![]() |
|
|||||||
| Underwater Photography All things nautically & photographically related. Dive in!! |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#1 |
|
|
Hi all
An unconventional shot of a Christmas tree worm constructive comments are welcomed I wanted to capture the blue hue of the ocean and at the same time wanted a different type of photograph associated with christmas tree worms, ie close ups;and at the same time to illustrate the DOF effect on the corals behind the worm. does it work for you? ![]() Last edited by waisj; 13th January 2004 at 04:27 PM. |
|
|
|
|
#2 | |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
|
here goes:
1. find the blue very artificial, like someone placed a blue cardboard behind or something. 2. the x'mas tree worms looked like they are not in sharp focus. I think the greatest feature of a X'mas tree is the delicate bristles (is that what u call them?). Showing them more "macro" will also show why they are called X'mas Tree Worms. You can still show some of the hard coral if that is your intention. 3. given the worm is orange in colour with "snowflakes", perhaps a darker background would make the worm stand out (higher f-stop), and forget about showing the blue behind? All the above are my personal thoughts. Would like to hear what works / not work for others. Noted your intention (the blue and DOF). Just that I felt the situation not suitable to shoot what u wanna shoot. eric Last edited by kthan; 13th January 2004 at 05:01 PM. |
|
|
| Sponsored Link |
|
|
#4 |
|
|
Nice idea and perspective!
My 0.000001 cents worth of comments regarding composition: perhaps it wld be better to have the subject larger and more centred in the photo. Presently, the photo does not seem to have any particular main focus. |
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
|
Thanks KTHAN, ZEDD and KNG for the comments.
/KTHAN, yeah i do find that the blue is quite artificial that day at aur(no PS added), thus the sudden impulse for a "rule of thirds" x'mas tree worm shot. I have stopped the aperture down to f7.0 though 1 stop below min aperture, shutter was 250 as well, ambient light was quite strong that day. None the less what you have critised is exceptionally constructive. Appreciate it very much. Food for thought /KNG Thanks for the tips as well. You are absolutely right, there is no centre of attention/focus adn the photo seems to have lost it's primary subject.... very well commented. will note that too. /Zedd Heh... at least someone finds it nice.. . Please do share more of your photos zedd, and the rest.Thanks guys for all the constructive comments. ![]() Last edited by waisj; 14th January 2004 at 12:40 AM. |
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
|
Sorry, Jason, I hijack the thread
![]() ![]() |
|
|
|
|
#7 | |
|
|
think if you crop it a little would be better ![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
#8 |
|
|
How about this. Think I shot this with a C4040/PT10 with an INON M165 Close up lens
![]() |
|
|
|
|
#9 |
|
|
lanxx and zedd, yours work for me.
funny thing is just as i was wondering why the worm didn't stand out, notice the background of the blue and orange worm? Exactly the colour of the worm! Wonder if they choose to live there becos of the surrounding , or is it just coincidence? Zedd's got more impact here..... |
|
|
|
|
#10 | |
|
|
Love it! ![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
#11 |
|
|
nice photo zedd! keke.. so many xmas tree worms here sia... when i saw it for the very first time i was very happy leh, and some more the worm did not hide at my flashes... but after seeing dozens of them everytime, the excitement just wears off... you guys photos bring them back!
![]() |
|
|
|
|
#12 |
|
|
Wonderful Shots guys, keep them coming.
zedd, yours is sharp!!!! can even make out the tip of the bristles.. Please do share more of your pictures |
|
|
|
|
#13 | |
|
|
Please share more photos! ![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
#14 |
|
|
kng!!! eh it is not past midnight yet wor... kekeke...
|
|
|
|
|
#15 | |
|
|
. I would prefer (my personal view) a closer crop and getting rid of other x'mas worms on the left.it would be good if the background was not soo distracting...,,.... BUT... Great shot |
|
|
|
|
|
#16 | |
|
|
![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
#17 |
|
|
Hi guys would like to share a picture i saw on the Digitaldiver forum
http://www.digitaldiver.net/images/d...yKenAshman.jpg (since we should not hotlink the photo, due to copyright issues) A wonderful picture. Don't you think? Strobe lighting was a fill, blended extremely well with ambient light. Exposure was almost perfect too, just look at the blue hue on the top. I personally had very little success whilst shooting slides on these type of underwater photography, balancing ambient light with strobe lighting(was a killer) to create a shot that brought back the colours, yet looked as if it was with ambient lighting. well he is using a tetra housing though, with ROC strobe control time for strobes guys ![]() |
|
|
|
|
#18 |
|
|
fwah
very nice wor but too bad i balless... dare not go diving though i know how to swim lah ![]() |
|
|
|
|
#19 | |
|
|
haa haa.. it has no connection whether you are balless or not... haa haa... come lar.. it is a "nice: world at depth.. and best of all.. You feel as if you are in space. weightles..!!!!! come and join the underwater gang lar.... |
|
|
|
|
|
#20 | |
|
|
must try one time then you'll love it.. ![]() |
|
|
|