Page 11 of 16 FirstFirst ... 6910111213 ... LastLast
Results 201 to 220 of 313

Thread: Windows 7

  1. #201

    Default Re: Windows 7 or vista..?

    Go for Win7. It's what Vista should have been...

  2. #202

    Default Re: Windows 7 or vista..?

    Stupid sales strategy.... bundled with all the useless gadgets which I don't need.
    Can't they just offer the programme without the freebies at a lower price?

    I think I'll just stick with vista for the time being (so far don't really give me any problem) until the price comes down.

  3. #203

    Default Re: Windows 7

    mine just shipped from amazon to vpost
    got it at USD99 for the pro version during the offer

    hopefully w7 can give me some peace with my linksys wireless usb adapter

  4. #204
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Pasir Ris, Singapore
    Posts
    14,002

    Default Re: Windows 7 or vista..?

    Quote Originally Posted by ianhyk View Post
    Definitely windows 7. forget xp it's just way too ancient.

    Btw, anyone knows if photoshop cs4 will be compatible on 7? cos i'm thinking of upgrading too but not sure if i should take the plunge now or wait up for a little longer..
    XP is still not way too ancient yet as many computer users are still at XP including the computers in my company.
    Canon EOS 5D, 24-70 f/4 L IS, 50 f/1.2 L, 70-300 f/4-5.6 L IS, 600EX-RT. Sigma 12-24 f/4.5-5.6 EX.

  5. #205
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Pasir Ris, Singapore
    Posts
    14,002

    Default Re: Windows 7 or vista..?

    Quote Originally Posted by LifeInMacro View Post
    Here's a simple decision making process...
    Between Win7 & Vista, go for Win7
    Between Vista & WinXP, go for WinXP
    Between WinXP & Win7, go for Win7...but keep your fingers crossed.

    If still cannot decide, then go for Mac...and you'll never bother to ever look at the PC again!
    Yeah, i like macs for their dual-boot capability. Imagine a macbook pro with snow leopard and Win 7.
    Canon EOS 5D, 24-70 f/4 L IS, 50 f/1.2 L, 70-300 f/4-5.6 L IS, 600EX-RT. Sigma 12-24 f/4.5-5.6 EX.

  6. #206

    Default Re: Windows 7

    Does Nikon Capture NX2 work in Windows 7?
    Seems like it doesn't according to Nikon's statement.
    http://support.nikontech.com/app/ans...d/116678/sno/1

  7. #207
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Sembawang
    Posts
    505

    Default Re: Windows 7 or vista..?

    Quote Originally Posted by Snoweagle View Post
    Yeah, i like macs for their dual-boot capability. Imagine a macbook pro with snow leopard and Win 7.
    I would like to see the multi touch on win 7 vs mac. That's the deal sealer for me.
    Nikon.
    Nuff said.

  8. #208
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Pasir Ris, Singapore
    Posts
    14,002

    Default Re: Windows 7 or vista..?

    Quote Originally Posted by agentxq49 View Post
    I would like to see the multi touch on win 7 vs mac. That's the deal sealer for me.
    I suppose the mac OS should triumph over this.
    Canon EOS 5D, 24-70 f/4 L IS, 50 f/1.2 L, 70-300 f/4-5.6 L IS, 600EX-RT. Sigma 12-24 f/4.5-5.6 EX.

  9. #209

    Default Re: Windows 7

    Quote Originally Posted by Adam Goi View Post
    Hi.

    Can ex-Vista users share your experience with Windows 7? Is it faster now with the new OS?
    I changed my OS for laptop and desktop from Vista Ultimate to 7 Professional. Am loving it and not losing a single bit of feature that I used to have in Vista Ultimate.
    P e r s p e c t i v e

  10. #210
    Member adorable's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bury Road
    Posts
    229

    Default Re: Windows 7 or vista..?

    Quote Originally Posted by agentxq49 View Post
    I would like to see the multi touch on win 7 vs mac. That's the deal sealer for me.
    OS X current multi-touch is only the mouse pad. But it is usable and applicable in real life situations.

    Windows 7 multi-touch is the screen, but dunno how useful it is in real apps.

  11. #211

    Default Re: Windows 7

    Will there be any issue to install Windows 7 (64 bit) while keeping my windows XP(32 bit) intact in separate partition/hdd, i.e. dual boot?

    I have an empty separate partition in my 2nd harddisk waiting for a new OS.. initially thinking of getting the 64 bit vista but now targeting the 64 bit windows 7.

    My thought is that it should work, only that the 32 bit windows xp will not be able to "see" the 64 bit windows 7 partition, right?


  12. #212
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,644

    Default Re: Windows 7 or vista..?

    Quote Originally Posted by adorable View Post
    OS X current multi-touch is only the mouse pad. But it is usable and applicable in real life situations.

    Windows 7 multi-touch is the screen, but dunno how useful it is in real apps.
    Consider Mac OS X experience to include iPhone and iPod touch where the touch pad is the screen, since they're using the same interface to the operating system.

  13. #213
    Senior Member phoakm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    7,385

    Default Re: Windows 7

    Quote Originally Posted by Kongo View Post
    Will there be any issue to install Windows 7 (64 bit) while keeping my windows XP(32 bit) intact in separate partition/hdd, i.e. dual boot?

    I have an empty separate partition in my 2nd harddisk waiting for a new OS.. initially thinking of getting the 64 bit vista but now targeting the 64 bit windows 7.

    My thought is that it should work, only that the 32 bit windows xp will not be able to "see" the 64 bit windows 7 partition, right?

    Bro, I would suggest you to get a new HDD just for Windows 7 (64 bit). Then get a mobile rack which you can interchange the HDD. I am practicing this now. I keep the Vista 64bit and Window 7 64 bit in separate harddisk. Choose the OS you want to run and change over.
    I AM BORNFIRE!
    My Flickr/TFCD Service

  14. #214
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Jurong West
    Posts
    911

    Default Re: Windows 7

    Quote Originally Posted by Kongo View Post
    Will there be any issue to install Windows 7 (64 bit) while keeping my windows XP(32 bit) intact in separate partition/hdd, i.e. dual boot?

    I have an empty separate partition in my 2nd harddisk waiting for a new OS.. initially thinking of getting the 64 bit vista but now targeting the 64 bit windows 7.

    My thought is that it should work, only that the 32 bit windows xp will not be able to "see" the 64 bit windows 7 partition, right?

    You're correct.

  15. #215

    Default Re: Windows 7 or vista..?

    Quote Originally Posted by adorable View Post
    OS X current multi-touch is only the mouse pad. But it is usable and applicable in real life situations.

    Windows 7 multi-touch is the screen, but dunno how useful it is in real apps.
    I think wacom has a multitouch touchpad.

  16. #216

    Default Re: Windows 7

    http://www.microsoft.com/student/dis...g/default.aspx

    for Aussie students...
    Windows 7 Pro upgrade at $49.95.... in Aussie dollars
    Office Ultimate at $75, Aussie

    I have got the Office Ultimate and installed on my pc and laptop... wondering whether i shd buy the windows 7. The only problem is tt I got problem asking for shipping... think shipping can be done only to Australia.
    EOS 60D, Canon17-55/2.8 IS, Canon EFS 10-22, Sigma 70-300 AG Macro, 50/1.8, Canon 580EX II

  17. #217
    Senior Member giantcanopy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    SG
    Posts
    6,232

    Default Re: Windows 7

    Just gotten the windows 7 pro version. Mine is an old core 2 with only 4GB ram, but running on my ocz vertex ssd, u get sub 5 sec bootup and even faster shutdown ( maybe still pristine installation, but thats still pretty quick for any prev windows owned )

    Ryan
    Last edited by giantcanopy; 25th October 2009 at 08:36 AM.

  18. #218

    Default Re: Windows 7

    Found a shop in SLS selling the home premium upgrade for $178 and bought it.
    Claimed the free router and Windows 7 t-shirt.

    The t shirt material is good but the iron-on picture is too big and my body can hardly breath.


    BTW, do I need the router to set up networking? I already got a router/modem for my wireless internet connection.

  19. #219
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,644

    Default Re: Windows 7

    Quote Originally Posted by giantcanopy View Post
    Just gotten the windows 7 pro version. Mine is an old core 2 with only 4GB ram, but running on my ocz vertex ssd, u get sub 5 sec bootup and even faster shutdown ( maybe still pristine installation, but thats still pretty quick for any prev windows owned )

    Ryan
    Yes, but how long until the desktop actually allows you to start something via double-clicking?

  20. #220
    Senior Member giantcanopy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    SG
    Posts
    6,232

    Default Re: Windows 7

    Quote Originally Posted by bousozoku View Post
    Yes, but how long until the desktop actually allows you to start something via double-clicking?
    was referring to fully loaded windows 7. but granted i only got some simple apps running as of now, no complicated software preloading.

    yes double clicking capable after the short bootup

Page 11 of 16 FirstFirst ... 6910111213 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •