Thread: Colourizing B & W photos?

Default Colourizing B & W photos?

Hi,

This is my first attempt at colourizing a B&W photo using PS.

Please comment and share your experience.

Thanks!

Roy

Before: . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . After:

By the way the photo is 35 years old, and nobody remembered the actual colours of the baby's clothes, so I picked the colours myself.
    As complexity rises, precise statements lose meaning and meaningful statements lose precision.

Pretty well done, I must say. Multiple masked layers of colourisation, yes?

You looked EXACTLY like Keven!

If you want a more nostaligic look, can try desaturating the colours a bit, for that "hand coloured" look.

The colour of the wood should be a bit darker. Rosewood, you know...

Quote Originally Posted by StreetShooter
    Pretty well done, I must say. Multiple masked layers of colourisation, yes?

You looked EXACTLY like Keven!

If you want a more nostaligic look, can try desaturating the colours a bit, for that "hand coloured" look.

The colour of the wood should be a bit darker. Rosewood, you know...
    Thanks, SS.

I simple used the lasso to select different portions of the picture and then use Image>Adjust>Hue/Saturation with the "Colourize" option checked to adjust the colour, saturation and lightness.

Looking back I should have placed each adjustment in a separate layer so that I can easily tweak the colours later.

One of the key to using the lasso is to feather each selection (5 pixels) before changing the colours. That way the boundaries between each region remain natural.

I think I will try to do the whole thing over when I have the time.

By the way the baby in the picture is not me. It is my wife when she was 100 days old.

This picture below, I feel, best demonstrates how much they resemble each other:

Every feature on the face is identical, even the slight difference in the size between the left and right eyes are the same!!!