Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Canon Powershot SX10 IS

  1. #1
    Member nishakh1301's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    East side of Singapore
    Posts
    49

    Default Canon Powershot SX10 IS

    Hi everyone!

    Alright, I need your help down here.
    I've got Canon Powershot SX10 IS and I've been trying to use the Aperture Priority mode to get the background blur. But, it doesn't work. Could something be wrong with my camera or the settings?

    Also, can I know how can I get the blur background image?

    Thanks guys!
    ` Canon Powershot SX10 IS `

  2. #2

    Default Re: Canon Powershot SX10 IS

    Dear Sir/Ma'am,

    it difficult for the range of 5-100mm f2.8~5.7 to get a decent bokeh ( blur background)
    but you try going very near to you subject and get a decent bokeh. If your subject is far, it's quite difficult. maybe if you had a lens of 40mm f2.8 , you can get a decent bokeh, unforunately at 5mm at 2.8 not feasible.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Canon Powershot SX10 IS

    Quote Originally Posted by vanscafe View Post
    Dear Sir/Ma'am,

    it difficult for the range of 5-100mm f2.8~5.7 to get a decent bokeh ( blur background)
    but you try going very near to you subject and get a decent bokeh. If your subject is far, it's quite difficult. maybe if you had a lens of 40mm f2.8 , you can get a decent bokeh, unforunately at 5mm at 2.8 not feasible.
    Yeah, the older model, Canon S2~S5 IS is better of making bokeh at F3.5 at 60mm. (432mm equiv.)
    Last edited by soons; 4th October 2009 at 04:21 PM.

  4. #4
    Member nishakh1301's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    East side of Singapore
    Posts
    49

    Default Re: Canon Powershot SX10 IS

    But there is no way that I can change my lens right?
    ` Canon Powershot SX10 IS `

  5. #5
    Senior Member Diavonex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Admiralty
    Posts
    3,641

    Default Re: Canon Powershot SX10 IS

    The amount of Bokeh which you get is dependent on the camera you use.

    Small compact & prosumer cameras won’t get heavy blur owing to the small size of their sensors.

    With a good DSLR you can expect a total smooth blur in backdrop of your subjects.

    http://gauravlive.com/photography/ge...n-your-photos/

  6. #6
    Member nishakh1301's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    East side of Singapore
    Posts
    49

    Default Re: Canon Powershot SX10 IS

    Thanks.
    ` Canon Powershot SX10 IS `

  7. #7

    Default Re: Canon Powershot SX10 IS

    Quote Originally Posted by soons View Post
    Yeah, the older model, Canon S2~S5 IS is better of making bokeh at F3.5 at 60mm. (432mm equiv.)
    You cannot "make bokeh". It's like saying "make good".

    Bokeh is the quality of the out-of-focus blur. It is not the same thing as out-of-focus blur itself.
    Alpha

  8. #8

    Default Re: Canon Powershot SX10 IS

    Quote Originally Posted by Diavonex View Post
    With a good DSLR you can expect a total smooth blur in backdrop of your subjects.
    It's dependent on lens. Good DSLR or Bad DSLR, if you have a lousy lens you'll have problems blurring the background, and any OOF areas you manage to create may have very poor bokeh.
    Alpha

  9. #9
    Member nishakh1301's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    East side of Singapore
    Posts
    49

    Default Re: Canon Powershot SX10 IS

    Quote Originally Posted by Rashkae View Post
    It's dependent on lens. Good DSLR or Bad DSLR, if you have a lousy lens you'll have problems blurring the background, and any OOF areas you manage to create may have very poor bokeh.
    So, what is the good lens that can produce a good bokeh?
    ` Canon Powershot SX10 IS `

  10. #10

    Default Re: Canon Powershot SX10 IS

    Quote Originally Posted by Rashkae View Post
    You cannot "make bokeh". It's like saying "make good".

    Bokeh is the quality of the out-of-focus blur. It is not the same thing as out-of-focus blur itself.
    Thanks for the correction, I wasn't very sure how to use the word "bokeh". I always thought that "bokeh" refers to background blur. -_-

    I should say, S5 IS creates pretty good background OOF.


    nishakh1301, you can try finding a smaller object, stand a distance away and zoom all the way at 20X, at max AV, (F5.7 IIRC), try snapping the object and see if there is good background blur with your SX10IS.
    Last edited by soons; 7th October 2009 at 10:31 PM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •