Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 26

Thread: Can't fire the Camera with a lens on

  1. #1

    Default Can't fire the Camera with a lens on

    hi all,

    I'm having a situation right now, where currently i'm having my vacation...

    I can't fire my camera with one of my lens on, but i can with another lens.

    Any idea what is the problem? i believe this should be a lens problem, since i dont have a problem when the other lens is being used.

    this is my first time encountering such an issue..and to make it worst.. it happened on my trip which i rely on this lens a lot as this is my walk-around lens.

    Thanks in advance for all the advice.

  2. #2
    Member eosandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Land of smiles
    Posts
    842

    Default Re: Can't fire the Camera with a lens on

    Need more info like cam and lens type, however i would look at the electrical contacts on the non-working lens first.
    Learning DSLR control http://stormtrigger.blogspot.com/

  3. #3

    Default Re: Can't fire the Camera with a lens on

    hi,

    my camera is canon 450D and also it's a kit lens Canon 18-55mm IS..

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    East
    Posts
    609

    Default Re: Can't fire the Camera with a lens on

    Are you talking about flash or shutter?

  5. #5
    Member eosandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Land of smiles
    Posts
    842

    Default Re: Can't fire the Camera with a lens on

    Can you try the non-working lens on another body to minimise the possibilities?
    CSC would be the best bet as diy may cause more probs...
    Learning DSLR control http://stormtrigger.blogspot.com/

  6. #6

    Default Re: Can't fire the Camera with a lens on

    Clean the contacts? Does the autofocus work too?

  7. #7

    Default Re: Can't fire the Camera with a lens on

    autofocus cant work..same goes for manual focus.

    it's the shutter that cant fire cos it cant find the focus point.

    i believe i will need to bring it down to csc when i'm back cos my prime lens is working perfectly on my camera.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Western SG
    Posts
    1,537

    Default Re: Can't fire the Camera with a lens on

    Most likely lens problem.

    So either use your prime lens or see there are any lens rental service over there.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ang Mo Kio
    Posts
    1,325

    Default Re: Can't fire the Camera with a lens on

    Quote Originally Posted by Jaybaokong View Post
    autofocus cant work..same goes for manual focus.

    it's the shutter that cant fire cos it cant find the focus point.

    i believe i will need to bring it down to csc when i'm back cos my prime lens is working perfectly on my camera.
    Is there an option to place priority on shutter release rather than focus? Coz on my Nikon, there's an option that lets you set the camera to not take a picture if there is nothing in focus. If your 450D has that too, maybe that might be one of the reasons?
    incywincyspider climbup the waterspout...

  10. #10

    Default Re: Can't fire the Camera with a lens on

    well, sad to say that there is no lens rental in UK.. and to bring it down to canon service centre in UK is going to be a chore.. and therefore right now, what i can do is to rely on my PNS camera.. which is kinda sad.. cos there are some nice angles that i would like to take.. but failed to reach with the limitation of a PNS.

    Therefore, i have learnt a lesson.. Always have your PNS with you cos you never know what is going to happen.. Next is to bring your gear for a check up prior your trip cos you dont want to miss any moments..

    As much as I am tempted to get a new lens here, i dont tink i will cos the lens are not covered by international warranty.. and you never know what is going to happen.. just like mine..

    It's Murphy's law though cos my fren was telling me that "lens only mah.. why worry on the warranty".. and true enough for my case, i think the warranty really comes in handy..

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Clementi
    Posts
    10,596

    Default Re: Can't fire the Camera with a lens on

    Quote Originally Posted by Jaybaokong View Post
    well, sad to say that there is no lens rental in UK.. and to bring it down to canon service centre in UK is going to be a chore.. and therefore right now, what i can do is to rely on my PNS camera.. which is kinda sad.. cos there are some nice angles that i would like to take.. but failed to reach with the limitation of a PNS.

    Therefore, i have learnt a lesson.. Always have your PNS with you cos you never know what is going to happen.. Next is to bring your gear for a check up prior your trip cos you dont want to miss any moments..

    As much as I am tempted to get a new lens here, i dont tink i will cos the lens are not covered by international warranty.. and you never know what is going to happen.. just like mine..

    It's Murphy's law though cos my fren was telling me that "lens only mah.. why worry on the warranty".. and true enough for my case, i think the warranty really comes in handy..
    I do believe Canon lenses are covered by international warranty; only their SLR bodies are covered by local warranties.

    BTW, try what Karnage has suggested by setting your kit lens to manual focus and try to shoot.

  12. #12
    Senior Member ZerocoolAstra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    rainy Singapore
    Posts
    9,523

    Default Re: Can't fire the Camera with a lens on

    Quote Originally Posted by Jaybaokong View Post
    autofocus cant work..same goes for manual focus.

    it's the shutter that cant fire cos it cant find the focus point.

    i believe i will need to bring it down to csc when i'm back cos my prime lens is working perfectly on my camera.
    So it can't achieve focus lock, probably because the focusing motor is kaput.
    Strange why manual focus also can't. You mean the whole focusing mechanism is jammed up? You turn the focus ring and it's stuck?
    Exploring! :)

  13. #13

    Default Re: Can't fire the Camera with a lens on

    Quote Originally Posted by calebk View Post
    I do believe Canon lenses are covered by international warranty; only their SLR bodies are covered by local warranties.

    BTW, try what Karnage has suggested by setting your kit lens to manual focus and try to shoot.
    hmm.. i dont think so it is covered by international warranty.. cos i emailed the shop in UK to enquire on the warranty and the reply was that the warranty is covered in UK and not international warranty..

    well, i did try manual focus too.. but it just dont fire..

  14. #14
    Member sf_kang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    642

    Default Re: Can't fire the Camera with a lens on

    you say your kit lens cannot autofocus. this means the shutter will not fire if you selected 'focus priority' mode. this makes sense.
    you also say you cannot manual focus? try setting to manual mode for everything, i.e. manually focus, manually set aperture, manually set shutter speed. if this works, then there is nothing wrong with your camera body, and the problem is with the lens. just use the manual setting for now until you get home and send the lens to csc for checking.

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Pasir Ris, Singapore
    Posts
    14,002

    Default Re: Can't fire the Camera with a lens on

    Quote Originally Posted by Jaybaokong View Post
    hi all,

    I'm having a situation right now, where currently i'm having my vacation...

    I can't fire my camera with one of my lens on, but i can with another lens.

    Any idea what is the problem? i believe this should be a lens problem, since i dont have a problem when the other lens is being used.

    this is my first time encountering such an issue..and to make it worst.. it happened on my trip which i rely on this lens a lot as this is my walk-around lens.

    Thanks in advance for all the advice.
    I used to have a prob years ago when i was using a Tamron 28-300 with 10D. Everytime i tried to fire a shot, the whole camera shuts down. I tried with my friend's 300D and also the same thing happened.

    So i brought it back to Tamron to have it checked and found that there are problems with the lens itself and was sent over to Japan for repairs. Waited for abt 2mths and fortunately, my warranty was still valid.

    So u might want to have the lens checked.
    Canon EOS 5D, 24-70 f/4 L IS, 50 f/1.2 L, 70-300 f/4-5.6 L IS, 600EX-RT. Sigma 12-24 f/4.5-5.6 EX.

  16. #16

    Default Re: Can't fire the Camera with a lens on

    Also make sure you're not focusing on something closer than MFD of the lens. It's not likely, but possible that we overlook things like this - in such a case focus will not lock, auto or manual.
    Canon 5Dm2/17-40f4/24-70f2.8/24-105f4IS/70-200f2.8IS/85f1.2/100f2.8M/135f2
    Gallery

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Pasir Ris, Singapore
    Posts
    14,002

    Default Re: Can't fire the Camera with a lens on

    Quote Originally Posted by HougangMan View Post
    Also make sure you're not focusing on something closer than MFD of the lens. It's not likely, but possible that we overlook things like this - in such a case focus will not lock, auto or manual.
    I doubt that's the issue.
    Canon EOS 5D, 24-70 f/4 L IS, 50 f/1.2 L, 70-300 f/4-5.6 L IS, 600EX-RT. Sigma 12-24 f/4.5-5.6 EX.

  18. #18
    Moderator PhotoProZero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NorthEast
    Posts
    1,638

    Default Re: Can't fire the Camera with a lens on

    I had the same problem with my 17 - 85mm. It was the contacts problem. Tried cleaning it myself but cldnt had to bring in to CSC to have it serviced....sorry to hear that.....

  19. #19

    Default Re: Can't fire the Camera with a lens on

    Can your camera detect the lens? Look at the Apreture if it's detected or not. If not try cleaning the gold plates on the lens

  20. #20

    Default Re: Can't fire the Camera with a lens on

    tried cleaning the contacts, but still dont work.. anyway, i will be sending it to CSC for a check tml and will update all on the results..

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •