Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: F4 plus flash good enough for Dim light settings?

  1. #1

    Default F4 plus flash good enough for Dim light settings?

    Hi All, if me using eg. tokina 12-24 f4 is it suitable for?

    1)in a dim light settings like wedding with flash. will i get blur shots too often due to movement.
    2)in open area will get blur shots since is f4?

    Many thanks : )

  2. #2
    Moderator Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,779

    Default Re: F4 plus flash good enough for Dim light settings?

    actually it also depends on your iso.
    sigh.

  3. #3

    Default Re: F4 plus flash good enough for Dim light settings?

    honestly its hard for anyone to tell u because we have no idea how dark the place will be. but if u are using a reasonable shutter speed like 1/60 or more, it shld be pretty safe. the problem is that you might not get a good exposure for the background or your flash might be firing at full power.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default Re: F4 plus flash good enough for Dim light settings?

    play around with the shutter speeds to get the effect u want. the faster the shutter speed, the lesses ambient lighting will be captured and the greater the effect of your flash lighting. btw, setting the shutter speed doesn't affect the flash power unless you're using high speed sync (i.e. very fast shutter speed beyond the x-sync speed of your camera).
    Last edited by mpenza; 20th August 2009 at 12:01 PM.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Pasir Ris, Singapore
    Posts
    14,002

    Default Re: F4 plus flash good enough for Dim light settings?

    Quote Originally Posted by welisha View Post
    Hi All, if me using eg. tokina 12-24 f4 is it suitable for?

    1)in a dim light settings like wedding with flash. will i get blur shots too often due to movement.
    2)in open area will get blur shots since is f4?

    Many thanks : )
    Enough. In fact more than enough.
    Canon EOS 5D, 24-70 f/4 L IS, 50 f/1.2 L, 70-300 f/4-5.6 L IS, 600EX-RT. Sigma 12-24 f/4.5-5.6 EX.

  6. #6

    Default Re: F4 plus flash good enough for Dim light settings?

    Do note that at 18mm (12mm on 1.5x crop), you only need a shutter speed of about 1/18s (Theoretical)

    This is why I favour WAs for low-light

  7. #7

    Default Re: F4 plus flash good enough for Dim light settings?

    you can try dragging the shutter if you want to light the background at the same time keep the target sharp.
    5DMk2,400D,EOS3 50mm F1.4,28-75 F2.8,GRDIII 28mm F1.9
    www.flickr.com/jenson_goh

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Pasir Ris, Singapore
    Posts
    14,002

    Default Re: F4 plus flash good enough for Dim light settings?

    Quote Originally Posted by blurry80 View Post
    you can try dragging the shutter if you want to light the background at the same time keep the target sharp.
    That also depends how stable u can handhold.
    Canon EOS 5D, 24-70 f/4 L IS, 50 f/1.2 L, 70-300 f/4-5.6 L IS, 600EX-RT. Sigma 12-24 f/4.5-5.6 EX.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Lomographer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Paterson Road
    Posts
    2,047

    Default Re: F4 plus flash good enough for Dim light settings?

    Quote Originally Posted by welisha View Post
    Hi All, if me using eg. tokina 12-24 f4 is it suitable for?

    1)in a dim light settings like wedding with flash. will i get blur shots too often due to movement.
    2)in open area will get blur shots since is f4?

    Many thanks : )
    as many have said, we reckon it's not gonna be much problem.

    which camera are you using? how does it hold up at higher iso?
    Pentax K-x

  10. #10

    Default Re: F4 plus flash good enough for Dim light settings?

    Quote Originally Posted by Lomographer View Post
    as many have said, we reckon it's not gonna be much problem.

    which camera are you using? how does it hold up at higher iso?
    Hi all thanks for the advices. I'm using D300. i have not try anyting above 1600iso. usually i still at 1250 or less. : )

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •