Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 32

Thread: getting bokeh with standard canon kit

  1. #1

    Default getting bokeh with standard canon kit

    issit possible to achieve bokeh with a normal 18 - 55 IS canon 1000 D? pls advise!

  2. #2

    Default Re: getting bokeh with standard canon kit

    You need to go closer to the subject in order to get the background blur

  3. #3

    Default Re: getting bokeh with standard canon kit

    make sure got ALOT of space between the subject and the background loh. Whether it's light disc, or donuts.. is another case altogether.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    261

    Default Re: getting bokeh with standard canon kit

    well 18-55mm able to get a decent bokeh if you know how to use it :]
    try to zoom in at 55mm during the afternoon where the sun right above you.

    shot taken with kit lens:
    Nikon D300s|D80|11-16 f2.8|17-50 f2.8|70-200 f2.8|35 f1.8|SB800|

  5. #5
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,422

    Default Re: getting bokeh with standard canon kit

    Quote Originally Posted by hyori View Post
    issit possible to achieve bokeh with a normal 18 - 55 IS canon 1000 D? pls advise!
    Bokeh is the quality of the out-of-focus part of the picture. There are many factors contributing to this and everybody has a different perception about what is pleasing to his/her eyes. What kind of bokeh meets your personal "pleasing criteria" we cannot advice. But as mentioned by others: you can increase the emphasis on the out-of-focus area by using the longest end of the focal range, the widest aperture, getting the object as close as possible to the lens and having the background as far as possible.

  6. #6
    Senior Member ZerocoolAstra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    rainy Singapore
    Posts
    9,522

    Default Re: getting bokeh with standard canon kit

    Quote Originally Posted by ziincx
    well 18-55mm able to get a decent bokeh if you know how to use it :]
    try to zoom in at 55mm during the afternoon where the sun right above you.

    shot taken with kit lens:
    You are very helpful to you!
    Exploring! :)

  7. #7

    Default Re: getting bokeh with standard canon kit

    hi sorry... so i should use focal 3.5 or 5.6??? and wad setting? i was using AV... been trying but still not fantastic

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    1,337

    Default Re: getting bokeh with standard canon kit

    Quote Originally Posted by hyori View Post
    hi sorry... so i should use focal 3.5 or 5.6??? and wad setting? i was using AV... been trying but still not fantastic
    use the widest aperture possible. zoom in to 55mm and get nearer to your subject as possible. if you're really bokeh-siao then maybe you can consider lens like 50mm f1.8?

  9. #9

    Default Re: getting bokeh with standard canon kit

    hi,

    use a much lower f which means opening your aperture to focus on the subject.

    the wider the aperture the better.

  10. #10

    Default Re: getting bokeh with standard canon kit

    btw... just to check.. do u on ur flash usually ? does it affect bokeh??

  11. #11

    Default Re: getting bokeh with standard canon kit

    also. . the focal dial is the scroll thing rite?? when i increase the aperture.. the shutter timing will increase too?

  12. #12
    Senior Member sinned79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    10,858

    Default Re: getting bokeh with standard canon kit

    Quote Originally Posted by hyori View Post
    btw... just to check.. do u on ur flash usually ? does it affect bokeh??
    use AV mode switch to the highest f stop (meaning lowest number say 3.5), then use focus point at the center.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    1,337

    Default Re: getting bokeh with standard canon kit

    Quote Originally Posted by hyori View Post
    also. . the focal dial is the scroll thing rite?? when i increase the aperture.. the shutter timing will increase too?
    http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=309544

    You should refer to this thread..

  14. #14
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,422

    Default Re: getting bokeh with standard canon kit

    Quote Originally Posted by hyori View Post
    hi sorry... so i should use focal 3.5 or 5.6??? and wad setting? i was using AV... been trying but still not fantastic
    Neither 3.5 nor 5.6 is "focal" - please read up about the basics: Photography Notes for Newbies The sticky threads are there for a purpose. Another great link (from zoossh's guide): A Tedious Explanation of the f/stop It makes it much easier for you to learn if you use the terms in a correct way.
    The numbers you have mentioned are the maximum Aperture - the maximum possible opening of the lens. The maximum varies with your kit lens, at 18mm (focal length!) the maximum aperture is f/3.5; at 55mn it is f/5.6.
    Regarding the Av mode just read your manual. Those modes have a purpose. You can also use P mode and adjust the exposure, the camera will change aperture and shutter speed for you. Just watch your display.

  15. #15
    Member luntut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Punggol
    Posts
    1,883

    Default Re: getting bokeh with standard canon kit

    Quote Originally Posted by hyori View Post
    also. . the focal dial is the scroll thing rite?? when i increase the aperture.. the shutter timing will increase too?
    why dont you spend one day out, and EXPERIMENT with all the settings.

    I can bet my camera on it that you will learn MUCH FASTER experiencing the difference, then sitting at your desk and typing and asking.

    come on. HANDS ON dude. HANDS ON. otherwise, why have a camera.
    Fast Camera. Fast Lens. Slow Me. Sigh.
    My Flickr

  16. #16

    Default Re: getting bokeh with standard canon kit

    yes.. just that you will probably be more limited.

    depth of field , like i always say (and as is understood commonly).. is dependent on three things.

    1) camera-subject in relation to camera-background distance. if your background is far enough from the camera, then you can and will always get bokeh easily.

    2) focal length. given the same aperture setting , all other things being equal, a longer focal length will have more thrown out of focus.

    3) aperture setting lor. bigger aperture , or smaller f-stop number = more bokeh.

    so either, go close to subject (there are limitations).. or extend to longest focal length, or open up aperture, best is do a combination of all three, i.e. shoot at 55mm, as close to subject as possible (without distortion) and open up the aperture to widest.

  17. #17

    Default Re: getting bokeh with standard canon kit

    Quote Originally Posted by hyori View Post
    hi sorry... so i should use focal 3.5 or 5.6??? and wad setting? i was using AV... been trying but still not fantastic
    Quote Originally Posted by hyori View Post
    btw... just to check.. do u on ur flash usually ? does it affect bokeh??
    Quote Originally Posted by hyori View Post
    also. . the focal dial is the scroll thing rite?? when i increase the aperture.. the shutter timing will increase too?
    i regret even posting an answer after i read this.

    shooting away questions without even bothering to understand photography yourself, before asking.. that is pretty disgusting i-want-spoonfeeding self-entitled behaviour.

    don't be lazy!

  18. #18
    Senior Member ZerocoolAstra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    rainy Singapore
    Posts
    9,522

    Default Re: getting bokeh with standard canon kit

    Newbie = helpless and must be spoon-fed with information...

    what to do? this is the prevalent culture.
    Some then say "not happy don't post reply", but then... (??) sigh...
    Exploring! :)

  19. #19
    Moderator ziploc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Snoopyland
    Posts
    4,577

    Default Re: getting bokeh with standard canon kit

    Quote Originally Posted by ZerocoolAstra View Post
    Newbie = helpless and must be spoon-fed with information...

    what to do? this is the prevalent culture.
    Some then say "not happy don't post reply", but then... (??) sigh...
    So are you telling me that you can be rude to them if they are clueless?

    Everyone of us need to start off somewhere, and many of us started off just like them, clueless. Think of the many who had helped you one way or another when you were newbie. Think of how you would feel if you were scoff off by the seniors back then. There are one too many rude remarks I've seen in the newbies forum. If you really want to make the forum a better place and willing to come here and help out the newbies, do it with sincerity and kindness. Do it with your heart. Point them to the right direction or resources that they need, or at least tell them how to find them.

  20. #20

    Default Re: getting bokeh with standard canon kit

    Hi just to clarify myself.. i was playing with my camera while posting on this. the reason i ask some is because i m clueless after i am trying. for instance. when i do the scroll thing.. the F 3.6 went up... F22... etc... so i am just curious if this is consider focal. and also why issit that the shutter speed (speed to take the picture) is longer.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •