Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Color Space for lab processing

  1. #1

    Default Color Space for lab processing

    Hi, I was wondering what type of color space (sRGB or AdobeRGB) does those photo lab accept or using to process digital image?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore / Japan / China
    Posts
    1,928

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jimtong
    Hi, I was wondering what type of color space (sRGB or AdobeRGB) does those photo lab accept or using to process digital image?
    i normally convert to sRGB before sending lab print, but what the lab does on their end, i dunno

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The heart of the Abyss
    Posts
    2,307

    Default

    For the run of the mill shops, I will recommend sRGB. Unless the shop knows how to handle AdobeRGB, don't give it to them!

  4. #4

    Default

    from what I understand,

    lab machines do not read profiles, they use the actual "numbers" of the colors to print. Profiles are like translation tables to explain the numbers.

    hence if you have a calibrated monitor, that last step you do is to convert to the printing profile, which will change the actual numbers of the file to compensate for the printing. Hence when you changed it to the printing profile, the colors may change abit wacky.

    look at

    www.drycreek.com for more info

    cheers

  5. #5

    Default

    printing profile care to elaborate further how to convert to this profile? Thanks.. I think the URL you have posted is under construction.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jimtong
    printing profile care to elaborate further how to convert to this profile? Thanks.. I think the URL you have posted is under construction.
    I believe the correct url should be http://www.drycreekphoto.com/

    To convert to another profile, do Image->Mode->Convert to Profile then choose the desired profile.

    Regards
    CK

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The heart of the Abyss
    Posts
    2,307

    Default

    Please read the above site and DPReview's Pro forum carefully.

    The profile thing, sigh . It does matter. Only if your image is in Lab mode (aka L*a*b) does it not matter. Do not convert to the destination profile; that is totally wrong! . Doesn't anyone understand what different color space are and how to use them?

    What you need to do is have the profile and under View->Proof Setup, see the image with the destination profile with gamut warning on if you want. This will 1)tell you what it will look like if you print it out, provided the profile is accurate 2) warn you what parts are not printable and give you a chance to make the changes yourself.

    Please read the books I had recommended on colorspace before; use the search function.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The heart of the Abyss
    Posts
    2,307

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ckiang
    I believe the correct url should be http://www.drycreekphoto.com/

    To convert to another profile, do Image->Mode->Convert to Profile then choose the desired profile.

    Regards
    CK
    Please don't go around and convert left, right and centre. There are rounding errors and doing it too much can spoil a picture.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Watcher
    Please don't go around and convert left, right and centre. There are rounding errors and doing it too much can spoil a picture.
    I am too lazy to do that, so all my images destined for the lab are converted once to sRGB.

    Regards
    CK

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ckiang
    I am too lazy to do that, so all my images destined for the lab are converted once to sRGB.

    Regards
    CK
    better still, work in sRGB all the way, no conversion needed.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by erwinx
    better still, work in sRGB all the way, no conversion needed.
    Right. Unless absolute colour accuracy is required (e.g. pre-press work, etc). For the most of us, I think it probably don't matter a lot.

    Regards
    CK

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The heart of the Abyss
    Posts
    2,307

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by erwinx
    better still, work in sRGB all the way, no conversion needed.
    Which I said on the third post...

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •