Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Usergroup Discussions > Underwater Photography

Underwater Photography All things nautically & photographically related. Dive in!!

Old 29th December 2003   #1
Lensman

Default Happy New Year

SawadeeKarp from Trang, Thailand

It has been 1 week+ since arriving Thailand.

Just returned from my LOB trip in the Adaman Seas, back to mainland Trang. Still suffering from post-sea syndrome ie. that rock-abye-baby felling of a LOB....

Was very fortunate this trip.

On the 2nd day's trip, at Hin Dang & Hin Muang, we got HUGE manta ray - about 8 - 10 m wide swing pass us 3 out of 3 dives !! 2 of them (as reported by the others on my team). We froze and watched.

Oh that graceful swing of the wingspan doing it's underwater ballet and that U-turn she made to get back to us for another swing...is just beyond words to describe.

Both had some kind of shark like fish at the belly. I only spot one and was chasing after her. That is to good thing about having Twin Jets, I get the speed that is needed.

Photos ? Yup, I got about 11 sets of 30sec clips on the video and about 5 shots. That Ray is too big for my flash to cover and it was nearly out in the open waters . Hence.

On the last dive of the day. She came so close to me, that along side me, and 3 other photographers gave chase....real chase. 2 Twin Jets, 1 Jet Fins and 1 propeller. AND that was when I have 50 bars and heading to my 5m safety stop. NVM. CHASE !!! From 12 to about 27.5m and then back up and down. Was equalizing as I swim and watching my guage & DC at the same time. Talk about multitasking. Another 3 clips later, was down to 30 bar and was at 25 m. Too risky. Time to head up. After safety stop, I have less than 10 bars. Broke record leh....

back on the boat, everyone was congratuating each other on the find. AND declared that we all have a headace.....EVERYONE.... so much for the yo-yo dive. I called that ray, Yo-Yo.....

Will be back on the 3rd Jan 04.

Happy NEW Year to you all.
Old 30th December 2003   #2
kng

8-10m Manta?!! Truly, Hin Daeng and Hin Muang are the best sites in the Krabi area!

Can't wait to see your photos and clips!! Please share ok???? ;D

Last edited by kng; 30th December 2003 at 01:19 AM.
Old 30th December 2003   #3
beivied

hai, so envy lensman ....
Sponsored Link
Old 30th December 2003   #4
lanxx

welcome back
Old 30th December 2003   #5
beivied

back? he is not back yet right? he told me he will be gone for three weeks.... ?...

uncle, written that he will be back on 03/01/2004 neh.. kekeke...
Old 3rd January 2004   #6
Lensman

Originally Posted by kng
8-10m Manta?!! Truly, Hin Daeng and Hin Muang are the best sites in the Krabi area!

Can't wait to see your photos and clips!! Please share ok???? ;D
Hi Hi

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL....

Just got home after 2 weeks in Trang (Thailand).....of LOB diving, snorkelling, Zzzz and just plain enjoying the cool sea breeze and sun tan......wished I can retire on a pension there and then... Wahhhahahahaa dun wan to come home....

Have gone thru about 3Gb worth of photos of the entire time in Trang. Will take a few days or weeks to sort them out....

Yes, will share them. Now can someone pls tell me how to share the video clip file ? They are a few MB each....

was using the Harigawa 60X 1Gb card. Frankly, and maybe coz it was a Canon S40, I can't seems to tell what the fuzz about 60X. Eh, not cheap leh...

But I will make noise about the 2.2Gb Mircodrive. Preview really takes a long while to display.
Old 3rd January 2004   #7
waisj

share man share... will have a Feast on this
Old 3rd January 2004   #8
kthan

SO..........lucky!
Old 3rd January 2004   #9
beivied

welcome back!

let us know when your stuff are ready to viewing... lets meet up , UWCS SEED IV! i think it would be better if we plan our meet ups after someone's dive trip....
Old 3rd January 2004   #10
waisj

UWCS V my dear.....
Old 3rd January 2004   #11
beivied

ah hahhaa.. paiseh paiseh ...
Old 14th January 2004   #12
Lensman

Here is the start of my humble dive trip to Trang.

For the non u/w pix of the same trip, scroll backwards...

Enjoy

Tech Note:

All photos are shot with Canon S40 at 4MPG on "Super fine mode". No strobe were used (Santa Claus didn't hear my message lah). That is for the original photos.

For the benefit of some of my overseas friend who dun have fast internet connections, the photos shown here were copies reduced to 800x600.

Notheless, I will show you the 8R prints at the next SEED.

Last edited by Lensman; 14th January 2004 at 09:48 PM.
Old 14th January 2004   #13
waisj

Originally Posted by Lensman

For the non u/w pix of the same trip, scroll backwards...

Enjoy

Tech Note:

All photos are shot with Canon S40 at 4MPG on "Super fine mode". No strobe were used (Santa Claus didn't hear my message lah). That is for the original photos.

For the benefit of some of my overseas friend who dun have fast internet connections, the photos shown here were copies reduced to 800x600.

Yeah baby yeah
ROTI John on you!!!!!!!!!!

welcome back after such a long absense
Old 14th January 2004   #14
Lensman

Originally Posted by waisj
Yeah baby yeah
ROTI John on you!!!!!!!!!!

welcome back after such a long absense
Thanks for the home coming.

Actually, I was back from Thailand, just after New Year and then off to Las Vegas for the following weekend.

Hence no sound, no picture.

This time for work. Just got back this afternoon, after a 30 hrs flight. U

S Airport security is a nightmare for innocent travellers like me...

Will share some of limied Las Vegas shots when I have got more Zzzz....
Old 14th January 2004   #15
beivied

welcome back! ^_^

went through your pictures... saw a dolphin right??? how nice, keke...
Old 15th January 2004   #16
lovells19

Originally Posted by beivied
welcome back! ^_^

nice tank color hahahaha :P

very nice leh the places.. how long were you there?
Old 15th January 2004   #17
kng

Originally Posted by Lensman

Enjoy

Thanks Lensman for sharing your photos! Really makes me feel like travelling and diving NOW!! Wah - your manta ray looks super big - must have been such a treat! Was it nice and friendly??

To edit the video clips from a canon digicam, you need a videoediting program like Adobe Premiere, Ulead, Pinnacle or the free microsoft moviemaker 2 (download from ms website, only for XP). You may also need to download the M-Jpeg (motion-jpeg) codec - PM me if you need further info.
Old 15th January 2004   #18
beivied

Originally Posted by kng
Thanks Lensman for sharing your photos! Really makes me feel like travelling and diving NOW!! Wah - your manta ray looks super big - must have been such a treat! Was it nice and friendly??

To edit the video clips from a canon digicam, you need a videoediting program like Adobe Premiere, Ulead, Pinnacle or the free microsoft moviemaker 2 (download from ms website, only for XP). You may also need to download the M-Jpeg (motion-jpeg) codec - PM me if you need further info.

take it from him - he is our UWCS official videoman
Old 15th January 2004   #19
Lensman

Originally Posted by beivied
welcome back! ^_^

That must be the heavenly sign of blessing, that we get to see that 8m wide manta....

She must be having a fun time swimming circles around us. One swoop of the wings, and she made a U-turn in the waters and away from us. Next turn, she's back.....
Old 15th January 2004   #20
Lensman

Originally Posted by lovells19
nice tank color hahahaha :P

very nice leh the places.. how long were you there?
I was in Trang for 2 weeks. About 3 days or so on that LOB, the rest, just laze around and read book. Then sometimes goes snorkelling with their tour group.
Closed Thread