Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Trying out photomatix

  1. #1

    Default Trying out photomatix

    Recently gotten my hands on photomatix so decided to play ard with hdr and tone mapping settings. Most of the original pictures i guess do have the dynamic range, so i am not sure whether they are considered hdr. As i dont know much about photoshop, those burnings and dodging tools which i guess could probably get a less surreal picture; therefore i just throw everything into photomatix and play with the sliders. Do CnC and let me know whether u think its overdone, or still consider acceptable. I am an idiot at post processing. Thanks

    1. This shot is done with raw file, converted to jpeg with 3 different exposures. (photomatix does not support Lx3 raw)


    2. This is actually done with jpeg as the original file. Use silkypix to convert into 3 different exposures.


    3. This shot is done similar as 1, but i think the dynamic range is lesser therefore a lot of noise. Please pardon me on that

  2. #2

    Default Re: Trying out photomatix

    Hey Bro pretty good try on the HDRs and i personally think that photomatix is an excellent program for HDR.
    Very simple and easy to handle.
    The pictures are decent but its neither to the surreal side nor the realistic side.
    Looks abit rough to me. But i like the Hanoi Flag Tower!
    You could try some settings which i use on photomatix!

    Strength at 80-100
    Color Saturation at 60-80
    Light smoothing (to your liking) i put mine between 2-4

    Something i discovered accidently
    Gamma slide to the left more around 1.5
    and Luminosity between 6-8
    Under Color tab adjust your temp base on what kind of feeling you want to achieve (warm color red or cool color blue)

    Then adjust white pt and black pt to your liking and fine tune the rest to your taste.

    Here are some of the samples from the settings. Of course you can sample and find out other styles





    Looking forward to seeing your new HDRs!
    Hope the post Helps!
    Last edited by waltztitus; 1st August 2009 at 01:09 PM.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Trying out photomatix

    Hi thanks for the advice, i will try it out. Your pictures look great, thanks for sharing.

  4. #4
    Senior Member limwhow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Life revolves arOnd East Coast
    Posts
    7,049

    Default Re: Trying out photomatix

    Hello, I can't help but read carefully what you are discussing here.
    I have no experience in Photomatix at all.
    This is a really untintelligent question, but I just needed to ask: If we just buy one single Photomatix software, that will be all we need to do HDR, right?
    And if so, where do you buy your Photomatix software and how much roughly does it cost?

  5. #5

    Default Re: Trying out photomatix

    Quote Originally Posted by limwhow View Post
    Hello, I can't help but read carefully what you are discussing here.
    I have no experience in Photomatix at all.
    This is a really untintelligent question, but I just needed to ask: If we just buy one single Photomatix software, that will be all we need to do HDR, right?
    And if so, where do you buy your Photomatix software and how much roughly does it cost?
    yea u will be able to do hdr with just photmatix, as for hw much it costs i m nt too sure, u can check out their site. for me i m just using a trial version. u can dwld it from their website.

  6. #6
    Senior Member limwhow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Life revolves arOnd East Coast
    Posts
    7,049

    Default Re: Trying out photomatix

    Quote Originally Posted by thunderflash View Post
    yea u will be able to do hdr with just photmatix, as for hw much it costs i m nt too sure, u can check out their site. for me i m just using a trial version. u can dwld it from their website.
    Thanks so much, thunderflash, for your information.

  7. #7
    Member kikiaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Cant Recall
    Posts
    197

    Default Re: Trying out photomatix

    Quote Originally Posted by limwhow View Post
    Hello, I can't help but read carefully what you are discussing here.
    I have no experience in Photomatix at all.
    This is a really untintelligent question, but I just needed to ask: If we just buy one single Photomatix software, that will be all we need to do HDR, right?
    And if so, where do you buy your Photomatix software and how much roughly does it cost?
    One of the best program for me for HDR. U can purchase it online for the price of US$99.. is abt S$144 base on the rate now.

    Other HDR programs that is free n user friendly.

    1. Dynamic Photo HDR 4 (unlimited trial full ver with many features other then just creating HDR, has watermark at the bottom of ur image.. but can easily crop off) - http://www.mediachance.com/hdri/index.html

    2. Essential HDR Community Edition (save file max 1M pixel) - http://www.imagingluminary.com/Default.aspx
    Last edited by kikiaw; 9th August 2009 at 01:39 AM.

  8. #8
    Senior Member limwhow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Life revolves arOnd East Coast
    Posts
    7,049

    Default Re: Trying out photomatix

    Thanks for your info, kikiaw.
    I will try the free ones first. Maybe when I begin to know HDR a little better, I will buy the Photomatix.

    Quote Originally Posted by kikiaw View Post
    One of the best program for me for HDR. U can purchase it online for the price of US$99.. is abt S$144 base on the rate now.

    Other HDR programs that is free n user friendly.

    1. Dynamic Photo HDR 4 (unlimited trial full ver with many features other then just creating HDR, has watermark at the bottom of ur image.. but can easily crop off) - http://www.mediachance.com/hdri/index.html

    2. Essential HDR Community Edition (save file max 1M pixel) - http://www.imagingluminary.com/Default.aspx

  9. #9

    Default Re: Trying out photomatix

    painful

  10. #10
    Deregistered rgy1993's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    994

    Default Re: Trying out photomatix

    hmm
    needs work.. the sky in the first one is pretty washed out..
    for proper HDR yous hould really do the 3 exposures thing, only do the 3 exposures from one raw file if youre taking an action shot of some sort...

    here are some of my "action" hdrs
    http://is.pinkbike.com/photo/3191/pbpic3191131.jpg
    http://is.pinkbike.com/photo/2887/pbpic2887684.jpg
    http://is.pinkbike.com/photo/3093/pbpic3093403.jpg

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •