7

    Quote Originally Posted by phoakm View Post
    Guys, need to check if you have encounter this senerio. When you plug in a new device, like portable DVD burner. Win 7 is able to find and install the drivers by itself to make the device work, without the installation disk?
    Vista also has some of the drivers available, hidden for later but a lot of the time it still complains.

  7. #267

    Default Re: Windows 7

    I'm running on 32 bit is the system is super low most of the time. Have to wait as long as 5 mins from turning on power to getting a programme started.

    I want to install 64 bit. In order not to screw up my existing data, I bought a brand new harddisk to install everything afresh.

    But when I key in the product key, it keep telling me that I've entered invalid number.

    My Windows 7 is an upgrade version. Is this what's causing the problem? Do I really need to have a version of Vista before I can start installing?

  8. #268
    Member adorable's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bury Road
    Posts
    229

    Default Re: Windows 7

    Please read this 2 problems of Windows 7

    Security vulnerability:
    http://www.informationweek.com/news/...leID=221601573

    Windows 7 battery power on netbook:
    http://gizmodo.com/5402670/windows-7...han-windows-xp

  9. #269

    Default Re: Windows 7

    Quote Originally Posted by weekh View Post
    I'm running on 32 bit is the system is super low most of the time. Have to wait as long as 5 mins from turning on power to getting a programme started.

    I want to install 64 bit. In order not to screw up my existing data, I bought a brand new harddisk to install everything afresh.

    But when I key in the product key, it keep telling me that I've entered invalid number.

    My Windows 7 is an upgrade version. Is this what's causing the problem? Do I really need to have a version of Vista before I can start installing?
    You might want to contact Microsoft for it? As for the upgrade version, not sure if it is still able to perform direct installation like its predecessor Windows XP or Vista.

    Not sure about the slow performance you're experiencing with your 32bit version, but I tried 64bit and it works perfectly fine, and even better than Vista for most instances.
    P e r s p e c t i v e

  10. #270

    Default Re: Windows 7

    Installed 64 bit today, very happy!
    It is the camera, not the photographer.
    my flickr - adamloh.com

  11. #271

    Default Re: Windows 7

    Quote Originally Posted by adorable View Post
    Please read this 2 problems of Windows 7

    Security vulnerability:
    http://www.informationweek.com/news/...leID=221601573

    Windows 7 battery power on netbook:
    http://gizmodo.com/5402670/windows-7...han-windows-xp
    that's no big deal.

    Snow leopard battery performance discussions: http://forums.cnet.com/5208-21565_10...hreadID=357366

    50% cut in battery life. O_O"
    sigh.

  12. #272

    Default Re: Windows 7

    Quote Originally Posted by Clown View Post
    that's no big deal.

    Snow leopard battery performance discussions: http://forums.cnet.com/5208-21565_10...hreadID=357366

    50% cut in battery life. O_O"
    50% is....
    P e r s p e c t i v e

  13. #273

    Default Re: Windows 7

    Have to remove win 7. Then install Vista. Reinstall Win 7 again.

    Now running on Win 7 64 bit.

    Now taking hours to transfer the photos over from old harddisk to the new harddisk. Then got all the programmes download and install.
    Last edited by weekh; 15th November 2009 at 12:58 PM.

  14. #274
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,624

    Default Re: Windows 7

    Quote Originally Posted by Clown View Post
    that's no big deal.

    Snow leopard battery performance discussions: http://forums.cnet.com/5208-21565_10...hreadID=357366

    50% cut in battery life. O_O"
    It's probably the battery life estimator again.

    Every major release, there is some problem, even though there might be no operational problem. I have a refurbished MacBook that I got about 2.5 weeks ago and the battery reports about 600 mAh fewer than I expected on 1 charge cycle. I've never run this on Leopard, though, so I don't know whether it's correct or not.

    In a few weeks, they'll probably put out "Battery Update 2009 2.0" or something like that and the world will be right again.

  15. #275
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    ClubSNAP East
    Posts
    1,702

    Default Re: Windows 7

    Installed Win 7 x64 fresh, and found that none of my 3 multi-card readers work. Clueless. Anybody having the same issue as me?

    :Later,

  16. #276

    Default Re: Windows 7

    My Colorplus 1.x is not working!!! Downloaded the installation programme from Datacolor website but system cannot recognise / find the driver.

  17. #277

    Default Re: Windows 7

    Quote Originally Posted by Pinoy View Post
    Installed Win 7 x64 fresh, and found that none of my 3 multi-card readers work. Clueless. Anybody having the same issue as me?

    :Later,
    Use the traditional Windows' solution - REBOOT. See can work.

    Maybe the multicard readers were designed for Windows XP and Vista...no Win7 drivers.

  18. #278

    Default Re: Windows 7

    Quote Originally Posted by weekh View Post
    My Colorplus 1.x is not working!!! Downloaded the installation programme from Datacolor website but system cannot recognise / find the driver.
    Wait for manufacturer to release Windows7's drivers loh.

  19. #279
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,759

    Default Re: Windows 7

    Any other users with hardware and software issues?

    Considering a change but worried abt the compatibility issues with the older softwares....
    Michael Lim
    My Flickr Site

  20. #280
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    ClubSNAP East
    Posts
    1,702

    Default Re: Windows 7

    Quote Originally Posted by Harry Potter View Post
    Use the traditional Windows' solution - REBOOT. See can work.

    Maybe the multicard readers were designed for Windows XP and Vista...no Win7 drivers.
    Done that. USB devices such as card readers normally do not need any drivers to be installed. Using my 40D as card reader for now, although obviously works for CF only.

    :Later,

Page 14 of 16 FirstFirst ... 491213141516 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •