Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 37

Thread: Shooting under exposed??

  1. #1

    Default Shooting under exposed??

    Hi, any advise on the pros and cons on the following scenerio?

    Taking shots at night without tripod, increasing shutter speed to reduce hands shaking but that would result in a under exposed pictures due to apperture not having enough light. Then using photo editor to up the lightings.

    Any take on this kinda cheat?

    Thanks alot

  2. #2

    Default Re: Shooting under exposed??

    No need to ask us, you can try it for yourself. The result will be a very noisy, obviously over-boosted image.
    Alpha

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    lulu island
    Posts
    6,131

    Default Re: Shooting under exposed??

    I usually find make-shift objects which are steady to use like a tripod; objects such as lamppost, dustbin, rails, bench, or any other structures to keep the camera steady for my long exposure of 30 seconds and less, or the longest shutter speed the camera provides without going to bulb mode.

    Increase shutter speed and will require an increase of ISO in order for the camera to retain the measured exposure (aperture value unchange). However if you do not intend to increase ISO and the photo is underexposed, increasing the exposure in post-processing will plausibly bring up the noise to very much visible and undesirable result.
    Last edited by Drudkh; 10th September 2009 at 02:58 PM.

  4. #4

    Default Re: Shooting under exposed??

    This method is not entirely impossible, but it has its limitations. If you must do that, I recommend that you shoot RAW. You can recover 1 stop without much loss in quality, and 2 stops (or more, if you can achieve that) with some loss in quality.

    This method gets worse with greater ISO settings.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Shooting under exposed??

    Quote Originally Posted by Rashkae View Post
    No need to ask us, you can try it for yourself. The result will be a very noisy, obviously over-boosted image.
    Have tried but because the back ground was dark as usual, so the noise was not obvious. Do not know about the results on lighter back ground yet which i think it would be like what you mentioned.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Shooting under exposed??

    Quote Originally Posted by Drudkh View Post
    I usually find make-shift objects which are steady to use like a tripod; objects such as lamppost, dustbin, rails, bench, or any other structures to keep the camera steady for my long exposure of 30 seconds and less, or the longest shutter speed the camera provides without going to bulb mode.

    Increase shutter speed and will require an increase of ISO in order for the camera to retain the measured exposure (aperture value unchange). However if you do not intend to increase ISO and the photo is underexposed, increasing the exposure in post-processing will plausibly bring up the noise to very much visible and undesirable result.
    At that point of my pictures, the make shift object was just not right enough meaning to say that i put it on the dustbin, it was too low so still need to use 2 fingers to tilt the camera to capture, hence, still shake..... haha thinking of buying those small put on table tripod. wondering if those helps?

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Senior Member Kit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Upper Bukit Timah
    Posts
    11,650

    Default Re: Shooting under exposed??

    Quote Originally Posted by conkeychua View Post
    Hi, any advise on the pros and cons on the following scenerio?

    Taking shots at night without tripod, increasing shutter speed to reduce hands shaking but that would result in a under exposed pictures due to apperture not having enough light. Then using photo editor to up the lightings.

    Any take on this kinda cheat?

    Thanks alot
    Ask yourself...... what kind of QC you have laid down for your photos?

  8. #8

    Default Re: Shooting under exposed??

    Quote Originally Posted by Blur Shadow View Post
    This method is not entirely impossible, but it has its limitations. If you must do that, I recommend that you shoot RAW. You can recover 1 stop without much loss in quality, and 2 stops (or more, if you can achieve that) with some loss in quality.

    This method gets worse with greater ISO settings.
    Hey... i didnt thought of the RAW though...... will try that out.

    Thanks alot

  9. #9

    Default Re: Shooting under exposed??

    OH and btw, i seem to have some problems whereby i took a few pictures, they look ok on the preview screen of the camera, but put it up on the computer, face is under exposed kinda thing.... so dunno which to trust......

    Guess it also equates to skills not enough...

    Chees!@

  10. #10
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,390

    Default Re: Shooting under exposed??

    Quote Originally Posted by conkeychua View Post
    OH and btw, i seem to have some problems whereby i took a few pictures, they look ok on the preview screen of the camera, but put it up on the computer, face is under exposed kinda thing.... so dunno which to trust......
    Trust only a profiled monitor. The camera LCD is only for settings and histogram.
    EOS

  11. #11
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: Shooting under exposed??

