Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Checking frames used in a camera?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    59

    Default Checking frames used in a camera?

    I'm trying to buy a second hand camera and seller says it only used certain number of frames. How do I check it? I looking at canon 500D and 50D. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Checking frames used in a camera?

    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  3. #3
    Deregistered rgy1993's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    994

    Default Re: Checking frames used in a camera?

    its called shutter count..
    rest assured though, cameras as new as the 50D and 500D will not be anywhere near their approximate 100,000 shutter cycle unless the person using it is some sort of drive mode maniac haha

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    59

    Default Re: Checking frames used in a camera?

    thanks for the replies. do you know where i see the shutter count? is it in the menu somewhere?

  5. #5
    Deregistered rgy1993's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    994

    Default Re: Checking frames used in a camera?

    well you can sort of roughly estimate... i know theres software out there that will tell you the exact number but realisticly have a look at the image number... not sure if its the same for nikon but canon cameras go from img0001-img9999 the number basically tells you how many pictures have been taken and that is how many shutter actuations it goes through... this isnt always reliable though because the camera will not record a change in img number when its shooting directly plugged into the computer or you've gone over 9999 and reset to 0.. which i've done with mine xD

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    59

    Default Re: Checking frames used in a camera?

    yeah! i don't think i can rely on the image number since you can always reset it back to 0. guess i'd have to take the seller's word on how much the shutter count is. i'll also check out if there's a software do it.
    thanks again!

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Johor Bahru, Malaysia
    Posts
    1,763

    Default Re: Checking frames used in a camera?

    there's an 3rd party software to check for shutter count...
    google for previewextractor
    Stirring up emotions with pics - cyliew

  8. #8

    Default Re: Checking frames used in a camera?

    Quote Originally Posted by ijnek View Post
    there's an 3rd party software to check for shutter count...
    google for previewextractor
    does it matter?or u mean after 100000, u have to buy a new dslr?
    "Liverpool was made for me and I was made for Liverpool"

  9. #9
    Member watsup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Little Red Dot
    Posts
    347

    Default Re: Checking frames used in a camera?

    just have to change the shutter box i think

  10. #10
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,392

    Default Re: Checking frames used in a camera?

    Quote Originally Posted by rgy1993 View Post
    well you can sort of roughly estimate... i know theres software out there that will tell you the exact number but realisticly have a look at the image number... not sure if its the same for nikon but canon cameras go from img0001-img9999 the number basically tells you how many pictures have been taken and that is how many shutter actuations it goes through... this isnt always reliable though because the camera will not record a change in img number when its shooting directly plugged into the computer or you've gone over 9999 and reset to 0.. which i've done with mine xD
    Secondly, it can be changed / manipulated. Shot an image, change the file name in computer and shot the next .. the camera will continue at the new numbering, regardless what was the last shot number before. No gauge at all.
    Best is using the dedicated software (for Digic IV processors) or Opanda which is able to extract the shutter count from Exif (haven't tried yet).

  11. #11
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,392

    Default Re: Checking frames used in a camera?

    Quote Originally Posted by watsup View Post
    just have to change the shutter box i think
    Not necessarily. It's not like engine oil or break fluid of a car. Some shutters break at 10k, others far beyond the average expected shutter count.
    Check this website of Camera Shutter Life Expectancy Database for statistical data. No guarantee that your camera will perform the same way. No data yet for the 500D and 50D - simply because they are not long enough in the market to get reliable data for shutter failures. Which in return means: no bigger issues known at the moment, quite safe to get one 2nd hand.

  12. #12

    Default Re: Checking frames used in a camera?

    Not necessarily. It's not like engine oil or break fluid of a car. Some shutters break at 10k, others far beyond the average expected shutter count.
    Check this website of Camera Shutter Life Expectancy Database for statistical data. No guarantee that your camera will perform the same way. No data yet for the 500D and 50D - simply because they are not long enough in the market to get reliable data for shutter failures. Which in return means: no bigger issues known at the moment, quite safe to get one 2nd hand.
    Correct...My friend's D200 shutter died at about 206k although the camera manufacturer claims 150k shutter life expectancy.On the other hand, I read about this pro PJ whose 1D Mk2 shutter had bent shutter blades at only 40K shutter count.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    59

    Default Re: Checking frames used in a camera?

    Quote Originally Posted by PrimePhotog View Post
    Correct...My friend's D200 shutter died at about 206k although the camera manufacturer claims 150k shutter life expectancy.On the other hand, I read about this pro PJ whose 1D Mk2 shutter had bent shutter blades at only 40K shutter count.
    sorry but what do I do if the shutter breaks? do i buy a new camera? or can the shutter be replaced?

  14. #14
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,392

    Default Re: Checking frames used in a camera?

    Quote Originally Posted by thinslicing View Post
    sorry but what do I do if the shutter breaks? do i buy a new camera? or can the shutter be replaced?
    Standard replacement service by all respective service centers. Call them to get the details.

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    59

    Default Re: Checking frames used in a camera?

    thanks all!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •