Thread: Where to find a Vivitar 285HV flash?

Smile Where to find a Vivitar 285HV flash?

Hi all,
    I've just read some articles about strobist and got excited. As they recommended, I'm looking for a Vivitar 285HV flash, to play wireless with trigger. But I don't know which store's still selling it. Help me please.
    Btw, I have no experience playing strobist with K20D. If you have, give me some instructions please.
    Thank you very much.

Default Re: Where to find a Vivitar 285HV flash?

Someone is selling here.

Lightbulb Re: Where to find a Vivitar 285HV flash?

Ya, did a search and saw a few CSers selling it. Can consider getting it but still looking for info on the functions & usage before committing...

Anyone care to share experiences while using the flash with P cams?

e.g. differences between using it with K100D & K10D...

Quote Originally Posted by Limited View Post
    Someone is selling here.
    May the force be with you...

I'm using a similar 'auto' vari-power flash. I believe the Vivitar 285HV are out of production, but there are other copycat models, like the Cactus KF36 and probably a Sunpak model that you can look for. They work in similar ways. First of all, you pick an ISO you want to use and dial it in (mine has some sort of a slide rule). Then you have a choice of ~3-4 power ranges which are probably indicated by different colours. Each of this colour has an aperture setting and a distance range where that power setting can be used. Make sure your subject is within that range, set your DSLR to M or X mode, then set ISO and Aperture (according to the power colour) on your DSLR.