![]() |
|
|
#21 |
|
|
Kudos to Slacker! I agree...dun be deceived by the looks....it really melts into your palm! The feel is just right. None too big, just nice. The batt holder makes you feel good about taking vertical shots too! Ain't i right? Slacker!!! Cheerios!
|
|
|
|
|
#22 |
|
|
Sigh.. bought this camera 2 days ago as we are travelling tommorow.
Worked flawlessly, turned it on today and yeah its gone nuts. Identical symptoms to the original poster. Now I will probably have to get a stupid disposable so that we can take some holiday snaps. Olympus may need to do a recall or something.. it seems like a fairly common problem. Salt. |
|
|
#23 |
|
|
Hey, better go change....they do it for you immediately....any chance of getting to the service centre before you fly?
|
|
|
| Sponsored Link |
|
|
#24 |
|
|
We are leaving at 7:30 tomorrow morning flying out to New Zealand. so no time to return it to where we bought it.
I see that Oly have an agent in the city we are flying into, does anyone know if oly will honour warranty in a country other than the one the camera was purchased in ? Cheers, Salt. |
|
|
#25 | |
|
|
Thanks a lot for your help. Best. |
|
|
|
|
|
#26 | |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#27 | |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#28 | |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#29 | |
|
|
Heard from a friend that he already bought the batt grip locally liao.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#30 |
|
|
Just to share...
I suspect most of the problem experience by the users here is due to the camera's software version. For my first C-5060 got the following problem: 1. "program-shift mode" was not working. 2. "Frame Assit shooting" did not show the frame that a user supposes to see (what show in the manual). So after highlighting to OLY(Singapore) I manage to get a one to one exchange with them. For my 2nd(exchanged one) camera. Problem 2. was solved, Problem 1. seem like not working still. So I called OLY again to check. Found out that, The Problem 1.(Prog Shift mode). The percentage of shift is very small as compare to the "A" and "S" shooting mode so you need more light to really ensure it functioning. ie you probably can only use the Prog shift mode outdoor. After all this experience, I found out that the version of the software on the first camera is (V756-76) and the second camera is (V756-79). You can check the software version number by using CAMEDIA Master software. Just select a picture that you taken and open up the properties under the field name column there is a “software used” reflected there. |
|
|
|
|
#31 | |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#32 | |
|
|
KUDOS!!!! ![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
#33 | |
|
|
Still deliberating between the 5060 and the A1. Would you know if the 5060 comes with international warranty? I have relocation plans for Canada and would not want to be stuck with a local warranty that may not be valid there. Thanks for your help once again. |
|
|
|
|
|
#34 | |
|
|
So far, I've not regretted my choice at all..... Anyway, will tell you a couple of adv of A1 over 5060. (1) More zoom power (2) Image stablizer (3) Superior grip Still, I chose the 5060 over A1...cos' I just feel better with the 5060...and am very impressed with the Super Macro mode (I take a lot of close-ups).. more control...simple menu...(1st time oly user tho')... and gives me the option of loading 2 huge capacity cards in the cam at one go... So my advice will be to hold both cam...take a few shots with both..and see for yourself...hee... |
|
|
|
|
|
#35 | |
|
|
Sorry, I know this is just solely my personal opinion.
I have not try the A1, but frankly speaking I would pick 5060.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#36 |
|
|
Thanks Garvin and Ivor; I do appreciate if you would care to share your personal opinions on the two cameras. Dunno whether it is appropriate to carry on our discussion on relative merits of both the A1 and 5060 in Carl's thread though.
A little background perhaps: I recently left my canon dslr system behind in search of a more compact all-in-one solution that produces pictures with little need for post-proc. Currently hanging to a friends 602 which gives me very good results (when the shooting conditions are ideal) lest the noise at higher iso (for prints of 11x14 and above) and above, and a rather significant green fringing in high contrast situation. I am convinced of Oly's quality and i have personally used the e10 and 5050 and was deliberating on the e1. I think the Cx0x0 series are wonderfully built and the wide array of customisable controls and features with the 5060 would give me control and flexibility that i may require. My main gripe on the 5060 would definately be the relatively short focal length on the long side. 110mm may not be sufficient for the camera to be the all-in-one compromise that i am looking for. Unfortunately also, they included in the 5060 a 2.8 lens as compared with the 1.8 with the 5050. With the already expanded dof due to the small sensor on the x0x0, a 2.8 lens may produced a dof wider than i would so desire (i deeply missed the shallow dof that i could get with my 35mm film and a 100mm f2 wide open when i shoot portraits.) The A1 is boast of a superb body and form factor. Sensor on grip, 99% coverage with the evf, zoom and manual focus ring, Anti-Shake (and yes, i read that i works... ) 28-200mm provides a versatile focal range. However, i read that the camera produces somewhat lossy jpegs and for the best results, one would need to shoot in raw. I know its always a compromise ... but its doesn't make it an easy task for me to decide between them. |
|
|
|
|
#37 |
|
|
I think it is okay to publicise this thingy...maybe other people may give their 2-cents worth esp those who were deciding between A1 and 5060. Here's my 2-cents worth from a newbie....hee...
I wouldn't recommend E-1 since you left your canon dslr recently. If you are looking for a compact all-in-one solution, then let's focus on A1 and 5060. Actually, I would love to include 5050 in the list, especially for its bright lens. So then, Let's work on these 3 first (I'm not including what I've posted just now in this msg to you). I don't need to emphasise more on the manual controls of 5060, and yes, you are right to be concerned about the relatively short focal length. I also agree that 110mm may not be sufficient for the camera but there's always the TCON 1.7C @$170 (to be used with the CLA-7 @$39) to help overcome this prob. However, I think you should know that you'll probably be carrying a tripod around if you are going to shoot at that kind of focal range. If a shallow dof rides high on your priority list, then you may like to consider the 5050 which may give you that shallow dof, and yet provides the convenience of using the TCON-1.7C and the CLA-7. However 5050 will not give you the advantage that a wide lens in 5060 allows. It's really a compromise, i think. Still, I don't like the limited swivel LCD on the 5050. If you are willing to spend, I highly recommend you to get either the 5050/5060, together with the TCON 1.7C, CLA-7, and HLD 20 Batt holder @$180 (which doubles up as a vertical grip). However this means spending more money than buying the A1 on its own to match the A1 in terms of focal length, yet surpassing the grip feel, and still produce superior pic than the A1. However, like you have discovered for yourself, the A1 boasts of a superb body and form factor. Differentiating factors are sensor on grip, 99% coverage with the evf, zoom, manual focus ring, and Anti-Shake. Also, I am confident that the A1 does not produce better quality pics than the 5050/5060, and shooting in raw eats up your storage space real fast. Lastly, I chose oly over minolta cos the latter's service centre and support sucks real badly in Singapore, at least. I'm not sure about the svc quality of both brands' service centres in canada though. Before i forget, 5050 has a distinct adv over the 5060 and A1, that is it uses AA batteries which is most convenient and reliable when you travel a lot...unless you are going to get the 5060's HLD-20 (BAtt grip) and another BLB-1 (batt) which should give you more than 600 shots if used very generously... Maybe, it will be more difficult to take your pick now...perhaps, you'll also like to think of portability, travelling habits and usage patterns. |
|
|
|
|
#38 |
|
|
Thanks Garvin for replying.
Was caught up with work and helping friends on his wedding...Indeed as what Garvin have say. Love the battery holder for 5060! The grip that it offers is really nice! Frankly, after i got the battery holder, i have a tendency to hold the camera horizontal by the battery holder! You got to try it to know how it feels. Now i'm just waiting for the 3rd party battery to come out. Can't wait to fill up the empty battery slot in the holder. ![]() As for tert, If you are going oversea, think it's better to get one from the local instead. Worth the wait as your camera will be covered. Never know when high-tech electronics like digicam wil fail. *touchwood* ![]() For the choices you are pampered with : 5060 and A1, i'm sure you are having a hard time deciding. Been there before. Ended up after 2 weeks of "researching" online, i chose 5060 because of the accessories that is available for this camera and the pictures it produced out from the oversea users who posted it online. A battery holder for a "pro-sumer" range of camera is quite a rare find. Other than Nikon's coolpix 5700, no other brand (or rather i never take note of) offer such an option which i consider an essential. The wide-angle conversion lenses fill my hunger of "wide-shot" - 19mm at 175bucks. Love the shots i took out of the wide-angle. BTW, i named my 5060 "wide-monster"... lol. Next on my list will be the tele-lenses, after i recover from all the buying of camera and stuff Depend on your choice now. Look at what you want to take with the camera. From there, you choice will be clearer.For the software, sadly i can't see what Alex have highlighted. Under "software used", i only see QuickTime 6.4. Maybe due to the fact i use a mac instead of a pc. Now have to think of a way to find out my camera "firmware"?!?! Have not try the "program-shift" feature on my wide-monster yet. Hope it's not one of those "crippled" 5060 like Alex have highighted earlier. |
|
|
|
|
#39 |
|
|
Hi Garvin and Slacker,
Really appreciate your opinions on both cameras... Guess all that is left to do is to flip the coin. :P |
|
|
|
|
#40 | |
|
|
Thanks for the advise.. yep i finally held it..not bad leh!! And i didn't know the lens can swivel up.. haha.. i thought only flip out... yay! I.. i keep reading this forum cause i'm waiting to buy this cam.... *teeth chattering* .. gonna set me back thousand over!! So once i buy this cam must stick with it for few years... was thinking..wanna buy cam, might as well buy a good cam once and for all.. instead of buying the 5, 600+ cams then later switch to ex one.. Btw, the remote control.. i heard is the basic one with just a button to "click" .. not the one that controls the flash / menu and all right? ![]() |
|
|
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|