    I alway shoot under-exposed shots at night. The meter is often fooled by the large amount of darkness, and thus if you shoot it at the metered values, you're gonna get a weird looking photo.
    Michael Lim
    My Flickr Site

  12. #12

    Default Re: Shooting under exposed??

    Quote Originally Posted by zac08 View Post
    I alway shoot under-exposed shots at night. The meter is often fooled by the large amount of darkness, and thus if you shoot it at the metered values, you're gonna get a weird looking photo.
    After 2 weeks of learning on the Apperture, shutter and ISOs, I guess i have to start on the Meter, WB and stuffs....

    Cheers!

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    270 degree of Singapore
    Posts
    6,741

    Default Re: Shooting under exposed??

    Quote Originally Posted by conkeychua View Post
    OH and btw, i seem to have some problems whereby i took a few pictures, they look ok on the preview screen of the camera, but put it up on the computer, face is under exposed kinda thing.... so dunno which to trust......

    Guess it also equates to skills not enough...

    Chees!@
    That will need your experience to get use to the camera under different lighting condition, but a better way would be learn to look at the histogram
    http://www.luminous-landscape.com/tu...stograms.shtml
    Sony Alpha 700 hobbyist

  14. #14
    Moderator ziploc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Snoopyland
    Posts
    4,577

    Default Re: Shooting under exposed??

    Quote Originally Posted by conkeychua View Post
    After 2 weeks of learning on the Apperture, shutter and ISOs, I guess i have to start on the Meter, WB and stuffs....
    So what have you learnt on the aperture, shutter and ISO?
    Last edited by ziploc; 10th September 2009 at 06:12 PM.

  15. #15
    Senior Member Diavonex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Admiralty
    Posts
    3,641

    Default Re: Shooting under exposed??

    Quote Originally Posted by conkeychua View Post
    At that point of my pictures, the make shift object was just not right enough meaning to say that i put it on the dustbin, it was too low so still need to use 2 fingers to tilt the camera to capture, hence, still shake..... haha thinking of buying those small put on table tripod. wondering if those helps?

    Thanks
    This 7.5" tripod is very handy and portable. You can put it on a wall, car roof or table.


  16. #16
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,390

    Default Re: Shooting under exposed??

    Quote Originally Posted by conkeychua View Post
    Taking shots at night without tripod, increasing shutter speed to reduce hands shaking but that would result in a under exposed pictures due to apperture not having enough light. Then using photo editor to up the lightings.
    Any take on this kinda cheat?
    The light that isn't there cannot be captured by the sensor. Software needs something to start with, amplifying minimal levels of image signals will always also amplify the noise - regardless whether you do it with high ISO or later with software. For stationary objects get a tripod and do longterm exposures. For moving objects get a flash to freeze the motion. But flash is an entire realm of it's own, better focus on the basics for now and stay in daylight.
    EOS

  17. #17
    Moderator ortega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    23,686
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Re: Shooting under exposed??

    i use the SLIK MINI-PRO III tripod


  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    lulu island
    Posts
    6,131

    Default Re: Shooting under exposed??

    Quote Originally Posted by conkeychua View Post
    At that point of my pictures, the make shift object was just not right enough meaning to say that i put it on the dustbin, it was too low so still need to use 2 fingers to tilt the camera to capture, hence, still shake..... haha thinking of buying those small put on table tripod. wondering if those helps?

    Thanks
    In that case, I can't think of a way to help you. If in anyway possible, a Gorillapod can be handy. It is small and easy to bring along.

  19. #19
    Senior Member Diavonex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Admiralty
    Posts
    3,641

    Default Re: Shooting under exposed??

    Quote Originally Posted by ortega View Post
    i use the SLIK MINI-PRO III tripod

    That's an expensive looking mini tripod.

  20. #20

    Default Re: Shooting under exposed??

    Unfortunately with that cheat.. one thing won't change.

    the photo editor cannot put back information that is lost due to the pict being too dark, and you end up with tons of interpolated crap in the pict =(

    get a tripod man, I tried doing really low light shot, but had to reshoot with a tripod, the results are spectacularly different.


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •