Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: help in choosing hoods for lense...

Default help in choosing hoods for lense...

hi... im newbie here... so can somebody tell me what the use of lense hoods and how different lenses comes with different hoods..?? i want to buy nikon 55-200mm lense, do i need to buy the hoods as i often take outdoor picture and if needed, what kind of hoods are suggested...??

thank...

Default Re: help in choosing hoods for lense...

Quote Originally Posted by KingOfNoobs View Post
    hi... im newbie here... so can somebody tell me what the use of lense hoods and how different lenses comes with different hoods..?? i want to buy nikon 55-200mm lense, do i need to buy the hoods as i often take outdoor picture and if needed, what kind of hoods are suggested...??

thank...
    Hi, I am a newbie here too.

saw this website before... hope it helps.

http://www.the-digital-picture.com/C...ens-Hoods.aspx

hi... thanks for sharing... its very helpfull... cheers... =D

Certain lenses come already with lens hood. Check the online information about the lens you want to buy. There are also some third party lens hoods. Some use the bayonet mount, some use the filter thread. Hoya has rubber lens hoods that fit the filter thread and can be adjusted (extended or pushed back) according focal length. Try with your camera before buying to make sure you don't get vignetting at the wider end.

Can someone write a sticky on lens hoods? Like how it can be used to knock potential cam snatchers/robbers

And also remember petal hoods are the wrong choice if the front element of your lens rotates.
    Alpha

Quote Originally Posted by dennisc View Post
    Can someone write a sticky on lens hoods? Like how it can be used to knock potential cam snatchers/robbers
    I use the lens hood to protect the front element. Can or not?
    Alpha

mine acts as a rain shelter

Quote Originally Posted by Rashkae View Post
    I use the lens hood to protect the front element. Can or not?