Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: G2 setting help needed

  1. #1

    Default G2 setting help needed

    hi pals

    can i change the aperature, shuttle speed for modes like NightScene, Potriat, Landscape and others?
    or they cannot be adjusted in those modes? if can, how?

    helps are greatly appreciated.
    thank you!

  2. #2

    Default

    cannot, those are "dummy modes", the camera will decide on everything. That's why Canon divides the dial into the "creative" modes and the rest. Only in the "creative" modes like Tv, Av, M that you can make decisions in exposure. Try not to use the dummy modes if you are interested in learning more about photography.

  3. #3

    Default

    Originally posted by Tweek
    cannot, those are "dummy modes", the camera will decide on everything. That's why Canon divides the dial into the "creative" modes and the rest. Only in the "creative" modes like Tv, Av, M that you can make decisions in exposure. Try not to use the dummy modes if you are interested in learning more about photography.
    no wonder i couldn't find any related 'topics' in the manual.
    anyway, i prefer snapping with M mode. fun though.

    lotsa thanks, Tweek!

  4. #4

    Default

    Originally posted by IamJeFfy

    no wonder i couldn't find any related 'topics' in the manual.
    anyway, i prefer snapping with M mode. fun though.

    lotsa thanks, Tweek!
    no probz.

    btw, did you just say you prefer snapping in M mode? Isn't that manual mode? So steady ah!

  5. #5

    Default

    Originally posted by Tweek


    no probz.

    btw, did you just say you prefer snapping in M mode? Isn't that manual mode? So steady ah!
    another reason is i've learnt shuttle speed, ISO, BW and aperature thingy so far and been playing around with these 4 only.
    anymore thing that is essential?


    another reason is those "dummy modes" can't change it's shuttle speed so i used M mode to replace night scene mode. :P
    Last edited by IamJeFfy; 23rd April 2002 at 06:24 PM.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,292

    Default

    Originally posted by IamJeFfy

    no wonder i couldn't find any related 'topics' in the manual.
    anyway, i prefer snapping with M mode. fun though.

    lotsa thanks, Tweek!
    Yes, using M mode, especially for night scenes, will be challenging. Try various settings to see the results. Anyway, if not happy with the image just delete them; it is free anyway.

  7. #7

    Default

    Originally posted by IamJeFfy


    another reason is i've learnt shuttle speed, ISO, BW and aperature thingy so far and been playing around with these 4 only.
    anymore thing that is essential?


    another reason is those "dummy modes" can't change it's shuttle speed so i used M mode to replace night scene mode. :P
    yep it's good to use M mode for night scenes, but for most shots in the day, Av or Tv would be more convenient. But if you want to venture in M, that's better! You'll learn much much more...

  8. #8

    Default

    Originally posted by Goondu


    Yes, using M mode, especially for night scenes, will be challenging. Try various settings to see the results. Anyway, if not happy with the image just delete them; it is free anyway.
    keke, my friend was using his' dad's Nikon SLR and was having a hard time peeping thru the viewfinder for angle and i was happily twising and turning my LCD screen. + instand replay too.

  9. #9

    Default

    Originally posted by IamJeFfy

    keke, my friend was using his' dad's Nikon SLR and was having a hard time peeping thru the viewfinder for angle and i was happily twising and turning my LCD screen. + instand replay too.
    keke, but while you were trying to get a good focus, his Nikon snaps into focus almost instantly...

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,292

    Default

    Originally posted by Tweek


    keke, but while you were trying to get a good focus, his Nikon snaps into focus almost instantly...
    Oh, another reason to get the D60, or even the 1D.

  11. #11

    Default

    Originally posted by Tweek


    keke, but while you were trying to get a good focus, his Nikon snaps into focus almost instantly...
    yes yes, his SLR was solid.
    the focus was power.
    anyway tweek, you're snapping with a DC or a SLR?

  12. #12

    Default

    Originally posted by IamJeFfy

    yes yes, his SLR was solid.
    the focus was power.
    anyway tweek, you're snapping with a DC or a SLR?
    using both lor...but still very amateurish with both. Use the DC more often, only use the SLR when I feel rich and I feel like faster focus.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Bukit Batok West Avenue 2
    Posts
    1,734

    Default

    hmmm... come to think of it... D60's AF still seems a little slower than some SLR... or is it just me?

  14. #14

    Default

    anymore thing that is essential other than ISO, BW, aperature value and shuttle speed?
    or basically that's all to snap?

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,292

    Default

    Originally posted by IamJeFfy
    anymore thing that is essential other than ISO, BW, aperature value and shuttle speed?
    or basically that's all to snap?
    Should be WB and not BW
    Should be aperture and not aperature
    Should be shutter and not shuttle

    Anyway, enjoy your new found joy.

  16. #16

    Default

    Originally posted by Goondu


    Should be WB and not BW
    Should be aperture and not aperature
    Should be shutter and not shuttle

    Anyway, enjoy your new found joy.
    wahahaaa, a big WOOPS!

    BW BW BW
    aperture aperture aperture
    shutter shutter shutter

    errrr.. corrections! teacher used to call us write corrections for 3 times. haaha.

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Bukit Batok West Avenue 2
    Posts
    1,734

    Default

    shuttle speed... I can't remember hwta's the velocity required to escape earth's gravity pull.... mach...er.... very high... some ultra sonic speed.......

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,292

    Default

    Originally posted by Flare
    shuttle speed... I can't remember hwta's the velocity required to escape earth's gravity pull.... mach...er.... very high... some ultra sonic speed.......
    Can also mean the shuttle used in badminton? In this case, it is quite slow.

  19. #19

    Default

    keke..
    anyway, how do i take sequenced pics like the following?
    has it something gotta do with "Frame Count"?


  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Bukit Batok West Avenue 2
    Posts
    1,734

    Default

    er... actually I think the pictures are shot as per normal in a dimly lit room. Then they are stiched together using an image editing software. I believe a tripod is used...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •