Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Uninstalling 64-bit CS4

  1. #1
    Member Zoomster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Thomson
    Posts
    497

    Default Uninstalling 64-bit CS4

    Hi all

    I've got CS4 installed in my Vista 64-bit PC.

    However, often times, when i right click on a photo (in windows explorer or Bridge) to edit in CS4, i get the 64-bit version opened up instead of the 32-bit which i want.

    All my plug-ins, like Nik Software, onone etc work on the 32-bit version of CS4.

    When i look at my list of programs under the Uninstall window of the control panel, I can see both the 32-bit and 64-bit of CS4 listed.

    Any idea if it would be safe to uninstall the 64-bit version?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Uninstalling 64-bit CS4

    well make it simple, just change your file association on your system to point it to 32bit, doesn't that solve the problem?
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  3. #3
    Member Zoomster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Thomson
    Posts
    497

    Default Re: Uninstalling 64-bit CS4

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post
    well make it simple, just change your file association on your system to point it to 32bit, doesn't that solve the problem?
    Don't think that works. Both 32 and 64-bit CS4 have their exe file names exactly the same. i.e. Photoshop CS4.exe (or something like that)

    So you are not sure if you are getting the 32 or 64 bit version. In explorer, I tried to direct "Open always with..." 32-bit CS4, but it doesn't work...the 64-bit version opens.

    Easiest workaround is to open 32-bit PS CS4 and then from there open up photos to edit. But sometimes when just scrolling thru pictures in windows explorer, you may want to right click on a good picture and want to edit it in PS. But not possible as the 64-bit always opens up.

    just wondering if anybody knows a better workaround.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Uninstalling 64-bit CS4

    Quote Originally Posted by Zoomster View Post
    Don't think that works. Both 32 and 64-bit CS4 have their exe file names exactly the same. i.e. Photoshop CS4.exe (or something like that)

    So you are not sure if you are getting the 32 or 64 bit version. In explorer, I tried to direct "Open always with..." 32-bit CS4, but it doesn't work...the 64-bit version opens.

    Easiest workaround is to open 32-bit PS CS4 and then from there open up photos to edit. But sometimes when just scrolling thru pictures in windows explorer, you may want to right click on a good picture and want to edit it in PS. But not possible as the 64-bit always opens up.

    just wondering if anybody knows a better workaround.
    iirc, its at different folders, make sure you point it to the one at the correct directory.

    edit your jpg, or watever file links association. if you use open with... make sure its the one at the correct directory. You can do once with manual browsing to the file. It should be at c:\program files x86\adobe\ blah blah blah...
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  5. #5
    Senior Member wildcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Bedok
    Posts
    3,268

    Default Re: Uninstalling 64-bit CS4

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post
    iirc, its at different folders, make sure you point it to the one at the correct directory.

    edit your jpg, or watever file links association. if you use open with... make sure its the one at the correct directory. You can do once with manual browsing to the file. It should be at c:\program files x86\adobe\ blah blah blah...
    Agree with this. The 32-bit applications should be stored in a different program files directory for Vista 64bit version. On a separate note, why not uninstall the 64-bit version totally and if the 32-bit version doesn't work after that, just reinstall it?

  6. #6
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,390

    Default Re: Uninstalling 64-bit CS4

    Quote Originally Posted by wildcat View Post
    Agree with this. The 32-bit applications should be stored in a different program files directory for Vista 64bit version. On a separate note, why not uninstall the 64-bit version totally and if the 32-bit version doesn't work after that, just reinstall it?
    On Vista 64bit the 64bit application version will be installed as default application. The same goes for Lightroom. You can't select the 32bit version or unselect the 64bit in the installation dialog. In XP it's the 32bit, although one has 64bit XP. Ask uncle Balmer to get this nonsense fixed. Let's hope Windows 7 is better; good reason to scrap Vista.
    EOS

  7. #7

    Default Re: Uninstalling 64-bit CS4

    32 bit: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Adobe\Adobe Photoshop CS4\Photoshop.exe"
    64 bit: "C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Photoshop CS4 (64 Bit)\Photoshop.exe"
    isn't it like this?
    dunno about vista, but this is on windows 7

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Uninstalling 64-bit CS4

    Quote Originally Posted by kazeeee View Post
    32 bit: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Adobe\Adobe Photoshop CS4\Photoshop.exe"
    64 bit: "C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Photoshop CS4 (64 Bit)\Photoshop.exe"
    isn't it like this?
    dunno about vista, but this is on windows 7
    it the same for xp 64, vista 64 and windows 7 64bit.
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  9. #9

    Default Re: Uninstalling 64-bit CS4

    you may just open the 32 bit Photoshop first and let it sits at background. When you want to pop Photoshop from Lightroom, the 32 bit version will be loaded automatically. Just don't close the 32-bit photoshop. It should be the same when you pop photoshop from explorer. Hope this helps.
    Last edited by Duffy; 12th September 2009 at 03:48 PM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •