Thread: What happened to my photos?

Default What happened to my photos?

I just received some photos which I sent to print (from an online store). The images I sent to them were 2560x1920. Why is it the printed photos has some white borders on the left n right side? I remember during the printing instructions, I opt not to crop. Could this be the reason? What will happen if I choose to crop? Please advise. I am new to this, but last time when I sent to those shops (walk in), the photos came out ok.

I assume u printed in any size apart from 6R?

Your resolution of 2560x1920 has a ratio of 4:3 which means if you don't crop, your prints will only look right at a 6R print at 8" x 6".

Since you opt not to crop, they squeeze into the frame of maybe lets say a 4R of ratio 3:2 which using 2560 will be 2560x1707. Since your original resolution is 1920, you will get empty spaces.

Make sense?

Quote Originally Posted by HelmetBox
    I assume u printed in any size apart from 6R?

Your resolution of 2560x1920 has a ratio of 4:3 which means if you don't crop, your prints will only look right at a 6R print at 8" x 6".

Since you opt not to crop, they squeeze into the frame of maybe lets say a 4R of ratio 3:2 which using 2560 will be 2560x1707. Since your original resolution is 1920, you will get empty spaces.

Make sense?
    oic. so to print 4R (which was what i printed), i must make sure my pics are in 3:2? makes sense ... but ... how can i size my photos to be 3:2? can photoshop do it?

Quote Originally Posted by renegade
    oic. so to print 4R (which was what i printed), i must make sure my pics are in 3:2? makes sense ... but ... how can i size my photos to be 3:2? can photoshop do it?