Thread: how to focus when object is not still?

Default how to focus when object is not still?

i'm new in digital, notice it is quite hard for me to focus clearly when shooting activities pics.

any advise how can i do it?

i brought my kids for outing and would like to take some pics of them while they are having fun time. find it hard to focus as they are moving. i can of course ask them to keep still and pose, but that is not what i want.

I don't know what camera you are using but one way would be to use a small aperture (large f number eg. 8) and prefocus slightly in front of where the kids are playing and fire away. The small aperture gives you more room due to the greater depth of field. I believe you are talking about outdoors so you should still get pretty decent shuttle speed (minimize motion blur and camera shake) with a small aperture.

You can either pre-focus on a stationary object of the same distance (half press) or turn autofocus off then recompose and shoot.

I imagine a bubble around me when I have prefocused on something, and since the edges of the bubble is all the same distance, i'll fire when the subject breaches the bubble.

If your aperature is too large, the range of focus is too narrow and thus lesser chance for success. Try using a mid aperature if possible

i'm using c750uz

outdoor shooting not so bad, indoor is worst when i need to turn on the flash. The blur-rate is higher in indoor than outdoor.

i find it more difficult when using manual focus as object is moving and distance is changing. using pre focus is what i did, but it is still not a sure win focus.

guess more practise

Quote Originally Posted by lonelyarine
    i'm new in digital, notice it is quite hard for me to focus clearly when shooting activities pics.

any advise how can i do it?