Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 25

Thread: Core 2 and Xeon ... what's difference

  1. #1

    Default Core 2 and Xeon ... what's difference

    Need to buy a low end workstation for CS4 and some basic home movie-editing hobby, have narrowed down to these 2 quite similar pc ...
    can bros here enlighten me with the difference and the right choice ... both about the same price ... and the rest of the specs are about the same.

    A) Intel Core 2 Duo Processor E8400 (3.00GHz, 6MB L2 cache, 1333 MHz FSB)

    B) Intel Xeon Processor W3505 (2.53GHz, 4MB L2 cache, 1066MHz, Dualcore)

    Thanks.
    always the Light, .... always.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    666

    Default Re: Core 2 and Xeon ... what's difference

    I think(more research needed) Option A is a penryn generation architecture while Option B is a nehalem based architecture. Penryn is an older architecture compared to nehalem. Major difference between Penryn and Nehalem is
    1. EPT (Extended Page Tables - affects mainly virtualization)
    2. Nehalem doesn't have Northbridge. That was the bottleneck for performance in many cases with regards to memory. Intel removed Northbridge and came out with a "copy" of AMD's Hyper-transport and call it Quick Path Interconnect... LOL bottom line that is to improve memory performance.
    3. Nehalem supports Triple channel DDR3 memory. (Generally faster)

    Disadvantages for Nehalem based CPUs is mainly the memory cost IMO.

    I would go for option B as its a newer architecture. I personally owned a dual core Xeon 5530(with an obscene amount of RAM) and I love it...

    Hope this helps.
    Last edited by idor; 1st August 2009 at 08:05 PM.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Core 2 and Xeon ... what's difference

    I tot core2 more applicable to personal desktop while xeon powers the server computers?

  4. #4

    Default Re: Core 2 and Xeon ... what's difference

    Quote Originally Posted by idor View Post
    I think(more research needed) Option A is a penryn generation architecture while Option B is a nehalem based architecture. Penryn is an older architecture compared to nehalem. Major difference between Penryn and Nehalem is
    1. EPT (Extended Page Tables - affects mainly virtualization)
    2. Nehalem doesn't have Northbridge. That was the bottleneck for performance in many cases with regards to memory. Intel removed Northbridge and came out with a "copy" of AMD's Hyper-transport and call it Quick Path Interconnect... LOL bottom line that is to improve memory performance.
    3. Nehalem supports Triple channel DDR3 memory. (Generally faster)

    Disadvantages for Nehalem based CPUs is mainly the memory cost IMO.

    I would go for option B as its a newer architecture. I personally owned a dual core Xeon 5530(with an obscene amount of RAM) and I love it...

    Hope this helps.
    this .... whalau, extremely non-layman language ....

    ok, option B, is 3GB ram enough?
    always the Light, .... always.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Core 2 and Xeon ... what's difference

    Quote Originally Posted by Canonised View Post
    this .... whalau, extremely non-layman language ....

    ok, option B, is 3GB ram enough?
    3 GB is kinda weird combi for RAM. Why not go for 4GB? 2x2GB sticks.
    Kodak Easyshare C875
    flickr

  6. #6

    Default Re: Core 2 and Xeon ... what's difference

    Quote Originally Posted by raptor1988 View Post
    3 GB is kinda weird combi for RAM. Why not go for 4GB? 2x2GB sticks.
    not sure what it means, but the sales rep said anything more than 3GB is useless
    anyway it comes with the 3 ....
    always the Light, .... always.

  7. #7
    Member Cartman2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    1,732

    Default Re: Core 2 and Xeon ... what's difference

    3 GB is kinda weird combi for RAM. Why not go for 4GB? 2x2GB sticks.
    not sure what it means, but the sales rep said anything more than 3GB is useless
    anyway it comes with the 3 ....
    Which is true unless you're on 64-bit Vista. 32-bit will only detect up to 3GB of RAM.

    E8400 is a good core and used to be very popular a while ago. Overclock it and you have an excellent budget performer.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    昭南島
    Posts
    2,074

    Default Re: Core 2 and Xeon ... what's difference

    A good doc for TS to read up. If you are running in 32-bit environments, 3GB "limit" is for user space, not total amount of memory referenced.
    | Canong 480D mk II | EF 18-55mm LV mk XOXO marco + Bougainvillea-shaped hood |

  9. #9

    Default Re: Core 2 and Xeon ... what's difference

    Quote Originally Posted by Cartman2000 View Post
    Which is true unless you're on 64-bit Vista. 32-bit will only detect up to 3GB of RAM.
    not really..

    Kodak Easyshare C875
    flickr

  10. #10

    Default Re: Core 2 and Xeon ... what's difference

    for 32bit, only 3gb ram will be fully used.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    666

    Default Re: Core 2 and Xeon ... what's difference

    Quote Originally Posted by Canonised View Post
    this .... whalau, extremely non-layman language ....

    ok, option B, is 3GB ram enough?
    Erm... Option B is a little more special. Since its using triple channel DDR3, memory comes in sets of 3. Therefore the ram would be in multiples of 3 i.e. 3, 6, 9,12...... 3GB of ram al depends on what you are going to use it for. If you wanna run photohop on a 64 bit operating system editing huge raw files(or doing video editing with adobe premier), you can never have too much ram...

  12. #12

    Default Re: Core 2 and Xeon ... what's difference

    like the TS, i am considering getting a new desktop soon... so am reading this thread with interest too

    idor: when you said you had an obscene amt of ram... how much are we talking abt here? :P

    but am thinking more of a quad core cpu... running a 64-bit OS (eventually), likely run XK, skip vista & go direct to windows 7. intending to run CS4 of course... can't decide on the amount of RAM though...

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    666

    Default Re: Core 2 and Xeon ... what's difference

    Quote Originally Posted by nyxx88 View Post
    like the TS, i am considering getting a new desktop soon... so am reading this thread with interest too

    idor: when you said you had an obscene amt of ram... how much are we talking abt here? :P

    but am thinking more of a quad core cpu... running a 64-bit OS (eventually), likely run XK, skip vista & go direct to windows 7. intending to run CS4 of course... can't decide on the amount of RAM though...
    Nyxx... lol I have 48GB(12 sticks of 4GB) of DDR3 1333 ram on my machine. This used to cost a bomb... but now I think you can get it beow 2k USD. If $$$ is not a factor, I suggest going for nehalem architecture or the upcoming westmere architecture CPU.

  14. #14
    Senior Member phoakm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    7,385

    Default Re: Core 2 and Xeon ... what's difference

    Uncle buy Core i7 lah.......using 6 gig Ram, upgrade once, next upgrade 3 years later.
    I AM BORNFIRE!
    My Flickr/TFCD Service

  15. #15

    Default Re: Core 2 and Xeon ... what's difference

    Quote Originally Posted by idor View Post
    Nyxx... lol I have 48GB(12 sticks of 4GB) of DDR3 1333 ram on my machine. This used to cost a bomb... but now I think you can get it beow 2k USD. If $$$ is not a factor, I suggest going for nehalem architecture or the upcoming westmere architecture CPU.

    48G??? Wowee... you must've made some salesman/woman very happy!!

    Ok... for nehalem or westmere.... what do I tell the shops at sim lim??

  16. #16
    Moderator Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,779

    Default Re: Core 2 and Xeon ... what's difference

    anyway remember to stick a relatively strong GPU into the system cuz photoshop uses quite a bit of CUDA for rendering.
    sigh.

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    666

    Default Re: Core 2 and Xeon ... what's difference

    Quote Originally Posted by nyxx88 View Post
    48G??? Wowee... you must've made some salesman/woman very happy!!

    Ok... for nehalem or westmere.... what do I tell the shops at sim lim??
    For Nehalem, tell them you want core i7 or xeon 55xx. For westmere... erm... you have to wait... think it will only be released early next year. But some rumours says late Q3 early Q4 this year intel may release but I would not count on that.

    Most Nehalem based Mobo is triple channel DDR3. so remember memory is in sets of 3. I am not sure about sg price but in US, for ~150USD you can get 6 sticks of 2GB. that would give you like 12GB which is considered a lot for home use. 4GB sticks are not common yet. 8GB sticks are still like 1k each stick.

    Anyways, the Nehalem I have with 48GB I bought everything online. So i dun know ultimately who is the happy one. But I am the happiest one as my company is the one paying for it....

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,644

    Default Re: Core 2 and Xeon ... what's difference

    Quote Originally Posted by raptor1988 View Post
    not really..
    Right, it detects it but it doesn't use it all.

    To use it, you need a 64-bit operating system or some hybrid version that's been extended to use more RAM.

  19. #19

    Default Re: Core 2 and Xeon ... what's difference

    I would choose Option B and upgrade to at least 8Gb RAM (with a 64-bit OS). And who says Xeon is only for servers? Take a look at the Apple Mac Pro. Win XP and Vista 32-bit only supports up to 3.5Gb of RAM. 64-bit OSes (e.g. like Snow Leopard) can support up to 16Tb, yes! 16 terabytes of RAM.

  20. #20

    Default Re: Core 2 and Xeon ... what's difference

    Then how about AMD?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •