Thread: UV filter?

Default UV filter?

Hey everyone!

I've been into photography for a while, mainly using a pentax kx. However, I recently got a canon 450d. Unfortunately I forgot to buy a uv filter. Should I get one before I start using the camera heavily? Also, should I get a dry box while I'm at it? I'd hate for my pentax to get moldy or anything now that I'm not using it as much.

Thanks for replies!

Default Re: UV filter?

no need filter lah

if it is the kit lens that come with your 450D, the front element rotates thus making filter attachment a bit challenging since the filter thread is very thin

Just get a Tokina one for 10 bucks if it will put your mind at ease. Regarding the dry box/cab, personally I have never used one before, but I heard from some lao jiao at a photography course that you should always remove your filters from your lenses before putting them in, or fungus growth will be promoted.

Quote Originally Posted by Alex Lim View Post
    if it is the kit lens that come with your 450D, the front element rotates thus making filter attachment a bit challenging since the filter thread is very thin
    er, this is only a problem with cpl filter, not uv filter...

Haha... should lah. Should get a UV filter lah.
    Imagine yourself walking around shooting enthusiastically, then suddenly a wet or dirty finger smudges the front of the lens... well, it would be less heart-ache if it were the UV filter instead.

Mmm yea a filter has saved my pentax lense many times before.

Better get a dry box. Filter is redundant. A bit care and alertness comes free and doesn't cause flare or ghosting. Get a lens hood instead.

Dun bother getting one if you dun intend to invest in a good one. The image quality is only as good as the glass which is passing the light to the sensor/film. Thus if you have a decent lens but use a poor piece of filter, you're going to lower the image quality.