Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 52

Thread: Need some comments!

  1. #1

    Default Need some comments!

    http://s548.photobucket.com/albums/i...afilter=images

    First time using DSLR ~ Pls give advise how come using 1000D at 800ISO with tripod so noisy

  2. #2
    Senior Member Kit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Upper Bukit Timah
    Posts
    11,442

    Default Re: Need some comments!

    If you had a tripod, why use ISO 800???

  3. #3

    Default Re: Need some comments!

    ohh i tried at iso 100.. and it turn out very dark.. so i tot needed high iso for light? m i wrong?

  4. #4

    Default Re: Need some comments!

    Which mode are you using? You can open your aperture or use a longer shutter speed to make your picture brighter instead of ISO.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Numnumball's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Central
    Posts
    13,917

    Default Re: Need some comments!

    Shd keep ur ISO to the min possible if mounted on tripod (keep nosie level to e min) and shoot at wider f-nos to draw more light into ur sensor and try framing at sth brigther to increase exposure.

    Note : Less light in frame, smal aperture size and shorter shutter duration wil result in underexposre

    Hope the above helps
    I turned PRO in diaper chg!
    My Flickr|My Son

  6. #6

    Default Re: Need some comments!

    yup.. i was using iso 800 otherwise iso 400... shutter speed set to 20 second... which lead to low aperture.. am i right?

  7. #7

    Default Re: Need some comments!

    Hi, you can set your mode to manual, which will allow you to set both your shutter speed and aperture, as well as ISO speed.

  8. #8
    Member vdaddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Hong Kong - 上环
    Posts
    112

    Default Re: Need some comments!

    your white balance is also not adjusted for the street lights..therefore its a little too warm (orangy) i feel.

    that is my opinion lah..don't shoot me. you could change it to tungsten WB..then your lights would be more white than orange. that's my preference. =)

  9. #9
    Senior Member jtsky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Yishun
    Posts
    2,081

    Default Re: Need some comments!

    R u in 'S' mode or 'M' mode?
    If u r in S, the cam will select the aperture for u once u have choose ur shutter speed.
    In M, u have to manually set both.
    In both cases, using of ISO 800 is not necessary if u have tripod.
    It will be helpful if u can tell us more on the metering u use too.
    Last edited by jtsky; 1st September 2009 at 12:12 PM.

  10. #10
    Senior Member Numnumball's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Central
    Posts
    13,917

    Default Re: Need some comments!

    Quote Originally Posted by hyori View Post
    yup.. i was using iso 800 otherwise iso 400... shutter speed set to 20 second... which lead to low aperture.. am i right?
    It seems u are using shutter priority, for ur focal interest (landscape e.g.), u shd been using A priority or M mode (if u wan to go long exposure) to capture eveything from front to back in sharp focus (at least f8 & above)

    ISO shd still kept to a minimum.

    Thats the reciprocity law (shutter duration and aperture size)
    Shutter decrease in duration, aperture increase in size and vice versa.

    if ur low aperture is referring to big f stop nos, u are correct.
    I turned PRO in diaper chg!
    My Flickr|My Son

  11. #11

    Default Re: Need some comments!

    haha 1000D like no S mode.. i Use the AV..

  12. #12

    Default Re: Need some comments!

    Mostly i was on the AV mode.. that is Aperture priority right? set to max F stop ... i think was 32 ... ! Iso 800!

  13. #13
    Senior Member jtsky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Yishun
    Posts
    2,081

    Default Re: Need some comments!

    Quote Originally Posted by hyori View Post
    yup.. i was using iso 800 otherwise iso 400... shutter speed set to 20 second... which lead to low aperture.. am i right?
    Quote Originally Posted by hyori View Post
    haha 1000D like no S mode.. i Use the AV..
    If u r using AV mode, how is it possible u set the shutter speed to 20 sec? it will be determined by ur cam.

  14. #14
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,061

    Default Re: Need some comments!

    Quote Originally Posted by hyori View Post
    Mostly i was on the AV mode.. that is Aperture priority right? set to max F stop ... i think was 32 ... ! Iso 800!
    Do you really know what you are doing there? Why do you set f/32? That's inviting diffraction. F/16 is perfectly fine, f/11 sufficient. Use ISO 100 and Evaluative metering (check your manual). Do note that metering at night is tricky and the camera metering is fooled sometimes. In Av mode you use Exposure Compensation to adjust further. The aperture is set by you and shutter speed is determined by the camera based on metering results.
    In addition, do read about the very basics of exposure. No point tinkering around without some baseline knowledge.
    Photography Notes for Newbies
    EOS

  15. #15
    Senior Member ZerocoolAstra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    rainy Singapore
    Posts
    9,525

    Default Re: Need some comments!

    Quote Originally Posted by hyori View Post
    Mostly i was on the AV mode.. that is Aperture priority right? set to max F stop ... i think was 32 ... ! Iso 800!
    You should have experimented a bit more with the settings on the spot, then you'd have saved the trouble of having to ask, and possibly getting confused with the answers.

    You can try put to Av with ISO800, then:
    - shoot at f/32
    - shoot at f/22
    - shoot at f/11
    - shoot at f/5.6

    then repeat, this time at ISO200

    then repeat, this time changing the WB to tungsten or something

    With these 12 shots (or perhaps more), you should be able to deduce how the settings affect the picture output once you view the EXIF data.
    12 shots probably takes about 2-3 minutes to execute.
    Another 1 hour to transfer and review on PC.
    Within 1hr 15min you have your answers.
    Exploring! :)

  16. #16
    Senior Member jtsky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Yishun
    Posts
    2,081

    Default Re: Need some comments!

    Quote Originally Posted by hyori View Post
    yup.. i was using iso 800 otherwise iso 400... shutter speed set to 20 second... which lead to low aperture.. am i right?
    Quote Originally Posted by hyori View Post
    Mostly i was on the AV mode.. that is Aperture priority right? set to max F stop ... i think was 32 ... ! Iso 800!
    Initially u r telling us that u r using Shutter priority and set at 20secs, then u said u actually use AV mode, and f stop was set at 32.
    Very confusing. I guess u r in manual mode, and that why u r able to set both.

  17. #17

    Default Re: Need some comments!

    i did try a few shot.. maining on aperture setting.. by the way wad the diff of A-dept and AV?

  18. #18
    Senior Member ZerocoolAstra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    rainy Singapore
    Posts
    9,525

    Default Re: Need some comments!

    sorry dude.
    I don't understand what A-dept means.

    Are you asking why some cameras call it "A" and others "Av" ???

    Just different naming structure I guess.
    Nikon calls it
    P - Program Auto
    A - Aperture Priority
    S - Shutter Priority
    M - Manual

    Canon calls it
    P - Program Auto
    Av - Aperture Priority (aperture value)
    Tv - Shutter Priority (time value)
    M - Manual

    the rest I dunno
    Exploring! :)

  19. #19
    Senior Member ZerocoolAstra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    rainy Singapore
    Posts
    9,525

    Default Re: Need some comments!

    Just to clarify something, coz you sound very confused.

    In Av mode, you choose the aperture (eg. f/8, f/11, etc) and the camera calculates what the shutter speed should be in order to get the exposure required.
    In Tv mode, you choose the shutter speed (eg. 1/60s, etc) and the camera calculates what the aperture value should be in order to get the exposure required.

    BUT BUT BUT if you set it Tv and 1/250s for example, and the place is quite dim, the camera goes up to the maximum aperture it can reach (smallest f-number), and cannot go anymore than that. So on the 18-55 kit lens, it might go to f/3.5 and the picture might still be too dark.
    Exploring! :)

  20. #20

    Default Re: Need some comments!

    thanks for all the help guys~ i tink i am much clearer now... so can i say is manual preffered ? for night shots! .. will be going marina barrage for a shoot tml nite!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •