Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Olympus image stabilizer

  1. #1

    Default Olympus image stabilizer

    I am wondering if i should off or on the stabilizer? Would the picture be sharper without the image stabilizer? I usually try to be as steady as possible and take several shots just in case one of them gets blurred. Does other camera you use also have image stabilizers with focal length?

  2. #2
    Moderator spidey89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    South Western Singapore
    Posts
    8,123

    Default Re: Olympus image stabilizer

    I don't get your question,how can an image stabilizer,invented to help get you a shake free picture make your picture shakey,if that's what you're asking,sharpness most likely is either out of focus or soft,but assuming that you're talking about shakey images,IS is there to help you get a shake free image in low light,if you train yourself to shoot at slow shutter speeds without IS,if you use IS,you can go even slower
    A wise man said, "Any available light is good light"

  3. #3

    Default Re: Olympus image stabilizer

    I am refering if will the picture be out of focus?

  4. #4
    Senior Member Diavonex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Admiralty
    Posts
    3,641

    Default Re: Olympus image stabilizer

    Out of focus and camera shake are two different things.

    Auto focus takes care of the focusing.

    Image Stabilizer takes care of the camera shake.
    Last edited by Diavonex; 28th September 2009 at 01:10 AM.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Olympus image stabilizer

    Well, it supposed to help get sharper images when handheld, even at high speeds.

    But with a tripod, where movement is miniscule, it is recommended that you turn off IS, because with a camera on a tripod, IS may activate and move during the exposure and will cause an image that is not optimally sharp.

    From Canon USA spokesman:
    "The IS mechanism operates by correcting shake. When there is no shake, or when the level of shake is below the threshold of the system's detection capability, use of the IS feature may actually *add* unwanted blur to the photograph, therefore you should shut it off in this situation.

    When there's not enough motion for the IS system to detect, the result can sometimes be a sort of electronic 'feedback loop,' somewhat analogous to the ringing noise of an audio feedback loop we're all familiar with."


    .

  6. #6
    Moderator spidey89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    South Western Singapore
    Posts
    8,123

    Default Re: Olympus image stabilizer

    as Diavonex already explained,camera shake and out of couse images are 2 different thing,as clubgrit has also further explained about using IS,so long story cut short,if your pictures always seem blur,just send back to service center for check,lens may have a problem,or camera,but IS does not affect focusing accuracy
    A wise man said, "Any available light is good light"

  7. #7
    Senior Member Diavonex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Admiralty
    Posts
    3,641

    Default Re: Olympus image stabilizer

    Try changing to Centre Weighted Focusing and see if things improve. Keep IS on.

  8. #8
    Moderator spidey89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    South Western Singapore
    Posts
    8,123

    Default Re: Olympus image stabilizer

    Quote Originally Posted by Diavonex View Post
    Try changing to Centre Weighted Focusing and see if things improve. Keep IS on.
    is there even such a thing? Are you referring to the center AF point?
    A wise man said, "Any available light is good light"

  9. #9
    Senior Member Diavonex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Admiralty
    Posts
    3,641

    Default Re: Olympus image stabilizer

    Quote Originally Posted by spidey89 View Post
    is there even such a thing? Are you referring to the center AF point?
    I actually meant Center AF and not Center Weighted AF. Thank you for highlighting the error.

  10. #10

    Default Re: Olympus image stabilizer

    I think it's better to manually set the focus on the object which grid box you want to focus rather than letting the camera let by itself which point it will itself focus. The camera doesn't seem to run auto focus by face detection. But rather by a single point of focus. centre af doesn't always work as the object you want to shoot might not be in the centre of the picture

  11. #11
    Senior Member Diavonex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Admiralty
    Posts
    3,641

    Default Re: Olympus image stabilizer

    Quote Originally Posted by tryokane View Post
    ......centre af doesn't always work as the object you want to shoot might not be in the centre of the picture
    You can lock focus on subject and then recompose your picture.

  12. #12
    Moderator spidey89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    South Western Singapore
    Posts
    8,123

    Default Re: Olympus image stabilizer

    i think there is a face detection,but need to turn it on and in live view
    A wise man said, "Any available light is good light"

  13. #13

    Default Re: Olympus image stabilizer

    Hmm...I think lock on would be more like selecting the focus point box you want to focus on. Ya. there is face detection but i am saying the face detection doesn't flow the focus point. Face detection is face detection and focus point is focus point. And face detection doesn't work as well as the other cameras. Quite a lot of times it has failed to detect a face as a face.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •